Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    DDR3 1600 running at 1066?

    When I boot up, BIOS says my memory is running at 1066mhz and I want it to be running at 1600mhz. It also says Max bandwidth PC3-8500 and I bought PC3-12800...The kit I bought was OCZ and is rated for that speed. What do I need to change so that I only change what my memory is running at and nothing else? Here is a screenshot from CPU-Z.... it doesn't say 1066mhz though...where is that at? My motherboard is an Asus P6T deluxe v.2. There are two CPU-Z images below and also a link to the memory I bought from newegg. Please talk to me as if I'm retarded. Thanks .





  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    Manually change the DRAM Frequency option in the BIOS from DDR3-1066MHz to DDR3-1600MHz.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    The frequency is the only option I need to set?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    I still don't understand... Don't I need to change voltages and such? Also, here is the link I forgot to include with the original post...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227381

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    Besides changing the DRAM frequency to DDR3-1600MHz, change the DRAM Bus voltage to 1.65V, and the four primary DRAM timings to 7-7-7-24 (DRAM CAS# Latency, DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay, DRAM RAS# PRE Time, and DRAM RAS# ACT Time); all sub-timings on AUTO.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    OK I will try that tonight!

  7. #7
    Member fire2havoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    191
    You also have to change the RAM Memory Multiplier so that the CPU BCLK x RAM Multiplier = Memory Frequency.
    CPU: i7 920 C0 @ 3.8 GHz HT, 1.25v
    Cooling: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
    Memory: 6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
    Video: ASUS GTX 285
    Hard Drives: WD Black 640GB, 2x WD Green 1TB
    Power Supply: Corsair 850TX
    Case: Antec P180B
    Monitor: 30" Dell U3011 H-IPS
    Peripherals: Logitech Illuminated + G7 | Sidewinder X4
    Sound: Auzentech X-Fi Forte | Audio-Technica AD700 | Logitech Z-2300
    OS: Windows 7 Professional x64

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Ok, I'm trying to get this to work but it won't let me set the voltage to 1.65v. It says I can only increment the DRAM bus voltage by 0.02v, which won't let me do 1.65v. I'm going to summarize the screen, please tell me if this is correct... Sorry I'm new to this... fire2havoc umm i'll have to get to that after I get this voltage stuff figured out :\.

    AI Tweaker Tab

    Ai Overclock Tuner [Auto]
    CPU Ratio Setting [Auto]
    Intel (R) SpeedStep(TM) Tech [Enabled]
    Intel (R) Turbo Mode Tech [Enabled]
    DRAM Frequency [DDR3-1600MHz]
    UCLK Frequency [Auto]
    QPI Link Data Rate [Auto]

    -> DRAM timing control (change first four values to 7-7-7-24. They were 7-7-7-20, should I still have changed them??)

    CPU Voltage [Auto]
    CPU PLL Voltage [Auto]
    QPI/DRAM Core Voltage [Auto]
    IOH Voltage [Auto]
    IOH PCIE Voltage [Auto]
    ICH Voltage [Auto]
    ICH PCIE Voltage [Auto]
    DRAM Bus Voltage [???]
    DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHA [Auto]
    DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHA [Auto]
    DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHB [Auto]
    DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHB [Auto]
    DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHC [Auto]
    DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHC [Auto]
    **************************************
    Load-Line Calibration [Auto]
    CPU Differential Amplitude [Auto]
    CPU Clock Skew [Auto]
    CPU Spread Spectrum [Auto]
    IOH Clock Skew [Auto]
    PCIE Spread Spectrum [Auto]

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    The DRAM Bus Voltage options are 1.50V - 2.46V in 0.02V increments, so select the closest to 1.65V like 1.64 or 1.66V.

    Quote Originally Posted by fire2havoc
    You also have to change the RAM Memory Multiplier so that the CPU BCLK x RAM Multiplier = Memory Frequency.
    The "RAM Memory Multiplier" is achieved by selecting the appropriate DRAM Frequency, which in the case of DDR3-1600MHz is 12 (or 2:12 at a BCLK of 133MHz, for an effective 1600MHz DRAM frequency).

    So manually set the four primary timings to 7-7-7-24, along w/...

    tRC: 30
    tRFC: 60
    tRRD: 5
    tWR: 8
    tWTR: 5
    tRTP: 5

    ... and all other timings set to AUTO. Or just try w/ all sub timings on AUTO, including the 6 above.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •