Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32
  1. #1
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213

    Win 7 pro on my netbook!

    Well as the title states i popped win 7 pro on my netbook. Keep in mind this netbook just like every other netbook is not what you would call a power house... 1.6ghz atom 2gb of ram, an a slower 8gb STEC ssd.

    I used vlite to strip it of some stuff, and installed via usb stick. I went into it with the same mindset as i did with vista back in the day on my main rig... oh god this is gonna be slow and broken especially on my already slow netbook. Now i tried vista out back before sp1, hated it and never looked to it again, and because of that i figured win 7 was a semi tweaked vista with a slightly different gui. Boy was i wrong.

    I seriously could not believe it, right out of the box win 7 ran smoother and quicker than my super slimmed down super tweaked xp! It feels flawless now with the latest drivers and honestly even faster with the minor tweaks i have done. I simply cant believe it. Its like MS took the stability and quickness of xp, the good from vista, and wrapped it in an even quicker sleek gui.

    There is no way that a gui like this should run so smooth and quick on such a low power machine yet it does... i dont know how it does... but dare i say MS actually got something right... no what am i thinking MS doesnt get stuff right... but then how does that explain my awesome experience with win 7... i dunno its a paradox.

    Oh btw... using 3.5ish gb with a full fledged install, office 2003, firefox and aim, no page file!
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  2. #2
    Member kovboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    753
    wow, that's a lot of free space. can you post what you stripped from the installation with vlite? i also have a dell mini 9 with the 8 gb ssd and this has me seriously thinking...
    MAIN RIG: i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz * Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 * 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb * Samsung 830 256Gb + Seagate 2Tb + SH-S203B + LG BluRay * Corsair AX750 * Silverstone RV02-E

    HTPC: i3-4130T * Gigabyte H81M-HD3 * 2x2 Gb DDR3-1333 * Samsung 830 64Gb * Samsung 500Gb HDD * WD 1 Tb Green * Silverstone ST30SF 300W * Silverstone ML03

    My Heatware

  3. #3
    ChinStrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    3,205
    also, maybe post how you got vlite to work w/ 7.

    i couldnt get it to work for the life of me.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    DaveHCYJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,346
    Quote Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
    i tried vista out back before sp1, hated it and never looked to it again
    Its a shame so many people got a bad impression of vista before SP1 fixed the majority of the issues.

    I'm very glad they got it right the first time with Win7 though! I upgraded my (now aging) laptop from Vista SP2 to Win7 and I think the performance increase is going to let me squeeze another year or two of life out of the laptop.

    I too would be interested in your vlite experience with Win7 -- I've got somewhat of a bad taste for vlite after having to do a clean install of vista to move from SP1 to SP2.

  5. #5
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    Quote Originally Posted by kovboi View Post
    wow, that's a lot of free space. can you post what you stripped from the installation with vlite? i also have a dell mini 9 with the 8 gb ssd and this has me seriously thinking...
    Quote Originally Posted by ChinStrap View Post
    also, maybe post how you got vlite to work w/ 7.

    i couldnt get it to work for the life of me.

    I used this guide with the exception of selecting windows 7 pro, because well i was using a win 7 pro iso and will be activating with a win 7 pro key.

    The preset file is kinda hidden in the guide just read through the whole thing.

    http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/wind...hdd-space.html

    Ull end up with an install thats ~5ish GB.... if you disable the page file, and change recycle bin size down to like 128mb ull get alota space back espically if you have like 2gb of ram.

    Im using 3.45GB with office 2003, firefox, and aim installed.

    EDIT check out the screen shot. and btw... win 7 paint is fancy haha.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by nd4spdbh2; 09-17-09 at 03:03 PM.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  6. #6
    Member bLack0ut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,045
    are you comparing Win7to a fresh installation of tweaked, slimmed down xp or a stale one?

  7. #7
    Member johnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,872
    Everything I've read has said that Vista is better on netbooks than XP is. Win7 goes even further, and is better than Vista in that regard.

  8. #8
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    Quote Originally Posted by bLack0ut View Post
    are you comparing Win7to a fresh installation of tweaked, slimmed down xp or a stale one?
    compared to a literally fresh tweaked slimmed xp install... two weeks ago i screwed some stuff up, said meh ill just image back to an image i made when i originally installed xp. so the install was 2 weeks old.


    Quote Originally Posted by johnz View Post
    Everything I've read has said that Vista is better on netbooks than XP is. Win7 goes even further, and is better than Vista in that regard.
    Eh vista on a netbook would be like pullin teeth! ... u dont hear ppl on the netbook forums going oh vista rocks on my netbook. its all xp, osx, and now win 7.

    I got a good 2 hrs of play time on my netbook with win 7... ya theres no way im going back to xp... win 7 is so much smoother, faster, and better its not even funny.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  9. #9
    Member kovboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    753
    Quote Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
    Eh vista on a netbook would be like pullin teeth! ... u dont hear ppl on the netbook forums going oh vista rocks on my netbook. its all xp, osx, and now win 7.
    same here, never seen anyone say that vista on a netbook is a good idea.

    so i just tried this technique and initially ended up with only 1 Gb of free space. after reducing the recycle bin, turning off the page file and hibernate, my install size dropped to 3.45 Gb. that's still larger than yours, however, as it doesn't include anything but the base windows install. i'm gonna try vlite again and strip out some more stuff i never use like the windows games.

    btw, i'm installing win 7 hp rather than professional, though i imagine it won't make much difference.
    MAIN RIG: i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz * Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 * 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb * Samsung 830 256Gb + Seagate 2Tb + SH-S203B + LG BluRay * Corsair AX750 * Silverstone RV02-E

    HTPC: i3-4130T * Gigabyte H81M-HD3 * 2x2 Gb DDR3-1333 * Samsung 830 64Gb * Samsung 500Gb HDD * WD 1 Tb Green * Silverstone ST30SF 300W * Silverstone ML03

    My Heatware

  10. #10
    Member johnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,872
    http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...sta+netbook+xp

    Edit:
    This is one example I can remember. I've seen others around the web also.

  11. #11
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    oh ya i forgot to mention i also turned off hibernation.

    Btw i went through and did some tweeks to win 7 and firefox... even faster now.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  12. #12
    Member kovboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    753
    after several tries, i still can't get anywhere near your amount of free space. after installing firefox, openoffice, antivirus, and ccleaner, i'm using 4.49Gb (2.65Gb free space). i might give it one more try tonight.

    btw, why does the taskbar in your screenshot look like vista? are you using a custom theme?
    MAIN RIG: i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz * Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 * 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb * Samsung 830 256Gb + Seagate 2Tb + SH-S203B + LG BluRay * Corsair AX750 * Silverstone RV02-E

    HTPC: i3-4130T * Gigabyte H81M-HD3 * 2x2 Gb DDR3-1333 * Samsung 830 64Gb * Samsung 500Gb HDD * WD 1 Tb Green * Silverstone ST30SF 300W * Silverstone ML03

    My Heatware

  13. #13
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    Quote Originally Posted by kovboi View Post
    after several tries, i still can't get anywhere near your amount of free space. after installing firefox, openoffice, antivirus, and ccleaner, i'm using 4.49Gb (2.65Gb free space). i might give it one more try tonight.

    btw, why does the taskbar in your screenshot look like vista? are you using a custom theme?
    right click on the task bar. select small icons, and change the task buttons option to combined when taskbar is full... gets you a coupla more pixels in vertical height thats so precious on these netbooks.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  14. #14
    Member kovboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    753
    ok, got everything installed that i had with xp (firefox, openoffice, skype, picasa, mobipocket reader, antivir) and still have 2.79Gb free. not too shabby. :thumbup
    MAIN RIG: i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz * Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 * 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb * Samsung 830 256Gb + Seagate 2Tb + SH-S203B + LG BluRay * Corsair AX750 * Silverstone RV02-E

    HTPC: i3-4130T * Gigabyte H81M-HD3 * 2x2 Gb DDR3-1333 * Samsung 830 64Gb * Samsung 500Gb HDD * WD 1 Tb Green * Silverstone ST30SF 300W * Silverstone ML03

    My Heatware

  15. #15
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    how much is being used? kinda hard to figure that out with just a free space figure
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  16. #16
    Member kovboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    753
    here you go. my mobipocket reader install takes about 300mb because i subscribe to about 25 news feeds for my cybook, but it crashes if i install and run from my sd card. my nlite'd xp install left more space and i'm not sure that the performance with win7 is any better, but i'll just have to use it for a while to see...
    MAIN RIG: i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz * Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 * 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb * Samsung 830 256Gb + Seagate 2Tb + SH-S203B + LG BluRay * Corsair AX750 * Silverstone RV02-E

    HTPC: i3-4130T * Gigabyte H81M-HD3 * 2x2 Gb DDR3-1333 * Samsung 830 64Gb * Samsung 500Gb HDD * WD 1 Tb Green * Silverstone ST30SF 300W * Silverstone ML03

    My Heatware

  17. #17
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    WOW i just noticed that windows 7 didnt align my partition when it installed which reports say it should (must be because i was messin round with settings when setting up windows) a 64KB offset has proven to provide much improvement espically on small ssd's because your not always writing to two blocks... gonna have to backup and align!
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  18. #18
    Member kovboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    753
    yeah, i thought it did that automatically. stupid question: how do you check?
    MAIN RIG: i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz * Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 * 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb * Samsung 830 256Gb + Seagate 2Tb + SH-S203B + LG BluRay * Corsair AX750 * Silverstone RV02-E

    HTPC: i3-4130T * Gigabyte H81M-HD3 * 2x2 Gb DDR3-1333 * Samsung 830 64Gb * Samsung 500Gb HDD * WD 1 Tb Green * Silverstone ST30SF 300W * Silverstone ML03

    My Heatware

  19. #19
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    start up a cmd prompt while windows is running.

    type diskpart

    type "list disk"

    type "select disk N" where n is the number of your disk

    type "list partition"

    and look at the offset... if its 31kb its not aligned... if its 32kb its aligned and theres really no need to go back and align to 64kb as there is negligible difference.


    EDIT... sweet everything went super smooth using acronis to make a backup image of win 7 on my netbook, so i could reformat and align the drive to 64KB (128 sectors) then reimaged the hd without disrupting the offset.... thank god it went smoothly... i really didnt feel like reinstalling win 7.
    Last edited by nd4spdbh2; 09-19-09 at 08:08 PM.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  20. #20
    Member kovboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    753
    my offset was 32kb, so the ssd is aligned properly
    MAIN RIG: i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz * Asrock Extreme3 Gen3 * 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb * Samsung 830 256Gb + Seagate 2Tb + SH-S203B + LG BluRay * Corsair AX750 * Silverstone RV02-E

    HTPC: i3-4130T * Gigabyte H81M-HD3 * 2x2 Gb DDR3-1333 * Samsung 830 64Gb * Samsung 500Gb HDD * WD 1 Tb Green * Silverstone ST30SF 300W * Silverstone ML03

    My Heatware

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •