Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member silencer51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece

    Quick question about the IP35 Pro + E0 Q9650...

    Hey guys,

    I need a quick asnwer ASAP as I've found an awesome deal at a slightly used E0 Q9650 and I want to get it for my C2D rig.

    Will it work with an Abit IP35 Pro? I know this board had troubles with the E0s however some people say it works with the latest beta bios (18)...

    I just want to be sure before I pull the trigger...

    Thanks!
    ---------Main Rig---------
    Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    I had BIOS 18 and E0 Q9550. Never got them to work together, however I saw others did. Not sure what it depends to. At your own risk my friend.

  3. #3
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I will check the CPU compatability list for you on Abit's site...

    EDIT: Well, the QX9650 is listed, but not the Q9650. Im with Kvn on this one. Try it at your own risk, just make sure you have at least bios 17 on there before.

    http://www.abit.com.tw/cpu-support-l...5_ip35-pro.htm

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  4. #4
    Member silencer51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    That's the weird thing... Same mobo, same BIOS, same CPU yet conflicting results...

    A google search comes up with both success and failure stories.

    We 'll see I guess... :/
    ---------Main Rig---------
    Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)

  5. #5
    Member silencer51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Quote Originally Posted by kvn864 View Post
    I had BIOS 18 and E0 Q9550. Never got them to work together, however I saw others did. Not sure what it depends to. At your own risk my friend.
    Could you please post your configuration when you tried the q9550 on your IP35 Pro?

    You couldn't even get it to boot?
    ---------Main Rig---------
    Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Yes, it will not boot, fans spin full speed but no display. BIOS reset switch on the back of the mobo sometimes gets you to windows, but if you access BIOS and (change or no change in configurations) save and exit....to black screen with no display, next reset: 50/50 chance it'll boot at all. Really weird, but I gave up after a few days, trying anything I knew. It just didn't work for me. I had Gigabyte mobo in the house, running it now. Good luck.

  7. #7
    Member silencer51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Thanks for the reply kvn864. Could you elaborate on the setup you used? I.e. PSU, graphics card, memory etc...

    Also, did you have a Rev. 1.0 or Rev. 1.1 board?
    ---------Main Rig---------
    Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)

  8. #8
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    rev of the board isnt going to matter about supporting the Q9650. you might be lucky to find the last beta bios in this thread. it does look like that bios 18 is the latest one... i guess it might have something to do with the later rev p35 chipset for the E0's but that doesnt make sense to me.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    I had revision 1.0 of the board. Setup: Antec 450W (don't remember the name) ATI 5850, 2x1 + 2x512 = 3G of PC6400 RAM. But I don't think it will matter at all what you have, what I understood in the end of it: there is a problem solely between Mobo and E0 quad. You should definitely try, it might work for you.

  10. #10
    Member silencer51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Okay, so I went ahead and pulled the trigger on that Q9650...

    I'm happy to report that it boots fine every time, temps are reporting fine, even the super-tight memory timings I was using with Bios 14 work fine...

    Super stable so far.

    All this on an IP35 Pro 1.1 revision with beta 18 bios
    ---------Main Rig---------
    Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    I think the difference is in CPU. I had a brand new one, and you probably have a little older chip, and that's why it worked, just thinking aloud here. Beta 18 BIOS happened to have a microcode for your particular chip, and it is not being updated and that's why my setup didn't work. Glad you got it going. Now, clock that thing!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •