Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Combining Two Memory Kits?

    I was wondering if i can combine two of these memory kits http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145260 with this motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128397 with out issue? or do I have to purchase a 8gb Memory kit for almost $200 more . Also I would like to know if someone could explain multi-Channel-Kits for memory. can a Quad Channel Kit work with a Dual Channel Motherboard.

    Thanks Guys

  2. #2
    Seņor Senior Member Nebulous's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Empire State
    Heatware Profile
    The answer is:

    A) Yes -
    Memory Standard -DDR3 1800(OC) / 16XX / 1333 / 1066
    Maximum Memory Supported -16GB

    B) Yes
    Quad channel kits of ram are 4 sticks of ram that are Matched.

    This would be somewhat better as all 4 sticks are designed to run together without issues as opposed to 2 dual kits.

    Be advised tho that when all ram slots are populated with ram, it will be more difficult to overclock as it will put more strain on the ram controller of the chip & NB on the board.

    Good luck on the build

    <MEGA-O>
    ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 /i7 4790K De-Lid @ 4.7GHz
    16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR @ 2400MHz
    H2O=XSPC Rasa Black / XSPC RX360 / XSPC D5 Dual Bay Res V1
    Corsair Force GS SSD 128GB / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
    Gigabyte GV-R797OC-3GD WF3 @ 1100/1500 w/ModBios
    Sony AD-7220S DVDRW / Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD
    SilverStone Zeus SST-ZM1350 1350w
    CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
    ** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **

  3. #3
    Member sweefu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    sorry to hijack thread, just wondering what will happen if you mix 2 diff. brands of memory kit?
    eg a kingston and a corsair?
    If they were both ddrs 1066? (not planning to, just always been curious)

    Thanks.
    CPU - AMD Phenom II 550BEMobo - J&W Technologies 790gx-Extreme
    Ram - Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 (2x2GB)
    HDD - Segate 320GB (O/S) Segate 1TB (Storage)
    Video - Sapphire HD5770 Overclocked Edition
    Case - Thermaltake M9
    Cooling - 6x120mm fans & Xigmatek Thor's Hammer
    PSU - Stock 430w that came with case

  4. #4
    Seņor Senior Member Nebulous's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Empire State
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by sweefu View Post
    sorry to hijack thread, just wondering what will happen if you mix 2 diff. brands of memory kit?
    eg a kingston and a corsair?
    If they were both ddrs 1066? (not planning to, just always been curious)

    Thanks.
    As long as both sets have the same timings/voltages then it should work normally.

    Usually some brands ie: Corsair/OCZ/Patriot, do not play well together even if they do have the same timings/voltages.

    It's a hit or a miss. Only way to find out is to try it.

    <MEGA-O>
    ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 /i7 4790K De-Lid @ 4.7GHz
    16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR @ 2400MHz
    H2O=XSPC Rasa Black / XSPC RX360 / XSPC D5 Dual Bay Res V1
    Corsair Force GS SSD 128GB / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
    Gigabyte GV-R797OC-3GD WF3 @ 1100/1500 w/ModBios
    Sony AD-7220S DVDRW / Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD
    SilverStone Zeus SST-ZM1350 1350w
    CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
    ** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post
    The answer is:

    A) Yes -
    Memory Standard -DDR3 1800(OC) / 16XX / 1333 / 1066
    Maximum Memory Supported -16GB

    B) Yes
    Quad channel kits of ram are 4 sticks of ram that are Matched.

    This would be somewhat better as all 4 sticks are designed to run together without issues as opposed to 2 dual kits.


    Good luck on the build
    So would I run into any issues combining the two kits? as you said these memory sticks are dual channel. So will they not work well with two kits?

    So again looking between these Two Kits :/

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145260 (Combining Two of These

    or just getting One of These....

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145262

    Would I be suffering Performance Loss if I combine the Two Kits?

    Would Love to be able to save the extra $$$
    Also Thanks So Much for Explaning the Multi Channel part

  6. #6

    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins

    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Brando753 View Post
    So would I run into any issues combining the two kits? as you said these memory sticks are dual channel. So will they not work well with two kits?

    So again looking between these Two Kits :/

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145260 (Combining Two of These

    or just getting One of These....

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145262

    Would I be suffering Performance Loss if I combine the Two Kits?

    Would Love to be able to save the extra $$$
    Also Thanks So Much for Explaning the Multi Channel part
    Brando,

    An excellent explanation from Nebulous.

    There is really little need for more that 4 GB of RAM unless you are into specialized computing such as Autocad or heavy graphics editing professionally. For real world computing and even games, you probably won't see the difference with 4 Gb vs. 8 GB. If you still want to buy the exta RAM, your solution is the best: Same brand, same model, same size but 4 sticks certainly won't help your overclocking if you plan to do so.
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  7. #7
    Seņor Senior Member Nebulous's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Empire State
    Heatware Profile
    RT hit it on the head as usual

    <MEGA-O>
    ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 /i7 4790K De-Lid @ 4.7GHz
    16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR @ 2400MHz
    H2O=XSPC Rasa Black / XSPC RX360 / XSPC D5 Dual Bay Res V1
    Corsair Force GS SSD 128GB / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
    Gigabyte GV-R797OC-3GD WF3 @ 1100/1500 w/ModBios
    Sony AD-7220S DVDRW / Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD
    SilverStone Zeus SST-ZM1350 1350w
    CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
    ** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **

  8. #8
    Member PeterGarcia30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Bronx,Ny
    Heatware Profile
    hmm I learned something new tonight never knew having all the ram slots full could hinder your overclock makes me want to take out 2 sticks and give it another go... ill prob try that out this weekend ill see if i make some gains

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •