Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    64

    Major Problems !!

    ok heres the deal....about a week ago someone (my sister) started turning my comp off the wrong way ...a la holding the power button in........now i am getting cmos errors and it wont overclock for anything........now when playing a game or stress testing after about 20 mins it emits this long high pitched beep then BSODs ive reset cmos several times even took the battery out.. now it used to when i would reset or w/e it bios would go to stock cpu settings 2.4ghz at 1.25v now it defaults to 2.4ghz but the lowest voltage setting available my cpu wont start on 1v hell it ont run on anything lower 1.2v....my board has a cmos backup function but everytime i try an use it i get the cmos errors.............im at a total loss .......its a bios problem or cmos....... oh an when i run p95 at "stock" settings i get sumout errors i dunno what to do help me here plz

  2. #2
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis MO
    Posts
    5,779
    uhh yeah I'm afraid that its RMA time man or warranty time if you still have it. What it sounds like is that something is wrong with the board in itself. Don't know if anyone sees something I don't.
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    create your own rules to find the answer
    be proud of the pink stars
    Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    ON, CA
    Posts
    1,274
    When you clear the CMOS is the time and date changing, if not then clear the cmos for a longer period of time, if the time and date are reverting after cleared then follow below steps

    I would try flashing the bios before RMA,

    1. go here and download bios + utility (this should be the correct mobo according to your sig but make sure it is)
    2. go into bios and load optimized defaults, save and exit.
    3. install utility and use to flash the downloaded bios, make sure to check clear cmos in utility
    edit: looks like your bios has a flash utility built in, if it does then use it, better to flash outside windows
    4. go back into bios and again load optimized defaults, save and exit
    5. reset bios using jumper, remove battery
    6. ensure time and date have changed in bios, if not then reset bios again for a longer period of time (some mobos are notorious for taking 5min to clear cmos).

    If that doesn't do it then it looks like RMA time
    Last edited by Psykoikonov; 05-09-09 at 02:05 AM.

  4. #4
    Member DragoXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    559
    Sounds to me like your PSU is crapping.
    AMD Phenom 2 970BE.......................................AMD 3400+ Newcastle
    Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 v2.1...............................Abit KV-85
    2x2gb Corsair Dominator @1600 8-8-8-24.......2x512mb OCZ DDR 400 Platinum rev 2 @400 2-2-2-5
    Asus GTX460 1gb TOP.......................................Albatron Trinity 6800GT w/ NV Silencer 5 rev.3
    WD Black 640gb............................................. ..Seagate 7200.7 SATA NCQ 160gb
    Zalman CNPS10X Performa...............................ThermalTake Venus 12
    Seasonic X650 Gold..........................................Ther malTake Pure Power 420
    NZXT Guardian 921 RB.......................................Xblade
    Asus VW224U 22" LCD......................................Samtron 17" CRT

  5. #5
    "The Expert" Archer0915's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Carolina University Grad School
    Posts
    4,792
    Quote Originally Posted by DragoXT View Post
    Sounds to me like your PSU is crapping.
    It could be that go into bios and watch your power readings there may be variance depending on the PSU. If nothing looks out of whack and if you have a PS tester open your box and and use it. There is a lot more that can be done but you need a good meter to do much more.
    People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
    Current Active Fleet:
    Daily Driver i7 3740QM T530
    Work Rig/networked backup - i7 4770K@4.4, 24GB Ram, 7850 GFX Bedroom PC - i7 870 @ 3.4, 16GB Ram, 6670 GFX
    Home School PC (kids) SB Celery @1.6, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFX Living Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram
    Game Rig (kids)- 3570K@4.7, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
    Test Bed - In flux

  6. #6
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,462
    I +1 for the flashing THEN Rma.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    64
    will reflash b4 i RMA will follow steps an see what happens thanks for the input

  8. #8
    Member Dapman02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    2,259
    is anything overheating perhaps
    Desktop: Return of Deneb
    Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
    Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
    GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
    Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
    Case: CM Storm Enforcer
    RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
    HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
    OS: Windows 7 64-bit
    Christian Overclocker

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    64
    not that i can tell...........using speedfan and hardware monitor.....

  10. #10
    Member MameXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,803
    I dont want to be harsh but you really need to learn how to type. I know you're probably a young teen but this community isnt a high school play ground. This would help you to be ahead in many ways.

    As for your problem, i dont see how turning off the computer like that would lead to such issues. IMO, i think your bios is taking a crap. Have you try to reflash it back to original one? Overclocking can lead to strange things. One day the damn thing just dont want to do it anymore no matter what.

    Btw, check your PSU under load if you can. Its usually an issue.
    My Heatware

    Verified paypal

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •