• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Knowledge and your opinion wanted (and respected!)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gsadan

Hello everyone - I am an industrial design student, from UK on exchange for a year in Sweden. My current project is a 'live' (meaning with an actual company).

The project is to design a gaming 'chassis' (their term not mine) which will be put into mass production. I can't disclose who it is for right now, but will be able to later.

If anyone is interested in answering some questions, either via a chat client or on here please let me know - any input you give I will highlight and give credit for in a breakdown of the design process which will be publicized on sweclockers.se which is the biggest site of it's kind in Sweden.

I'd like to know things like opinions about cooling, noise, ports, ammount of optical drives, aesthetics and so on - all based on what you would like in a perfect case (chassis!?).

Thanks in advance for anyone who will talk to me about this - please PM me to arrange a quick interview on MSN. I'm in europe so GMT+1 for me to give an idea of my availability.

Dan

My ideal case has excellent airflow designed in. Removable motherboard tray. 2 optical drive bays. Cable Management options build in. It should be wide enough for a 120mm Tower Cpu cooler, Deep enough for extra long video cards.

The Antec 300 is the closest to perfection I've seen so far. It looks excellent, has excellent airflow, and is quiet. ]

If you were to build a case, I would say model it as an improved Antec 300

Antec 300 design and build quality with the following:

CPU plate hole
Black interior
Cable management hole
Perforated bottom panel for PSU fan
Dual 120mm top fans rather than 1 140mm
Side panel window
A little bit longer overall for big video cards