Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009

    HELP PLEASE! How do I enable APCI 2 (HPET)?

    I have an Asus P6T Deluxe V2 mobo and I am overclocked to 3.5Ghz on an Intel i7 920. My cpu multiplyer jumps around like crazy in CPU-Z and I read that I need to turn on HPET (High Performance Event Timer), or as Asus label it,
    APCI 2. I have no idea where to find this or how to enable it. Is this in the BIOS??? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Play a little with this tool (read the thread too), CPU-Z multiplier is not so reliable on Nehalem.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    Play a little with this tool (read the thread too), CPU-Z multiplier is not so reliable on Nehalem.

    Thanks. So there is no setting to enable to stabilize the clocks?

  4. #4
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    If the multi is jumping around, you have to disable the EIST if not mistaken. So confused by intel's speed step with me its sometimes on and sometimes off depending the combo of settings anymore I have no clue.
    -=The Gamer=-
    ASRock Extreme6 | i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.25V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans / 22C Idle / 51C Load | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR4-3000 CL14 @ 3200Mhz CL14 w/ 1.35V
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 840Pro 512GB / 850EVO 1TB | EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 | BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | Samsung UD590 28" 4k
    -=Old Timer / Fun Machine=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 3.5Ghz @ 1.25V | Stock Cooler / 32C Idle / 60C Load | 8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1600 CL9 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V
    Intel HD 3000 | 850EVO 250GB / Crucial M3 128GB | SilverStone DA750 | SilverStone | Dell 2405FPW
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load | 3GB PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB Backup

  5. #5
    Member JCLW's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Back in Toronto
    Why not just let it downclock when it wants to? It just reduces heat and saves power.
    ♫♪ ☺ ♫♪

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    The APCI2 setting is under the POWER tab in the BIOS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts