Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada

    "CPU Temperature Error, Press F1 to continue

    Hello everyone I hope somebody can help,

    Specs are
    E8400 @ 3.06GHz | 2x HD3870 in CrossfireX | ASUS P5E Motherboard | 4GB PC8500 OCZ RAM | Logitech G3 | MercStealth k/b | ThermalTake Armor+ Super Tower |<br /> Antec 1000W P/S | Samsung 24\"

    Last night My daughter was on the PC and she got a black screen and the message in the title on a Mobo screen when I pushed F1 to continue windows tried to boot but froze/flashed and got the same message. After that I did access the bios and my cpu temp was 100c/250f so I shut it all down for a couple of hours. When I rebooted I didnt recieve the message anymore but it ask me for the "windows didnt shut down properly safe mode stuff" and I start normally and it cycles to the XP screen flashes and goes back to the safe mode screen.

    Bottom line is I cant get XP pro to boot and I have no messages as to why.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    My first question would be why was your CPU running at 100c if it actually was? Is your PC caked in dust is the cpu fan spinning and all that?
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes the fan is spinning and others, I clean my pc regularly. I have no idea why it reached the temp it did. After I turned it off for awhile it read 38c but again after trying to get it to run and playing around with it for about ten mins it was up to 88c

  4. #4
    Member Zantal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Italy, Rome
    Quote Originally Posted by DrUnKiN_UnHoLy View Post
    Yes the fan is spinning and others, I clean my pc regularly. I have no idea why it reached the temp it did. After I turned it off for awhile it read 38c but again after trying to get it to run and playing around with it for about ten mins it was up to 88c

    might be the heatsink not sitting correctly (due to frequent cleaning XD happened to me once) or faulty temp reads(but i think that's impossible).

    i hope someone can help with this =)
    PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
    CPU: Intel i7 920 O.C 4.00 Ghz on air 211 X 19
    GRAPHICS: 2X GTX480 @ 900 - 1800 - 2000 on Water
    HAIRDRYER:2X GTX480 =)
    MOTHERBOARD: asus p6t deluxe
    MEMORY: 6gb ddr3 triple channel corsair @ 1700 MHz
    STORAGE: 3 X 300GB Maxtor in raid 0
    Vantage score @ P32257

  5. #5
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Humboldt
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    If the cpu heatsink is clean and the fan is working (and the case fans are working), then the heatsink has been dislodged from the processor and needs to be removed, cleaned, and reinstalled with new thermal glop.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  6. #6
    Member tool_462's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northern MN
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
    new thermal glop.
    This being the scientific term for TIM
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  7. #7
    Folding for Team 32! Ben333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Author Profile
    Try taking the heatsink off and carefully putting it back on correctly, making sure it is mounted evenly and making good contact with your processor. The existing thermal paste should be fine.

  8. #8
    Member jmdixon85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumbria (UK)
    The first thing is getting that heatsink sorted before even wondering whats wrong with XP. If XP still does not boot when you get your temps fixed it's possible that when your computer suddenly shut down that the HDD data has become corrupt. Once you get CPU heatsink sorted boot from your XP disk and go into recovery console. From their run chkdsk /r and try booting again once the disk has been checked.
    Main System/File Server/IP-Fire Router
    CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Celeron 1.1Ghz
    Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte GA-C847N
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/12GB DDR3 1333Mhz//2GB DDR2
    Video: 2x nVidia GTX660 3GB sli/Radeon 3000//iGPU
    HDD: 256GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/160GB
    PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W//FSP 300W
    Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/
    Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)
    i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks for all the replies everyone,

    I will have to now wait until the weekend to tare into it **** came up and I wont have time. I will post what/how I got it fixed when that happens.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada

    Unhappy

    Ok guys,

    I cleaned the PC it looks freakin brand new. Checked all the cables and cleaned the heat sink and applied new paste. Temp is stable and doesnt rise to the 100c stays around 35-40.

    I still cant get it to boot up to windows. It is just circling from the Asus main screen to the would you like to boot in safe mode and then to the XP loading screen then the screen flashes and I am back to the Asus loading screen.

    Fustraited,

    Thanks

    I tried to boot from the windows disk and I dont no how ,, lol Never had to do that before. I put it in and nothing happened

  11. #11
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Press F8 after the Asus logo screen is gone and select disable automatic restart on system failure. That should give you the BSOD on your next boot and some clue as to what is going on.
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    I think I tried to push F8 and nothing happened, I can push delete and grab the bios but I will have to try the F8 tonight,

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Well the CPU might of been heating up really bad but atleast I fixed that. Now I pulled the HDD to hook it up to my laptop to copy the file (just incase I lost something with the next steps) and it only read my gaming portion my day to day drive is " I/O Error so I D/L the seagate tools and at first I ran the short generic test and it passed so I moved onto the long generic and selected find errors without repair and it found about 250 errors and then the test failed. I then decided to run it WITH repairs and when I left for work this morning it was at 3887 Errors and a 1/4 on the status bar. So I deff think the CPU started this but with all the circles I kept putting the PC through and the incomplete starts I think I pooched the HDD.

    Any thoughts?

  14. #14
    Member

    psionic98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    4th Floor office, East Coast
    Heatware Profile
    Sounds like its time for a fresh install.. or if you have a spare drive, install xp on that and see if you boot up.. good chance with that many errors on a repair log you have done a good bit of damage to your data.. unless its absolutely important data on that disc.. reformatting might be the way to go at this point. Though someone might have a better option, but sounds like the heat and random boots are causing alot of havoc on that partition
    EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
    2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
    HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
    Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
    / Enermax 720 Modular
    HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
    HEAT
    i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
    / AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
    Recommended Power Supply Listing

  15. #15
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Its sounds like its time for a new drive not a reformat.....Is it reporting bad sectors or what are the errors?
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  16. #16

    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins

    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by DrUnKiN_UnHoLy View Post
    Well the CPU might of been heating up really bad but atleast I fixed that. Now I pulled the HDD to hook it up to my laptop to copy the file (just incase I lost something with the next steps) and it only read my gaming portion my day to day drive is " I/O Error so I D/L the seagate tools and at first I ran the short generic test and it passed so I moved onto the long generic and selected find errors without repair and it found about 250 errors and then the test failed. I then decided to run it WITH repairs and when I left for work this morning it was at 3887 Errors and a 1/4 on the status bar. So I deff think the CPU started this but with all the circles I kept putting the PC through and the incomplete starts I think I pooched the HDD.

    Any thoughts?
    DU,

    I agree with Trap05, the drive is FUBAR and they only get worse. Time for a new one.
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Have not been able to acsess the log yet because it is still searching/repairing
    but when I did the long generic with out selecting repair all it told me they are

    BAD LBA Error not repaired 56675633
    BAD LBA Error not repaired 58734883
    ect....

    The #'s above are just examples the rest is exactly what it said

    Edit*** Ya Thunder I agree with both of you but I just want to know what went wrong now and see if there is a fix. I will probably pick up the 10krpm and if I get this running just put it in there for storage without reformating because the other partition is fine it reads and I can access it no problem.

    Thanks Trap and everyone who has helped. I will continue to let you know how it stands but I think by tonight I should have all my answers
    Last edited by DrUnKiN_UnHoLy; 11-10-09 at 09:48 AM.

  18. #18
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Another good choice would be this drive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-319-_-Product
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  19. #19

    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins

    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by DrUnKiN_UnHoLy View Post
    Have not been able to acsess the log yet because it is still searching/repairing
    but when I did the long generic with out selecting repair all it told me they are

    BAD LBA Error not repaired 56675633
    BAD LBA Error not repaired 58734883
    ect....

    The #'s above are just examples the rest is exactly what it said

    Edit*** Ya Thunder I agree with both of you but I just want to know what went wrong now and see if there is a fix. I will probably pick up the 10krpm and if I get this running just put it in there for storage without reformating because the other partition is fine it reads and I can access it no problem.

    Thanks Trap and everyone who has helped. I will continue to let you know how it stands but I think by tonight I should have all my answers
    DU,

    The CPU temp error is not directly associated with your hard drive. In other words an overheated CPU shutdown won't affect temps with your hard drive but failing sectors and random restarts is asking for trouble.

    I think you have (had) two coincidental and separate issues that aggravated a failing hard drive with random shutdowns. I wouldn't bother testing your hard drive further and hope your CPU hasn't been damaged.

    Your hard drive damage is physical and it can't find enough good sectors to remap itself and if it could, those sectors may become damaged later. Bite the bullet, Trap05's suggestion is excellent.
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  20. #20
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Humboldt
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Depends on why the cpu is overheating.
    If it's overheating because all the vents are clogged and the internal ambient in the case is 70*c, the hard drive is going to be none too happy.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •