Page 1 of 3 12 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 42
  1. #1
    Member thaclassikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    289

    Microsoft Security Essentials... Sucks.



    I've been using Microsoft's free antivirus and antispyware for several months and i've come to the conclusion that it simply sucks. I've recently been noticing some odd behaviors in my computer and with a free online scanner from Eset, realized that i have several trojans on my computer. Needless to say, i was extremely disappointed in the performance of Microsoft's free antivirus, because free doesn't mean it has to suck. I've used Avast's free antivirus for years and have had great luck with it. If anyone just needs the bare minimum of protection, i guess Microsoft's product will do.

  2. #2
    Water Cooled Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor
    hokiealumnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    15,426
    Ouch. Looks like I'm going back to Avira. Knew I shouldn't have trusted MS to do antivirus right. Thanks for posting.

    Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

    xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
    I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build

  3. #3
    Member SeanBest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Harrisonburg, VA
    Posts
    2,065
    Hmm ... no problems with MSE here ... other than updating takes a little longer than expected.
    HEAT
    Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
    CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
    Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
    Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
    HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
    Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
    Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
    Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
    Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
    OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64

  4. #4
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,738
    Quote Originally Posted by thaclassikz View Post


    I've been using Microsoft's free antivirus and antispyware for several months and i've come to the conclusion that it simply sucks. I've recently been noticing some odd behaviors in my computer and with a free online scanner from Eset, realized that i have several trojans on my computer. Needless to say, i was extremely disappointed in the performance of Microsoft's free antivirus, because free doesn't mean it has to suck. I've used Avast's free antivirus for years and have had great luck with it. If anyone just needs the bare minimum of protection, i guess Microsoft's product will do.
    What OS are you using? Do you do any torrenting?
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  5. #5
    Member thaclassikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    289
    I'm running Windows 7, and yes i do torrent, but nothing crazy.

    In addition to what i said up there, scanning my whole computer took 3-4 hours for under 1TB of data. The same data only took 40 minutes to scan with Avast.

  6. #6
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,738
    Quote Originally Posted by thaclassikz View Post
    yes i do torrent
    Lemme guess, "just Linux distros, I swear!"

    Can't blame the AV software if you're inviting the baddies in..
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  7. #7
    Member Sydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, Iceland
    Posts
    611
    Windows for Gaming, no anti-virus
    Linux for everything else, no anti-virus

    Never had a single problem
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD7 (EK P67A-UD7)| i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz (Heat Killer 3.0)
    4x4GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHz CL9 1.5V | Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce 3X @ 1084(C)/1150(B)/7064(M) | Swiftech MCP35X
    Black Ice Pro II 240mm| Antec HCP1200 | Antec P280 |2x 120GB Mushkin Chronos RAID0| Windows 8.1 Preview

  8. #8
    Super User SuperMiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    3,368
    Quote Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
    "just Linux distros, I swear!"
    <(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>

  9. #9
    Member Sydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, Iceland
    Posts
    611
    Now hold on, there's plenty of legal things to torrent apart from Linux distros.

    Like...uhm....you know....erh.....

    Well, illegal torrents of stuff which you already bought legally (it's legal in Iceland to do that anyway)
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD7 (EK P67A-UD7)| i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz (Heat Killer 3.0)
    4x4GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHz CL9 1.5V | Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce 3X @ 1084(C)/1150(B)/7064(M) | Swiftech MCP35X
    Black Ice Pro II 240mm| Antec HCP1200 | Antec P280 |2x 120GB Mushkin Chronos RAID0| Windows 8.1 Preview

  10. #10
    Member johnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,872
    My MSE trial is officially over. It just locked up Explorer when I was trying to update VLC. That combined with the high memory usage is keeping me with Antivir.

  11. #11
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Posts
    14,854
    considering every review site says otherwise, including AV comparitives, i am thinking you may have said "yes yes yes" to a few thing you shouldn't have, AV's cant stop things the user chooses to install and to have several of them, stop torrent game cracks and other things like that

    MSE has almost no memory usage...

    ,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
    ,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
    ,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



  12. #12
    Member JDawggS316's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    665
    Agreed.
    Build Status: I have kids

  13. #13
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Posts
    8,159
    Working fine on my aunt's laptop, MUCH lower resources than AVira/AVG. Got sick of using them when they became so bloated *sigh.

    I have trained her in the ways of web-fu, but can't stop here from opening email attachments, hence the need for AV software lol
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  14. #14
    Member johnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,872
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Guvernment View Post

    MSE has almost no memory usage...
    I had working memory usage of over 100mb, and a peak of well over 300mb. While that isn't a concern on my system, that's pretty fat for an A/V. Antivir is currently using about 20mb, with a peak of 120mb.

  15. #15
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,218
    Avira bloated? That has to be the first time I have ever heard that AND you put it in with AVG? Whoa nelly!!!!!

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  16. #16
    Member thaclassikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    289
    Quote Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
    Lemme guess, "just Linux distros, I swear!"

    Can't blame the AV software if you're inviting the baddies in..

    That would obviously defeat the purpose of an Anti-virus if it couldn't keep out viruses, invited or uninvited, wouldn't it?

  17. #17
    Member SeanBest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Harrisonburg, VA
    Posts
    2,065
    I'm loving MSE on my desktop and my laptop. Runs super smooth and so far no infections, although I'm a smart surfer!
    HEAT
    Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
    CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
    Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
    Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
    HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
    Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
    Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
    Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
    Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
    OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64

  18. #18
    Member ratbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    8,738
    Quote Originally Posted by thaclassikz View Post
    That would obviously defeat the purpose of an Anti-virus if it couldn't keep out viruses, invited or uninvited, wouldn't it?


    No amount of AV is going to protect you from making bad decisions when it comes to installing sketchy software.
    HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

    -----
    Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

    Nothin' up my sleeve..

  19. #19
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Posts
    14,854
    Quote Originally Posted by johnz View Post
    I had working memory usage of over 100mb, and a peak of well over 300mb. While that isn't a concern on my system, that's pretty fat for an A/V. Antivir is currently using about 20mb, with a peak of 120mb.
    wow, i would say something was wrong, maybe it was working too hard to stop thing, on mine i think iam at... 29mb and my system has been on for 9 days now and i also torrent and have 3 x 640G WD drives and 2 x 1.5T drives.

    Just set it to do a full scan and i am at 68MB of usage while it is doing a full scan. and upto 24&#37; cpu usage.

    ,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
    ,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
    ,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



  20. #20
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    3,911
    The word "Microsoft" and "security", don't belong in the same sentence... lol

Page 1 of 3 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •