Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member darkpyro1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Folding Profile

    Phenom II heatsink on AM2+?

    I was wondering if the fan/heatsink for an AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition CPU socket AM3 can fit onto a socket AM2+ CPU. Namely the Athlon X2. So what I'm asking for is a converter for the AM3 heatsink to an AM2+ CPU.

  2. #2
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Fits just fine

    EDIT: AM2, AM2+ and AM3 are all the same retention mechanisms. I think 939 and 940 sockets work as well but I am not as sure of that...
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  3. #3
    Member darkpyro1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Folding Profile
    no converter needed?

  4. #4
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Nope. Just drop it on and Clip the clip.
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  5. #5
    Member darkpyro1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Folding Profile
    Thanks for the help man!

  6. #6
    Member DVL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    that's one thing I like about AMD is how much easier it is to install CPU's
    AMD / Intel
    Gigabyte 790XTA UD4 AM3 Mobo EVGA 680i SLI 775
    AMD Phenom II x6 Thuban 3.937GHz CPU Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4.0GHz
    8GB Corsiar Vengeance DDR3 1800 8-9-8-24-1t RAM Crucial Balistix 1066 5-4-4-12
    BFG Maxcore 216 GTX 260 GPU EVGA GTX 260 core 216
    PC P&C (OCZ) Silencer 610w PSU Cooler master 600w
    3 x 250GB Barracuda's in RAID 0
    Zalman 9700 Pure Copper
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

  7. #7
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Humboldt
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    The clip points are the same from at least 939 through AM3. I don't know about 754.
    The bolt through points in early 939(i think( and am2/am2+/am3 are the same, but NOT the majority of 939, which only have two bolts,
    Some 939s have more locations for clips (three wide rather then one) which interfere with certain heatsinks, but if you remove the extra clips (hacksaw!) they fit fine. Be careful with the hacksaw, though!
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

  8. #8
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Author Profile
    There is a very slight difference in height between s939 and AM2. I ran into that trying to use a stock Phenom cooler on an s939 CPU - had to put in a thin spacer to make it snug enough. It probably would have worked without the spacer but it was just a hair loose for my taste so I didn't take the chance ...

  9. #9
    Senior Member


    Bobnova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Humboldt
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
    There is a very slight difference in height between s939 and AM2. I ran into that trying to use a stock Phenom cooler on an s939 CPU - had to put in a thin spacer to make it snug enough. It probably would have worked without the spacer but it was just a hair loose for my taste so I didn't take the chance ...
    That's what i was doing when i ran into the hacksawable issue, the 125/140w phenom cooler interfered with the triple wide clip bracket mount tab things.
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

    Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

    How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

    17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •