Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca

    Is there a HDD mirroring software??

    Hello all,

    I have a good friend who has an older laptop with an 80GB HDD that contains everything including his OS. He just bought a 250GB HDD to replace the one he has now and he wants to switch them out. His main problem is he has lost all the DVDs that came with the laptop including his XP Home Edition DVD with the activation code. Is there a freeware program, or inexpensive program, that will mirror his old HDD to his new HDD?

    I have no experience with this kind of stuff so any suggestions will be great!!

    Thanks
    MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
    CPU: i7 920 D0
    RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
    GPU: EVGA 480GTX
    PSU: Corsair AX850W

  2. #2
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    acronis true image home. works awesome. use it all the time. The best way to probably do it would be to have an external hd and use the acronics bootable media on a flash drive or cd... boot up the acronis boot cd and do a full backup of the 80gb to the external... then put the new hd in and restore to the new hd.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca
    So when I use the boot CD, I boot the same way to would to load an OS?
    MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
    CPU: i7 920 D0
    RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
    GPU: EVGA 480GTX
    PSU: Corsair AX850W

  4. #4
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Yes you boot the same way

    Lenovo e531
    i5 3230 8GB 240Gb SSD
    Win 10 Pro
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834

  5. #5
    xtkxhom3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    San Antonio,TX
    i also recommend acronis it is a excellent program
    [2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
    [MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
    [x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
    [x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

    Laptop Service Manuals

    Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca
    I assume everything will go smoothly, but if it doesn't, I can just plug the 80GB HDD back into the laptop and it will be the same, correct? The acronis program doesn't alter the files on the drive in any way?
    MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
    CPU: i7 920 D0
    RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
    GPU: EVGA 480GTX
    PSU: Corsair AX850W

  7. #7
    xtkxhom3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    San Antonio,TX
    yes the hdd will be fine all the program does is make a copy
    [2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
    [MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
    [x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
    [x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

    Laptop Service Manuals

    Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Dunno if Acronis is free, This: http://www.runtime.org/driveimage-xml.htm however is free for personal use

  9. #9
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    Pop in a linux lice cd and use the dd command.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelnutt2 View Post
    Pop in a linux lice cd and use the dd command.
    dd has a slight problem in that the backup will have the same 80GB partition as the original with the 170GB rest unpartitioned and "free"

  11. #11
    Acronis True Image home is well-worth the price. Sometimes Newegg even has it for under $10.
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  12. #12
    I have heard of this thing called "ghosting". I think that does what u are asking... i dont really know though, iv just hear that term thrown around a few times

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by pinkles View Post
    I have heard of this thing called "ghosting". I think that does what u are asking... i dont really know though, iv just hear that term thrown around a few times
    Ghosting refers to cloning with Norton/Symantec Ghost
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by conway View Post
    Ghosting refers to cloning with Norton/Symantec Ghost
    I'm a fan of ghost, I like using network imaging.
    Using Ubuntu does not make you good with linux.

    HEATWARE

  15. #15
    ohh, normally when I see the word "Norton" I run as fast as I can the other direction

  16. #16
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Ghost is not bad, and was the standard for a long time. I also recommend Acronis TI been running it since build 7 and love it. Great for installing OSes onto raid setups too
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •