Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member vulcanman09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    475

    attn: hewlett packard ( HP ) owners

    can anyone tell me if these computers have the ahci setting in their bios

    a female friend of mine wishes to give ubuntu a try ,
    but i intend to install it under the ahci setting
    so i wont bugger up her windows operating system

    ( hope i convert her to the dark side )

  2. #2
    Member ogboot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    593
    as a rule most OEM pcs like HP/Dell are going to have a pretty disappointing bios. Have you had the opportunity to take a look at it yet? Will this really prevent damage to windows? I don't know, just curious. Good luck!
    Intel Xeon x3470 Stock
    4GB OCZ @2000mhz
    ASUS P7P55D LE
    MSI R4870 MD1G
    Win7 Pro x64
    Ubuntu 9.04 x86 and Studio x64

  3. #3
    Gloriously Lead
    Overclockix Chief Architect
    mbentley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    9,313
    probably depends on how old the system is and whether or not it is a desktop or laptop. i know that many dells have the option (at least as of the optiplex 745s, maybe the 620s had them too, can't remember.
    intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
    intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

    forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,364
    Pix or it didn't happen?
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  5. #5
    Gloriously Lead
    Overclockix Chief Architect
    mbentley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    9,313
    this isn't a 745 but:

    intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
    intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

    forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net

  6. #6
    Member Methal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    789
    what model HP is it? I had a dv6000 that would run ubuntu, mint, and fedora but the Wifi didn't work. Common for crappy brands of computers.

    HPs are pretty cheap that way.
    That'll do Donkey, that'll do.
    I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.

  7. #7
    Zerix01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,459
    Quote Originally Posted by Methal View Post
    what model HP is it? I had a dv6000 that would run ubuntu, mint, and fedora but the Wifi didn't work. Common for crappy brands of computers.

    HPs are pretty cheap that way.
    Really what is the point of revising the Wifi controller chips that much so every time they get caught up with Wifi drivers, new incompatible chips hit the market.
    Deepthought 2.0:
    AMD FX 8320 4.4GHz Water Cooled
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
    8GB Patriot DDR3 2000MHz (clocked@2133Mhz)
    2x Gigabyte 550 Ti 1GB Water Cooled
    2x64GB Crucial m4's in RAID 0 + 3x500GB Hitachi HDD's in RAID 5
    Fedora 16 64-bit KDE Spin


    Folding User Stats

  8. #8
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    if she has windows installed, without ACHI on, turning it on with an install of windows that was installed with it off will break windows. just leave it off.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  9. #9
    Member vulcanman09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    475
    thanks for the info
    she is willing to give it a try
    ( she keeps getting trojans in windows )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •