• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

why go to XP

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bigbenji

Registered
I'm trying to decide whether or not to "upgrade" to XP. I use my pc for games mostly, and I don't know if the stability is worth the compatability headaches. your thoughts?

it depends on how good your system actually is and how old games are u goin to run on it.I am runnin XP Pro on 5 machines and have no compatibility issues @ all.
Great performance and much faster than 98 or ME.
9/10 stars;)

forgot that part

duron 1gig
ecs k7vta3 (KT266A)
256 crucial ddr
ata66 wd hd
geforce 2mx
(does the rest really matter?)

I'm a tech and I've got books about XP, but in my experience it hasn't been faster, just more of a pain. That and most of the books seem to be edited by Billy himself

What OS are you using now? If you are using Win2K, I think it will be fine since Win2K is stable enough. Upgrade your OS to WinXP will cost you a lot. If you are willing to pay it, just go for it. It's better that you get the pro version, instead of Home.

bigbenji said:
forgot that part

duron 1gig
ecs k7vta3 (KT266A)
256 crucial ddr
ata66 wd hd
geforce 2mx

I'm a tech and I've got books about XP, but in my experience it hasn't been faster, just more of a pain. That and most of the books seem to be edited by Billy himself

I think you might want to get more RAMs. Win2K requires more RAMs, since it is running a lot graphics on it.

bigbenji said:
forgot that part

duron 1gig
ecs k7vta3 (KT266A)
256 crucial ddr
ata66 wd hd
geforce 2mx

hehehehe
Well if u have someone to borrow u a copy just to put it on and see if it fits your needs?

win98se

I can get home edition for $40 from a friend who's associated with Microsoft. He can't get Pro for a discount. Still worth it?

Trap said:

hehehehe