• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can't move or copy ANY files -- Vista 64-bit Home Premium

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jeromeramone

Hello,

I've been using Windows computers for 10 years. I'm not a mega-expert, but I can usually fix problems, kill viruses, etc. Never had a problem this difficult to solve.

I got this Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit from Dell a few months ago. Haven't done a thing to it except install software.

For the last few weeks I have been unable to drag ANY files or folders from ANYWHERE to ANYWHERE ELSE! For example, there is a jpg on my desktop. I can't drag it to my documents folder, nor even into a folder on the desktop. Right-click and "move" or "copy" doesn't work. Cutting/copying the file and pasting it into another folder doesn't work. There's no error, no alarm, no alert boxes saying "you don't have permission." It just doesn't do anything. I CAN delete files. But once they're deleted, I can't drag them back out of the Recycling Bin!

There is only one user set up on my machine, and it is an "Administrator" user.

There is no evidence of a virus or anything. I've run a few scans using various programs and they find nothing.

For the last few weeks I've been spending an hour a day googling the problem, reading forums, and trying dozens of remedies. Nothing effects it.

Can anyone help me figure this out?

Thanks!

Maybe try creating another user and see if it'll work from that account.

If it was just ONE file or folder that was was giving me grief, I like to use a program called "Gipo@Utilities". They make some cool programs for those "crazy files and / or folders" that don't like to be messed with. It can move, delete or copy them on your next system boot.