• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD newbie here with ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bda1967

Hello. Since I have little experience with AMD cpu's I was wondering if you fine folks could answer a few questions that I have.

I have an Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2 stepping 2.2Ghz that is in a HP mobo that I would like to replace so I can overclock it. I think that I can use a AM2+ mobo correct? Also, how high of an OC can I expect and what kind of a voltage increase is the norm? If I can only get to 2.6GHz then would that warrant investing in an after market cpu cooler or would I be cranking up the vcore significantly?

Thanks for your help.

I would say at this point, it may not be worth it to upgrade to a new mobo. Things are really cheap, and you can get a PII 550 and a decent mobo for $200 bucks.

I know that I can get a better socket mobo but this is just my bench computer and I'm looking to get some overclocking practice on AMD CPU's. I'm just trying to use what I already have. I even thought about flashing the BIOS in the HP board with the ASUS update so that I could get the better BIOS and not getting a new mobo.

well its good that HP has started using standard mATX layouts. it sucked hard core when companies would use daughter boards and other such stuff.

i have a Biostart TA 790GX XE mobo that i am using thats mATX and it overclocks pretty well and was $69 shipped (AR) on new egg for a while there but i dont know if it is still.
either way its still cheaper than buying a new mobo and new processor like what has been mentioned.

the only thing is that i dont know if the PSU in the HP is a standard PSU or if its some propriotary connector deal, might check that out.