Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered Lunait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Posts
    24

    F@H can't find second GPU

    I've recently purchased an Asus GTX 295. Now I'm trying to set up multi-GPU folding, by adding -gpu X flags and everything. The gpu 0 client runs fine, but when I try to start the gpu 1 client, I get the following message:

    At present your GPU is not supported or you need a current driver.
    You may wish to consider running our standard client,
    which you can download at folding.stanford.edu.


    Does anyone know what the problem is?
    I have Windows XP x86, and the Nvidia 191.07 driver.

  2. #2
    Wicked_Pixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    296
    A re-installation of drivers should solve it.

    Uninstall the HW from device mgr, reboot in safe mode, run DC Pro or driver sweeper, reboot in safe mode again and install the driver. Reboot normally and check if that error message still shows up.

    Hope that helps.


    Forgot to add:

    Do yo have a dummy plug or a 2nd dvi cable plugged into the same monitor or a 2nd one?
    Last edited by Wicked_Pixie; 10-26-09 at 01:32 PM.
    Folding in loving memory of Grandpa C. (April 2010)
    Alzheimer's and Parkinson's


    “ But we in it shall be remember'd;
    We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
    For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
    Shall be my brother... "
    Henry V
    -Billy Shakespeare


    Heatware

  3. #3
    sneakysnowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    179
    try running with the
    Code:
    -forcegpu nvidia_g80
    flag
    Folding for T32 with:
    i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz, 3x GTX260-216 | i7 920 C0 @ 3.6GHz, 2x GTX260-216, 9800GT | Q9550 @ 4GHz, water cooled, 2x 9800GX2| Phenom II 940 @ 3.6GHz, 3x GTX260-216, 9800GT
    Q9300 @ 3.2GHz, 2x GTX260-216 | E8400 @ 4GHz, 2x GTX260-216 | E5200 @ 3.6GHz, GTX260-216 | E5200 @ stock, GTX295, 9800GT, 8800GT (temp until GTX295 comes back from RMA) | T5600 @ 1.83GHz | PS3

    I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding

  4. #4
    Member Sydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Iceland
    Posts
    611
    Quote Originally Posted by sneakysnowman View Post
    try running with the
    Code:
    -forcegpu nvidia_g80
    flag
    Should do the trick, since you are using XP you shouldn't need to connect a monitor/dummy plug to each GPU.
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD7 (EK P67A-UD7)| i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz (Heat Killer 3.0)
    4x4GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHz CL9 1.5V | Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce 3X @ 1084(C)/1150(B)/7064(M) | Swiftech MCP35X
    Black Ice Pro II 240mm| Antec HCP1200 | Antec P280 |2x 120GB Mushkin Chronos RAID0| Windows 8.1 Preview

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    Folding Profile
    The -forcegpu nvidia_g80 statement can be on both gpus, but must be on the 2nd (one without monitor) for it to work.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  6. #6
    Registered Lunait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Posts
    24
    Well, the "-forcegpu nvidia_g80" got the 2nd client running, but it shut down almost immediately, saying that Fah_Core was unstable. I'm at a loss as to what to do about this. I re-installed the drivers, but the problem seemed to be with the fact that there is no 2nd display. And now the core is unstable. What to do?

  7. #7
    Registered Lunait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Posts
    24
    It works perfectly now - all I needed to do was add a "-forcegpu nvidia_g80" flag to the 2nd client, and disable PhysX. Thanks everyone!

    The GPU fan is very loud, though... can't wait for water cooling.

  8. #8
    Registered Lunait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Posts
    24
    I'm starting to get lots of "Unstable machine" errors on the 2nd GPU. I've removed -advmethods temporarily to see if it's more stable without it, but my estimated PPD is considerably lower (~12k off vs. ~15K on) so I would like to keep -advmethods on if I can.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Adak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7,125
    Author Profile Folding Profile
    How's your temps and air flow in and around the gpu's?

    One problem with a second GPU is the air can really get restricted, letting heat build up too high. Although each card has a fan, the volume of air the little card fans can push in a restricted space is not up to the task.

    If you can position a 90-120 mm fan onto the card, it may be just what you need. If it's still too hot, check your speeds on the cards. Above about 85%, your card fans gives a lot of whine, and very little extra air.

  10. #10
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Posts
    4,685
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Adak View Post
    How's your temps and air flow in and around the gpu's?

    One problem with a second GPU is the air can really get restricted, letting heat build up too high. Although each card has a fan, the volume of air the little card fans can push in a restricted space is not up to the task.

    If you can position a 90-120 mm fan onto the card, it may be just what you need. If it's still too hot, check your speeds on the cards. Above about 85%, your card fans gives a lot of whine, and very little extra air.
    Adak, he has a GTX 295, which is a dual GPU card. If he got it recently, it is probably a co-op card, which has pretty decent cooling.

    Lunait, you said you had PhysX off. Do you also have "Do not use multi-GPU mode" checked? You should find it in the same place the PhysX controls are.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

  11. #11
    Registered Lunait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Posts
    24
    Temps are about 90°C when folding, but I hear that's kind of normal for a 295. I got a (barely) used 295, so it's the dual-PCB version. I tried disabling multi-GPU mode, but that didn't help. I'm also using a fan now to blow air directly on the card, reducing load temps to ~80°C, but the 2nd client is still unstable.

    Here is the log file for the 2nd client (sorry for the lengthy post):

    --- Opening Log file [October 27 08:35:10 UTC]


    # Windows GPU Console Edition #################################################
    ################################################## #############################

    Folding@Home Client Version 6.23

    http://folding.stanford.edu

    ################################################## #############################
    ################################################## #############################

    Launch directory: C:\GPU2
    Executable: C:\Program\Folding@home-Win32-GPU_XP-623\Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe
    Arguments: -gpu 1 -verbosity 9 -local -forcegpu nvidia_g80

    [08:35:10] - Ask before connecting: No
    [08:35:10] - User name: Namingway (Team 32461)
    [08:35:10] - User ID: 5F6C78B03ABA8F06
    [08:35:10] - Machine ID: 2
    [08:35:10]
    [08:35:10] Loaded queue successfully.
    [08:35:10]
    [08:35:10] - Autosending finished units... [October 27 08:35:10 UTC]
    [08:35:10] + Processing work unit
    [08:35:10] Trying to send all finished work units
    [08:35:10] Core required: FahCore_11.exe
    [08:35:10] + No unsent completed units remaining.
    [08:35:10] - Autosend completed
    [08:35:10] Core found.
    [08:35:10] Working on queue slot 06 [October 27 08:35:10 UTC]
    [08:35:10] + Working ...
    [08:35:10] - Calling '.\FahCore_11.exe -dir work/ -suffix 06 -nocpulock -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 3292 -version 623'

    [08:35:10]
    [08:35:10] *------------------------------*
    [08:35:10] Folding@Home GPU Core - Beta
    [08:35:10] Version 1.19 (Mon Nov 3 09:34:13 PST 2008)
    [08:35:10]
    [08:35:10] Compiler : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.762 for 80x86
    [08:35:10] Build host: amoeba
    [08:35:10] Board Type: Nvidia
    [08:35:10] Core :
    [08:35:10] Preparing to commence simulation
    [08:35:10] - Looking at optimizations...
    [08:35:10] - Created dyn
    [08:35:10] - Files status OK
    [08:35:10] Error: Missing work file=<>
    [08:35:10]
    [08:35:10] Folding@home Core Shutdown: MISSING_WORK_FILES
    [08:35:14] CoreStatus = 74 (116)
    [08:35:14] The core could not find the work files specified. Removing from queue
    [08:35:14] Deleting current work unit & continuing...
    [08:35:18] Trying to send all finished work units
    [08:35:18] + No unsent completed units remaining.
    [08:35:18] - Preparing to get new work unit...
    [08:35:18] + Attempting to get work packet
    [08:35:18] - Will indicate memory of 2813 MB
    [08:35:18] - Detect CPU. Vendor: AuthenticAMD, Family: 15, Model: 4, Stepping: 2
    [08:35:18] - Connecting to assignment server
    [08:35:18] Connecting to http://assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080/
    [08:35:19] Posted data.
    [08:35:19] Initial: 40AB; - Successful: assigned to (171.64.65.106).
    [08:35:19] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
    [08:35:19] Loaded queue successfully.
    [08:35:19] Connecting to http://171.64.65.106:8080/
    [08:35:20] Posted data.
    [08:35:20] Initial: 0000; - Receiving payload (expected size: 67711)
    [08:35:21] - Downloaded at ~66 kB/s
    [08:35:21] - Averaged speed for that direction ~48 kB/s
    [08:35:21] + Received work.
    [08:35:21] + Closed connections
    [08:35:26]
    [08:35:26] + Processing work unit
    [08:35:26] Core required: FahCore_11.exe
    [08:35:26] Core found.
    [08:35:26] Working on queue slot 07 [October 27 08:35:26 UTC]
    [08:35:26] + Working ...
    [08:35:26] - Calling '.\FahCore_11.exe -dir work/ -suffix 07 -nocpulock -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 3292 -version 623'

    [08:35:26]
    [08:35:26] *------------------------------*
    [08:35:26] Folding@Home GPU Core - Beta
    [08:35:26] Version 1.19 (Mon Nov 3 09:34:13 PST 2008)
    [08:35:26]
    [08:35:26] Compiler : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.762 for 80x86
    [08:35:26] Build host: amoeba
    [08:35:26] Board Type: Nvidia
    [08:35:26] Core :
    [08:35:26] Preparing to commence simulation
    [08:35:26] - Looking at optimizations...
    [08:35:26] - Created dyn
    [08:35:26] - Files status OK
    [08:35:26] - Expanded 67199 -> 348420 (decompressed 518.4 percent)
    [08:35:26] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=67199 data_size=348420, decompressed_data_size=348420 diff=0
    [08:35:26] - Digital signature verified
    [08:35:26]
    [08:35:26] Project: 5798 (Run 3, Clone 617, Gen 3)
    [08:35:26]
    [08:35:26] Assembly optimizations on if available.
    [08:35:26] Entering M.D.
    [08:35:33] Working on Protein
    [08:35:33] mdrun_gpu returned
    [08:35:33] Going to send back what have done -- stepsTotalG=0
    [08:35:33] Work fraction=0.0000 steps=0.
    [08:35:37] logfile size=9031 infoLength=9031 edr=0 trr=25
    [08:35:37] - Writing 9569 bytes of core data to disk...
    [08:35:37] Done: 9057 -> 3275 (compressed to 36.1 percent)
    [08:35:37] ... Done.
    [08:35:37]
    [08:35:37] Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
    [08:35:39] ***** Got a SIGTERM signal (2)
    [08:35:39] Killing all core threads

    Folding@Home Client Shutdown.
    Last edited by Lunait; 10-27-09 at 03:51 AM.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    Folding Profile
    I don't think it'll make any difference but the -local flag tells the client to work on files in the same directory as the FAH executable. You're not configured to do that and so shouldn't use that flag. I'm not sure it even matters anymore with this client, but it used to and if it still works, could be the reason for the missing work files message. Anyway, be sure you have active log in the GPU1 and GPU2 directories.

    I have one single PCB GTX295 that has given me the same trouble, instant UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors, from time to time. It worked great for 2 or three months and then the 2nd GPU started erroring. I have it working now in XP x64 with one monitor hooked up by DVI and HDMI. SLI disabled. Latest drivers, Physics on. Desktop extended to 2nd monitor, EVGA precision running and the clocks synced.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  13. #13
    Member

    torin3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box
    Posts
    4,685
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by ChasR View Post

    I have one single PCB GTX295 that has given me the same trouble, instant UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors, from time to time. It worked great for 2 or three months and then the 2nd GPU started erroring. I have it working now in XP x64 with one monitor hooked up by DVI and HDMI. SLI disabled. Latest drivers, Physics on. Desktop extended to 2nd monitor, EVGA precision running and the clocks synced.
    I just got a single PCB GTX295 from Hardass, and if I disable SLI, I get UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors on the 2nd GPU, but if I leave it in SLI, it seems to work fine.
    Vista 64bit.
    Please fold for Team 32!
    System to be updated soon
    My Heat
    Folding User Stats
    BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •