• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

can't install cod2 on win7

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soldierguy

Hey all

I just joined your forum the other day, and its really cool. I'm a pc noob and I like playing pc games-but I'm a challenged tech type.

I've been running WIN 7 64 Homepremium that I upgraded in place from Vista64 home premium and I had cod2 already running etc and it continued to do so, but recently i uninstalled cod2, because somewhere in my multiplayer life I picked up some variations in a foreign language/colors changed/different music etc. It worked OK but I decided i wanted to get rid of the " unintentional mod I had been bitten with" etc but I can't get it reinstalled?

I get a message "file not registered" or something like that--I googled the term and it led me to system registry repair topics. Does that sound right.
I'm not knowledgeable about system registry etc--doesn't mean I can't learn, but does that sound like where my problem might be?

I did a system restore--but couldn't get back to operational cod2 game.

Any thoughts about the direction I should proceed. BTW i do play newer cod games too, but i just like the old stuff sometimes.

Appreciate any help

Tom:salute:

Cosmos Cooler Master 1000 case
Antec 650w Trio power supply
ASUS Formula Rampage mobo
Intel Core2 Quad Q6700 2.66ghz, 8mb cache
Corsair Dominator 8gb, DDR2 1066 ram
2 Radeon msi HD4870 gpu’s 512mb 256 bit GDDR5 in Crossfire
WD Velociraptor 300gb 10K rpm SATA hard drive
Steel series laser gaming mouse
Stealth Switch 2 floor switches for gaming

Make sure you are installing the game with an account that has admin privileges, using a simple user account has been known to cause games to install incorrectly. Also, you might want to try running it in XP compatibility mode.