Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    gibz117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    gary, in
    Posts
    308

    thermaltake XaserIII pics

    does anyone have any pics of the harddrive bays on a thermaltake xaserIII. imtrying to find out what wires to use. im currently using IDE drives, but the cables are too big for the case. i have to force the front edge of the side of the case just to get it to close. im upgrading to sata soon, and that shouldnt be a problem right. right now i have the hdd in the 3.5" floppy bays.
    RIG-oldhorse--case-IDK--mobo-ga-7vrx--cpu-amd xp1800+--PSU-unknown brand 420W--ram-1.5gig--CNPS7000AlCu--HDD-1x20gb (xp pro sp3), 1x33gb (pics), 1x300gb (movies), 1x60gb (music), 1x30gb (external).

    RIG-idk yet--case-IDK--mobo-Gigabyte P965-DS3--cpu-?--PSU-Ultra 500--ram-?--CNPS9700 LED--HDD-????

    Gibz Heatware

  2. #2

  3. #3
    gibz117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    gary, in
    Posts
    308
    thanks for the pics, but i need pics with ide drives in the hdd bay.
    RIG-oldhorse--case-IDK--mobo-ga-7vrx--cpu-amd xp1800+--PSU-unknown brand 420W--ram-1.5gig--CNPS7000AlCu--HDD-1x20gb (xp pro sp3), 1x33gb (pics), 1x300gb (movies), 1x60gb (music), 1x30gb (external).

    RIG-idk yet--case-IDK--mobo-Gigabyte P965-DS3--cpu-?--PSU-Ultra 500--ram-?--CNPS9700 LED--HDD-????

    Gibz Heatware

  4. #4
    Premium Member #6

    funsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,639
    Hiya gibz117

    Here are a couple pics from a number of years back. Not sure why you're having a tough time with the drives...the case had issues (converted it to water then got rid of it a couple years back) but that wasn't one of them for me.

    Good luck!
    -funsoul


    PS- this was a dual-xeon setup with some funky ducting (which definitely worked very well, btw). fbf (fugly but functional)
    Attached Images Attached Images    

    3DVision gaming pc: 3930k @ 4500, asus rampage iv extreme, 16g gskill ddr3 2133, samsung 830 256gb ssd, 2x 1TB wd black RAID0, 3x zotac gtx 680 4gb, 3x asus vg278h, cpu/vga watercooling
    Bench : various hardware...cooling by single stage phase change, cascade and watercool mo-ra3
    WHS 2011: e7400, asus p5q-e, 8g ram, ocz agility 2 160gb, hd3450, 18 TB
    main htpc: amd 64 X2 5600+, asus m3n78-em, 4g ram, hd3450, 42" plasma
    htpc/gaming: amd x2 250, foxconn m61pmp-k, 4gb ram, ati hd5770, wd 500gb, 47" lcd
    + asst'd other pc's for wife and kids, hardwired Gb network

  5. #5
    gibz117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    gary, in
    Posts
    308
    the problem im having is that when i have my IDE drives in the easy access bays, the ide cable interferes with the side panel. i have to push the cable down and shove the side on just toget it to close. but imafraid that ill rip some of the wires ontheide cable.

    p.s. i have round ide cables. not ribbon. would ribbon help with this issue. ill get pics soon.
    RIG-oldhorse--case-IDK--mobo-ga-7vrx--cpu-amd xp1800+--PSU-unknown brand 420W--ram-1.5gig--CNPS7000AlCu--HDD-1x20gb (xp pro sp3), 1x33gb (pics), 1x300gb (movies), 1x60gb (music), 1x30gb (external).

    RIG-idk yet--case-IDK--mobo-Gigabyte P965-DS3--cpu-?--PSU-Ultra 500--ram-?--CNPS9700 LED--HDD-????

    Gibz Heatware

  6. #6
    Premium Member #6

    funsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,639
    hmmmm....I'm a little confused. If you could post some pics am sure something could be figured out. If you've got some ribbon cables lying around may as will give it a try.

    3DVision gaming pc: 3930k @ 4500, asus rampage iv extreme, 16g gskill ddr3 2133, samsung 830 256gb ssd, 2x 1TB wd black RAID0, 3x zotac gtx 680 4gb, 3x asus vg278h, cpu/vga watercooling
    Bench : various hardware...cooling by single stage phase change, cascade and watercool mo-ra3
    WHS 2011: e7400, asus p5q-e, 8g ram, ocz agility 2 160gb, hd3450, 18 TB
    main htpc: amd 64 X2 5600+, asus m3n78-em, 4g ram, hd3450, 42" plasma
    htpc/gaming: amd x2 250, foxconn m61pmp-k, 4gb ram, ati hd5770, wd 500gb, 47" lcd
    + asst'd other pc's for wife and kids, hardwired Gb network

  7. #7
    Member kyleboy77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Bridgman, MI 49106
    Posts
    533
    It is nice to know that I am not the only one still using the trusty Xaser III. Howerver, if you do some fancy folding with your ribbon cables, it should work fine. I have found round cables to be more trouble than they are worth.
    Components: i5 3570k | Gigabyte gtx 670 | Asrock Z77E-ITX |
    8gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz | Seasonic X650 Gold |
    OCZ Vertex 3 120Gb ssd | Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb | Bitfenix Prodigy White

    Cooling: Danger Den M6-nickel | Danger Den gtx 680 block | Black Ice SR-1 120mm and 240mm |
    DDC 3.25 18 Watt | XSPC DDC Reservoir Top | 4x Yate Loon Medium 120mm|
    Danger Den Dreamflex 3/8 ID | 3/8in fat boy fittings and a variety Bitspower rotary fittings

    Water Cooled Bitfenix Prodigy Build

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •