Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member ou_phidelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rockingham, NC

    Sustained internet speed tests?

    Are there any internet speed tests that are sustained to a larger download? I have Time Warner with the 8Mb RR which has been consistently at that speed. I was bored and went and ran speakeasy and it gave me 19.5, woah. To verify I ran speedtest.net, 19.4. I ran them both a couple of times and got up to 22 with a one time low of 13 out of around ten runs. Is there a test I can run to see if it is actually a sustained rate or just one of those 10 seconds and it slows down turbo deals. Looking at TW's site the highest they offer is 10Mb's so I am a little dumbfounded right now.

  2. #2
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    ya you have powerboost kicking in there.

    My suggestion is find a GOOD webserver and go download a big file... a good one is STEAM. go install a demo of a game or something its maxin out my 26mbit (3.1MB/s = 3174KB/s x 8 = 25.4mbit also running a 16man CS 1.6 server at this point in time.) connection right now downloading portal first slice.

    if your not getting close to what your paying for its usually the webserver, i think gone are the days of ppl not getting close to rated download speeds.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by nd4spdbh2; 08-12-09 at 08:34 PM.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  3. #3
    Member GBH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    LA baby!
    TW sucks ... when I first begin downloading from steam, it will start out around 1.1 MB/s and then will slow to 500 - 700 kb/s
    CPU -------- E6550 @ 3.40
    Mobo ------- ASUS P5K Deluxe
    Case ------- HAF 932
    RAM -------- 2 x 2 gigs G.Skill 1066
    GFX-------- Evga GTX 470
    PSU -------- OCZ GameXStream 700 w
    Monitor------ ASUS VH226H Black 21.5"
    HEAT

  4. #4
    Member ou_phidelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rockingham, NC
    I hate to install steam but will if I must.

  5. #5
    Member ou_phidelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rockingham, NC
    Sure enough, steam is giving me 840Kb/s which is right on par with my 8Mb package.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    i have the normal speed,last week i found the speed tester where some more facility i found like domain search,ip search these are avail togather here for more details view this speed test

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Welcome to the Forum! http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=491697 jocoolguy
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  8. #8
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    I prefer to test by finding a fast mirror and downloading a linux dvd image. Most speed tests can't keep up with very fast connections, and they might report wrong, a fast mirror will give you a good picture of what your real speed is.

    Can't comment on what a good mirror around where you are would be.

  9. #9
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    At a place I was staying at this past weekend and Monday, with Comcast, when I downloaded a large file, it was typically at 11.2 Mbit and fluctuating to 12 Mbit.

    And often shows 30 Mbit or around there, for the download at speedtest.net.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  10. #10
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    Quote Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
    At a place I was staying at this past weekend and Monday, with Comcast, when I downloaded a large file, it was typically at 11.2 Mbit and fluctuating to 12 Mbit.

    And often shows 30 Mbit or around there, for the download at speedtest.net.
    Which brings us back to the part of finding a good mirror to test the download from. I can think of a few hosts (here in Finland) which will always give me maximum download speeds on any connection that is 100mbps or less, I find it hard to believe there would not be similar hosts in the states.

  11. #11
    Try using testmy.net with a 100mb testing file but would have to create account with them for larger tests for 50mb and over

    http://testmy.net/speedtest/download_speedtest.php
    Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

    Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

    HEATWARE

  12. #12
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Please test your downloads, by downloading an Ubuntu ISO, with the mit.edu mirror.

    MIT is a mirror I suggest for people in the eastern US half.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  13. #13
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Quote Originally Posted by meionm View Post
    Try using testmy.net with a 100mb testing file but would have to create account with them for larger tests for 50mb and over

    http://testmy.net/speedtest/download_speedtest.php
    their servers come no where close to maxing my connection.

    neither can mit.edu 's ubuntu mirror although im on the west coast.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  14. #14
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Quote Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post

    neither can mit.edu 's ubuntu mirror although im on the west coast.
    What do you have for internet? Looks like MIT will max most folks' internet connections.

    It looks like MIT does come close, unless you have more than 100 Mbit, which I doubt you have.

    And I'm only aware of a couple that has 100 Mbit service. Looks like only Cablevision, (or Optimum Online?) in New York and in Europe.
    Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 09-11-09 at 05:42 PM.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  15. #15
    Member Cheator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Just download ubuntu or fedora via bit torrent. That will max out your connection for a while.
    Optimus (Main): Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB G.Skill PC8000, ATI 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TrueControl II
    Teletraan I (htpc): Asus M2N-E, X2 4400+, 2 GB DDR2, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 1.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w
    Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 4200+ X2, 2GB DDR2, ATI 2900xt, Seasonic 500w
    Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, Nvidia 8600m GT, 250gb hdd
    Gears: Asus Eee PC 701, 1 GB DDR, Win XP

    My Heatware!
    "Duct tape is like The Force. It has a light side, a dark side and it holds the universe together." - Malpine Walis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •