Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member duckycrayfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Algonquin, IL

    P6T7 WS Supercomputer

    im thinking about getting the P6T7 WS Supercomputer. it looks like an amasing motherboard, but can you put a pcie x1 into one of its pcie slots?
    i dont want to get it unless you can do that... and it would be really bad to get it and find out i cant.
    could someone also tell me what its fbs is and how fast ram it can support? (like ddr3-?) i found specs on ram but i really dont understand it. thx
    Last edited by duckycrayfish; 01-13-10 at 04:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered Freddiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Stockholm Sweden
    For the PCIe x1 in a x16 slot, that works great. You can use x1, x4 x16 in a PCIe x16 slot.
    _____________________________________________
    Corsair Obsidian 800D
    Asus Rampage II Extreme X58, EK NB block
    Intel i7 950@4.0Ghz-1,30v, Heatkiller 3.0
    Corsair Dominator 1866 CL9
    GTX 260-216 3-Way SLi, EK blocks
    Corsair HX1000w
    2x Intel SSD X25-M Raid0
    Dual Swiftec MCP655
    1x360, 1x140, 1x120 Rads.
    Tygoon 1/2" tubing

  3. #3
    Member duckycrayfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Algonquin, IL
    ive seen other people argue against that T.T

  4. #4
    jaymz9350's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Marytucky, Ohio
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
    ive seen other people argue against that T.T
    You can actually put a 16x card in a 1x slot if you cut a notch out for it. Pretty much pci-e is fully compatible regardless of the slot sizes.
    i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
    4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
    ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
    XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
    Corsair TX750
    128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    Member duckycrayfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Algonquin, IL
    lol what would be the point of that?

  6. #6
    jaymz9350's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Marytucky, Ohio
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
    lol what would be the point of that?
    didn't say there was a point to it but it can be done. I've seen cases where people wanted the 16x slots in there board for RAID cards for a home server (I believe I even saw one on here somewhere) and put a low power GPU in a 1x slot as bandwith was of no concern.
    i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
    4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
    ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
    XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
    Corsair TX750
    128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
    Folding User Stats

  7. #7
    Member duckycrayfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Algonquin, IL
    oh. this is kindof off topic... but what are the benifits of having a raid card with a mobo that can do raid?

  8. #8
    jaymz9350's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Marytucky, Ohio
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
    oh. this is kindof off topic... but what are the benifits of having a raid card with a mobo that can do raid?
    A true raid card will take all the load off of the processor. Onboard motherboard raid is still not true hardware raid. a good card will have it's own processor and ram to handle all the raid functions.
    i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
    4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
    ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
    XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
    Corsair TX750
    128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
    Folding User Stats

  9. #9
    Member duckycrayfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Algonquin, IL
    what about with the ICH8R south bridge? doesnt that handle all the raid stuff?

  10. #10
    jaymz9350's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Marytucky, Ohio
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
    what about with the ICH8R south bridge? doesnt that handle all the raid stuff?
    it still off loads on the cpu just like a cheap raid card would. a good raid card cost's more than most of the highest end motherboards alone.
    i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
    4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
    ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
    XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
    Corsair TX750
    128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
    Folding User Stats

  11. #11
    Member duckycrayfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Algonquin, IL
    O.o sht.....done asking about those.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •