• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

setting ram timings on dfi 79fxb-m2rsh

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dark bishop

i cant figure out setting the ram timings on dfi 79fxb-m2rsh, help please.

its ocz fatal1ty 2x2gb 1066 ddr2 ram, timings are supposed to be 6-7-7-20, right now its at 5-5-5-15.

im a complete newb to memory overclocking.

Same motherboard here - are you currently running the RAM speed at 800 or 1066? Sounds like the default timings for that memory at 800. As you noted, it's 6-7-7-20 is likely the rated speed at 1066.

The memory timings are taken care of on a separate page in the BIOS - you have to set the memory timings to full manual, there's a switch for this somewhere, but I can't tell you where it is since I'm not on my home PC...

Can you take pics of the bios screens to show us what the options are and what your current settings are? Does sound like you are running it in DDR2 800 mode. Most motherboards will default to that and to run the ram at higher, mfg. spec speeds you have to manually set the parameters? Is there a choice in your bios labled SPD? If there is and you activate it then the bios will switch over to the native performance ratings of your ram as advertised instead of default settings.

Last edited:
ASUS had that odd timing order on the A8N32 as well. The motherboard sequence is:
CAS,
tRAS,
tRP (RAS Precharge),
tRCD (RAS CAS Delay).

Hit enter at the MCT Memory Timing and set to [Both] for both pairs of sockets.
The correct timing using the stock settings you gave will be 6-20-7-7.
You can leave the rest on [Auto].

That timing order was really confusing for me as well when I first started OC'ing but you get used to it as you play with it more ... :)

Last edited: