Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI

    Poor Video Quality on Windows 7 X64 RTM

    Have you guys noticed the poor video quality in Wondows 7? On XP the same videos are crisp & clear but on W7 I noticed more jagged edges & general lack of clarity with the same video. Any improvements that can be done that you guys know of? VLC shows the worse video quality than WMP.
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

  2. #2
    Member SeanBest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Harrisonburg, VA
    Heatware Profile
    I've been watching plenty of 720p video on my Windows 7 build and it looks the same as it does on my Linux build. Not noticing any issue. No special codec packs or anything installed. Just using VLC.
    HEAT
    Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
    CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
    Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
    Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
    HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
    Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
    Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
    Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
    Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
    OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64

  3. #3
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI
    Its a known issue with W7 X64, hardware configuration that affects it is comepletely random. Bright colours show alot of pixelation & fast movement makes it come out as well,it looks like bad interlacing sometimes & lack of pixel smoothing for lack of a better term.
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Bump for the same issue. I've posted on many forums about it and there's still no answer to date. It's incredible this type of widespread issue (although quite random at this point) has yet to even be slightly addressed by any sort of fix.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    BAY AREA, CA
    I've notice the same problem with my tv turner program (TotalMedia) when install on windows 7 from vista x64. At default vista looks real smooth quailty wise but on windows 7 it started to look like it all pixelated or something. I think it's more on the incompatibilties with certain software players and windows 7.

    Here's how I fixed my problem:I right click on properties for that particular program and choose the compatibility tab. Under setting, select "disable desktop composition".
    Just click ok to exit.

    After selecting that for me the video quailty came out nice and smooth just like it was on Vista. Again I'm not sure if this will fix any of you guys problem but figure it wouldn't hurt to just try it. Thought I'd share this since it hasn't been brought out yet. Good luck and hope this can help solve some issues about Windows 7.

    Edit: Earlier I mention to select "disable visual theme", I'm sorry I actually mean to select the one below it which is "disable desktop composition"
    Last edited by oc_newbee; 11-02-09 at 11:00 PM.
    Desktop - Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Rev 2.0 Fully Hell-Modded
    3.0C @ 3.824 255fsb 1.625 vcore | SP-94 w/92mm Delta, Tiger1 NB HS/Fan | 1.5gig XMS PC3500 BH-5 @1:1 510mhz 2-2-2-5@3.37vdimm | Softmod Sapphire 9500np 440/346 w/SLK-900u(Vgpu@1.75v, Vddr@3.25v Hell-Modded) | TBSC Sound Card, NEC 1760NX-White | 2X WD 80g SE 8mb cache Raid 0, 1x 60g Maxtor storage | Antec TP550W @3.75v, 5.35v, 12.35v Hell-modded

    3DMark2001SE - Now hit 23032 | 3DMark2003 - 6912


    Laptop -Compaq R3240US | A64 3200+ | 512mb|4x Nec 5500a DVD writer | G4 440go 64mb | 60g hard drive | Win XP-Home

  6. #6
    Member usp8riot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    mid-America
    In control panel....power options.....multimedia settings...there are options such as "optimize video quality" and "optimize power savings". Would that have anything to do with it?
    CPU - Phenom II 1055T x6 @ 4.1ghz (24/7 OC settings @ 3.0ghz) + Hyper 212 HSF
    Motherboard - Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
    Memory - Corsair Vengeance 8gb (SPD timing)
    GPU - MSI 560ti (Flashed to HAWK)
    PSU - Corsair CMPSU-750TX
    Audio - Nvidia HDMI/Onkyo HT-590 Receiver
    OS - Windows 7 Home Premium
    Case - Antec 900

  7. #7
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI
    As some of you guys have already found out, its an issue with the video card drivers & the OS affecting Direct3D rendering according to the VLC developer. VLC_1.03 has addressed majority of this issue but interlacing is still below par. A force shift to OpenGL was the work around if you wanted to keep the Aero interface.
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

  8. #8
    Member SteveLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Heatware Profile
    The game Plants VS Zombies does not utilize AA with Vista/7. =(
    "There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
    or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
    patience for useless things."

    __________________

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •