Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    169

    Idle temps doubling between Stock and 4Ghz?

    Just thought I would ask, what is the average Idle temp (yes yes I know it's not hyper accurate but whatever) for people running an i5 750 at 4GHz?

    At stock (with EIST and C1E) Realtemp was reporting 14-15*C. Load Temps never went above 40-42*C
    At 4GHz, (with EIST and C1E) Realtemp is reporting 28*C. Load Temps are 60-63*C

  2. #2

    Member
    freeagent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg!
    Posts
    5,017
    You got a hot chip

    Or because you added a lil more then 1300mhz to your clock speed
    Intel Xeon x5690 E.S. @ Stock/H100
    Asus Rampage III Formula @ 133/3200/3200
    3x2GB STT Chrome @ 1333 6-6-6-20 1T
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ Stock
    Intel 520/WD Black
    Auzentech Prelude
    Thermaltake SP850M
    Fractal Design Define R4

  3. #3
    Member Daddyjaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormond Beach, FL.
    Posts
    1,848
    Unless you are in a 45-50 room, your chip could not be idling at 14-15c. That's 57 farenheit. 40c load is way to low too. What version of RealTemp do you have?
    I7-4960X w/EK Supermecy and red LED's
    Rampage IV BE with EK m/b block
    3 x 780TI Classifieds with EK full cover blocks and 3 x serial terminal connector
    64GB Corsair Platinum 2400 CAS10
    CaseLabs STH10 with Pedestal
    3 x XSPC RX480 and RX240
    EK res w/ 2 x MCP35X
    Photon 170 Res with MCP35X, EK Res with MCP35X
    Primochill LRT Black/Red 7/8" with EK/BP compression
    2 x 1TB Samsung 840, W/D 2 x 4GB Black and 2 x 3GB Black
    Win 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by Daddyjaxx View Post
    Unless you are in a 45-50 room, your chip could not be idling at 14-15c. That's 57 farenheit. 40c load is way to low too. What version of RealTemp do you have?
    v3.39.2

    I live in Ireland and it is always cold here More than likely my ambient temps are below 14*C

    I am not running the stock cooler though, I am running a Thor's Hammer with 2xKaze Slipstream 1900RPM and IC7 Diamond TIM (note to self, sort out sig)
    Last edited by gwar2288; 11-15-09 at 07:14 PM.

  5. #5
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Posts
    8,655
    I thought your temps might be wrong as well, but if you really have sub 14C ambient, then I guess it could be accurate...my ambient is 25C, there's no way I could stay in a room in the low 50F's...lol

    Whether they are 15C or 28C, it doesn't really matter. If they were in the 50C's, then you should be worried. Just worry about load temps unless idles are extremely high, which would suggest bad heatsink contact or too much TIM.
    i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build

  6. #6
    Member fire2havoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    191
    Idle and load temps seem way too cold. What is the TJMax set to in your RealTemp?
    CPU: i7 920 C0 @ 3.8 GHz HT, 1.25v
    Cooling: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
    Memory: 6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
    Video: ASUS GTX 285
    Hard Drives: WD Black 640GB, 2x WD Green 1TB
    Power Supply: Corsair 850TX
    Case: Antec P180B
    Monitor: 30" Dell U3011 H-IPS
    Peripherals: Logitech Illuminated + G7 | Sidewinder X4
    Sound: Auzentech X-Fi Forte | Audio-Technica AD700 | Logitech Z-2300
    OS: Windows 7 Professional x64

  7. #7
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    Posts
    2,705
    Quote Originally Posted by gwar2288 View Post
    v3.39.2

    I live in Ireland and it is always cold here More than likely my ambient temps are below 14*C

    I am not running the stock cooler though, I am running a Thor's Hammer with 2xKaze Slipstream 1900RPM and IC7 Diamond TIM (note to self, sort out sig)
    I wish i lived in an area that cold... i'm lucky to see 40F in the middle of winter here
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  8. #8
    Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,581
    Quote Originally Posted by fire2havoc View Post
    What is the TJMax set to in your RealTemp?
    For Nehalem/Lynnfield TJMax value is written in MSR so no more guess about it.
    i5 stock I know that is cold so it's somehow is possible to have ambient temperatures on cores in idle and with your cooling.
    Anyway load temps matter so 60-63C at 4Ghz looks fine to me.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Hi guys, sorry to hijack this thread, but I just built my i5 last night. I'm using stock intel cooler (I have ordered a CM Hyper 212 Plus, but it's not here yet). It's on a GA-P55-UD4P.

    Anyway, my system is idling in the low 40s. IntelBurnTest saw the temperature of Core 1 rise to 81 before I killed it, and running Prime95 it went all the way up 78-80 as well.

    My computer is in a computer armoire but the one side is off, and it's open at the front and vented in the back, but otherwise solid wood on two sides and the top. I'd say the ambient inside there is between 25-30.

    This is all at stock speeds (with Turbo enabled). I had hoped to overclock to 4 Ghz, is a new cooler going to matter that much? I ordered some MX-2 thermal paste with my Hyper 212 Plus as well.

  10. #10
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,578
    You will generally idle about 5-10C above ambient (YMMV) but to be AT ambient is darn near impossible.

    Your 4Ghz temps I would bet are spot on for that ambient temp you mentioned.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  11. #11
    Registered AEternal1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    semi mobile
    Posts
    63
    i'm averaging 48*c @ 26*c ambient....on a warm day outside.....when its cold outside, i can get down to 28*c @ 24*c ambient.
    see my sig

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •