Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Brando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brandonia

    Any motherboards that can actually set ram to 1.65v?

    My ex58-ud3r is annoying me a little. I can set the ram to 1.64 or 1.66 but not to the 1.65v it's actually rated to run at. Also, setting the ram to 1.64v puts it at 1.632 actual volts but when I put it to 1.66 it fluctuations randomly between 1.648 and 1.664. Dammit! Can any of your boards put out exactly 1.65v to your ram?
    []Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~TRUE spirit 140 power[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

    SELLER FEEDBACK

    LIAN LI PC-V1020A FOR SALE

  2. #2
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    the board undervolts to just under 1.65 when set to 1.66, 1.67 is even fine.

    no mobo is gonna give you exact voltage anyway, even the extreme is 1.64 and 1.66 i wouldnt be concerned about it, most of the ram we have at 1600 doesnt even ned 1.64 to do 7 cas, nevermind 8.
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  3. #3
    Member Brando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brandonia
    Ah ok thanks. I don't think it's an issue but I'm trying to sort out my instability problem. I was almost sure I was giving everything more than enough voltage so the ram came to mind but hopefully the extra notch of qpi volts I added will do the trick. It would be nice to just be able to kkep that 1.648 steady instead of it bouncing up and down like that. It wasn't under load at all, it just does this in idle every few seconds, back and forth, 1.648..1.664...1.648....1.664....wtf. It stays put at 1.632v with the 1.64v bios setting. Oh well I'll try it like this for awhile and see if the qpi voltage does it. Gracias!
    Last edited by Brando; 06-22-09 at 08:36 PM.
    []Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~TRUE spirit 140 power[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

    SELLER FEEDBACK

    LIAN LI PC-V1020A FOR SALE

  4. #4
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    unless your checking with a DMM none of it matter anyway. the readings I suggest are off of peoples charts made from the very few reputable reviews and some end users on XS

    i7's are hard to get stable at 4ghz+ as in 24/7 no matter what you throw at it stable...
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  5. #5
    Member Brando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brandonia
    It's surely a different beast. It gives no sign of instability before a crash\bluescreen. To this day I've never gotten a prime\linx error. Just random restarts and windows corruption.
    []Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~TRUE spirit 140 power[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

    SELLER FEEDBACK

    LIAN LI PC-V1020A FOR SALE

  6. #6
    New Member MrFixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North America

    DDR3 1600 timings

    I was curious, how did you set your timings, manually or XMP? I read a Mushkin support thread about JEDEC sPD's only going to 667Mhz, and XMP was required to reach spec'd timings at speed on my 2000MHz. Does your mobo support it?

    Last edited by MrFixit; 07-05-09 at 08:51 PM.

  7. #7
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    timings and qpi voltage more importantly
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  8. #8
    New Member MrFixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North America
    Thats what I'm saying Rattle, with respect to the Timings. If you're not manually setting them, you're relying on the BIOS to read the SPD timings from the memory and configure the chipset to match these timings. But they only program the SPD's to the fastest official JEDEC standard supported. Intel defined the XMP profiles for speeds beyond that, and that's what sets the best timings at speed on my Mushkin.

    Since it's fairly new to me, I was wondering what other people's results where with it.

    http://www.intel.com/assets/pdf/whitepaper/319124.pdf
    http://forums.mushkin.com/phpbb2/vie...php?f=3&t=2169


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •