Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    DarkWhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Great North

    Columns in a sig?

    Not entirely sure about how I should be going about this, but I'd like t set up two columns in my sig, for two entirely different sets of information. Just simply doing by manually spacing things wouldn't work because the two areas of text need to be entirely independent of each other. I've tried doing a table, but was tols my sig is too long, so couldn't see if it would even work in the first place. Also, any mods feel free to move this if needed, but it seemed the only appropraite place for one needing tech support on the forums.
    P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
    Asus M4A79T Deluxe
    XFX Radeon HD 4850
    OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
    Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
    M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
    WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
    Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

    Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
    OCF Music #33
    And folding, of course

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Do you mean like this?...

    P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting).........Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
    Asus M4A79T Deluxe...........................M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
    XFX Radeon HD 4850..........................OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
    WD Caviar Black 320GB HDD...............Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

  3. #3
    DarkWhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Great North
    Yes, except I'd be having system specs at one size on the left, and an entirely different block of text, including different size, on the right.
    As I said in the above post, they need to be completely independent of each other.
    P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
    Asus M4A79T Deluxe
    XFX Radeon HD 4850
    OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
    Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
    M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
    WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
    Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

    Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
    OCF Music #33
    And folding, of course

  4. #4
    Member tinymouse2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surrey, England
    As you can see here, you can change colour for text on the same line, font and size as shown ^

    Is that what your asking? how to do?
    Sound setup:
    Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
    Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
    Sound Card: Asus D2X


    Computer:
    q9550 @ 3.8GHz
    GTX460 @ stock

  5. #5
    DarkWhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Great North
    no, because if I have two different sizes of text, they are still connected and that's my problem.
    Let me demonstrate

    Line 1 of Specs.............Line 1 of other
    Line 2 of specs.............Line 2 of other
    Line 3 of specs.............Line 3 of other
    Line 4 of specs.............Line 4 of other
    Line 5 of specs.............Line 5 of other
    Line 6 of specs.............Line 6 of other
    Line 7 of specs.............Line 7 of other

    As you can see, each linel ines up, Line 1 is always attached to line 1, and line 2 is attached to line 2. I want it so that the lines don't have to be attached, so I could have 5 lines of 3-point text next to 10 lines of 1-point text, while they take the same amount of space
    P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
    Asus M4A79T Deluxe
    XFX Radeon HD 4850
    OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
    Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
    M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
    WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
    Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

    Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
    OCF Music #33
    And folding, of course

  6. #6
    Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior Wicked Klown's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, Wisconsin
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkWhite View Post
    so I could have 5 lines of 3-point text next to 10 lines of 1-point text, while they take the same amount of space
    [/SIZE][/SIZE][/SIZE][/SIZE]

    Just one small problem with having 15 lines of text. The forum rules only allow 12 lines. Just having 5 lines of size 3 would put you over the limit. Size 3 counts as 1.5 lines.


    Aslo just do it like
    Line 1
    Line 1
    Line 2
    Line 2
    Line 3
    Line 3
    Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

    HEAT

    "Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus

  7. #7
    Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid Enablingwolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Strongsville
    Would justifying the text work?

    We have three justy tags that work in the sigs. [left] [center] and [right].

    In theory, it would give you three columns. All you would have to do is wrap each spec in it's own jusitfy tag.







    P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
    Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
    Asus M4A79T Deluxe
    M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
    XFX Radeon HD 4850
    OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
    WD Caviar Black 320GB HDD
    Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case
    Last edited by Enablingwolf; 12-19-09 at 03:34 PM.


    No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








  8. #8
    DarkWhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Great North
    Again, it would only work if the text was the same number of lines.
    P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
    Asus M4A79T Deluxe
    XFX Radeon HD 4850
    OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
    Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
    M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
    WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
    Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

    Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
    OCF Music #33
    And folding, of course

  9. #9
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Not possible to do elegantly, BBcode doesn't support it.

    It would require html to arrange them independently. HTML is not enabled, and can't be enabled for technical reasons.

    If you browse the forums, you can see examples of how other members work around this. Basically, you use characters to space items, which you can make invisible if you don't want them to appear. In your example, the periods used for spacing could be made invisible so they don't appear to be attached - just use the color code which matches the forum background.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  10. #10
    DarkWhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Great North
    dang, I guess I'm staying as is...........
    also, just a side note to IMOG, now that there are multiple skins, would that not mean that the dots can't be completely invisible?
    P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
    Asus M4A79T Deluxe
    XFX Radeon HD 4850
    OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
    Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
    M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
    WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
    Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

    Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
    OCF Music #33
    And folding, of course

  11. #11
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Correct, anyone who uses the light skin is going to deal with a lot of problems with color. Related to sigs, as well as with posts. Possibly also with usernames, unless the CSS has accounted for that. I haven't spent much time trying it out, but maybe the skin designer accounted for usernames.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  12. #12
    Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid Enablingwolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Strongsville
    An option in sig design... Not using the technicals of it. Make a faux table. Hightlight the colors and point to the fact your trying for order. You would have to be very crafty. IMO crafty sigs simply just rule.

    I hold to 5 points describe a machine well.

    _____________________________
    CPU
    ........DPU........EPU
    RAM.......STU.........TTU
    GPU.......HPU.........IPU
    MB..........NB............OB
    OS.ver...OSver.......OSver
    _____________________________

    The limits are not to make life harder or screw with us. It is a security thing. Which I agree with and understand. All or none for HTML. It would take a pretty heavy mod and some special stuff to make it otherwise.

    Just be creative on the limits. I got used to making pages for IE6/IW7 special... I might be jaded, but I just keep in mind, sometimes things are what they are. Then - I work with what I got.

    All I can say is.... Embrace the limits and show upper hand creativity. I do understand your side though and wish there was not jerks who took advantage of HTML and made it not work on most BBS sites. Be it as it may We work with what we have.


    No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








  13. #13
    Gloriously Lead
    Overclockix Chief Architect
    mbentley's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    without support for tables (which is not included in vbulletin by default), what you are looking to do isn't possible as others mentioned. there are vbulletin code additions that can be added to add tables to a vbulletin, but i highly doubt that they will be added to ocforums. the code formatting isn't very simple for your typical user to format. (example of tables in vbulletin)
    intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
    intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

    forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •