Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: worth it ?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    norway

    worth it ?

    Would it be worth swapping this cpu http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLAEC for this one who is a tad faster http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLA4J
    As far as i can figure it should be pretty much the same cpu exept for the speed of it
    Any comments apreciated

    jr1
    Mobo : M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
    Cpu : amd p2 X6 1100T @ 3.827 ghz
    Ram : ocz platinum 7 7 7 20 ddr 3 4gb
    Vga : asus 2X asus GTX 560 directcu2
    Psu : ocz fatality 700w
    Cpublock : Swiftech apogee xt
    Pump : mcp655
    Rad : Sr1 480
    Res : swiftech microres v1
    Fittings : various kompression and barbs
    tubing : primoflex pro white
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64622

  2. #2
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Humboldt
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    It'd be about 10% faster. Whether that is worth it or not i donno. If you have to pay more then $10, i'd say no though.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  3. #3
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Not worth it.

    0.27GHz isn't worth the price, unless you get it VERY cheap as Bobnova said.
    i7 4770K | ASRock Z87M OC Formula | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP
    Pentium G3258 | ASUS Z87I-Deluxe | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | 5x2TB RAIDZ | Corsair CX430

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (101-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build


  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    norway
    Thanks for your quick reply
    It's not all that cheap i would have to give about $40 - $50 + shipping for it
    Only thing is that as far as i can figure out it would have been the only way to speed up the laptop i was thinking of putting it in
    Mobo : M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
    Cpu : amd p2 X6 1100T @ 3.827 ghz
    Ram : ocz platinum 7 7 7 20 ddr 3 4gb
    Vga : asus 2X asus GTX 560 directcu2
    Psu : ocz fatality 700w
    Cpublock : Swiftech apogee xt
    Pump : mcp655
    Rad : Sr1 480
    Res : swiftech microres v1
    Fittings : various kompression and barbs
    tubing : primoflex pro white
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64622

  5. #5
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    There are some software OC programs that people use for their laptops. I really don't know much about them, I just heard of people doing that.

    You can make sure the RAM is maxed out.

    You could get an SSD, they make the most noticeable difference in computer responsiveness.
    i7 4770K | ASRock Z87M OC Formula | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP
    Pentium G3258 | ASUS Z87I-Deluxe | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | 5x2TB RAIDZ | Corsair CX430

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (101-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Heatware Profile
    to increase performance the easiest way is to back up your files then wipe the os and reinstall windows (assuming your using win and have a key available) so it will be as fast as the day you brought it .
    DESKTOP: i7 3960x@4.7Ghz 1.4v vcore | P9X79 Pro | 16Gb 1866 DDR3 | 250gb Crucial M4 | 1TB WD Green| Nvidia GTX 780 | Silver Arrow SB-E | Linux Mint/Win 8.1 | Silverstone FT02
    Home Server: i5-4570s | 8Gb DDR3| ASRock H87M-ITX | three 2tb drives (4tb raid5) | Ubuntu
    HTPC: i5 3570T | 4Gb DDR3 | Intel DQ77KB | OpenElec Pxe boot
    Media Players: Intel NUC (Pxebooting Openelec) | NowTV box running Plex
    Firewall: i5 2310 | 4Gb DDR3 | DH67CF ITX | Running Astaro
    PORTABLE: Nexus 4 | Nexus 7 2013| Asus EEE transformer | HP Touchpad | 13" MacBook Pro Retina oct 2013 16Gb Ram

  7. #7
    Member
    zangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    most people would never notice a 10% increase in performance from clockspeed...even game benchmarks would not vary that much...i would look at the platform as a whole...if you are running vista and only have 2gig of ram...going to 4 would be a HUGE increase in feel over 10% clock speed.
    CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
    Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
    HSF: Cogage TRUE
    GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
    PSU: Corsair hx 850w
    Case: HAF 932
    Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
    OS: Win 7 64bit

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    norway
    Thanks for the advices
    As of now i'm running a approximatly 2 months old install of vista maybe a little less
    I'm haveing 3gb ram
    next thing i guess is to swap the 1gb memorychip with a 2gb one
    if that doesn't help my next move will be either to get an ssd disk or another laptop
    ohh and also the laptop is an packard bell easynote BG45U
    Thanks again for your time and advice
    Mobo : M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
    Cpu : amd p2 X6 1100T @ 3.827 ghz
    Ram : ocz platinum 7 7 7 20 ddr 3 4gb
    Vga : asus 2X asus GTX 560 directcu2
    Psu : ocz fatality 700w
    Cpublock : Swiftech apogee xt
    Pump : mcp655
    Rad : Sr1 480
    Res : swiftech microres v1
    Fittings : various kompression and barbs
    tubing : primoflex pro white
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64622

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •