Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 202
  1. #61
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1
    thanks for the guide it was a great help
    If anyones interested ive worked out an equation to find out what your graphics clock should be set to to keep it from overclocking with your base clock.

    a=Overclocked Base Clock
    b=Default Base Clock
    c=Default Graphics Clock
    x=New Graphics Clock

    x=c/(a/b)

    for example say you have an i3 with its gfx clock at 733, your default bClock is 133 and its overclocked to 210

    a/b = 210/133 = 1.5789...
    c/1.5789... = 733/1.5789 = 464

    So you would set you gfxClock to 464

    Hope thats useful for someone

  2. #62
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Posts
    7,508
    Quote Originally Posted by DreadCthulhu View Post
    The guide mentions that sometimes the machine might not post at all and then you'll pretty much have to reset the bios. A couple of related question:

    - What is usually the cause for the inability of the computer to post? Low VCore or VTT? It'd be good to know in case you made a tweak and all of a sudden the box won't boot and you have no idea what can be improved about the previous set of settings.

    Because of the number of variables it is recommended to start OCing slowly as the guide decribes, increments rather than large changes which normally results in no post and failute to boot. I always save my last successfull OC so I can restore it even if I have to reset the CMOS, it acts as your baseline or fallback in case something goes wrong.

    If you set your QPI, uncore or RAM speeds too high it almost always result in a no-post an your system will not start up, so be carefull when you OC those, again, small incremental OC steps work.

    If you are end up in Windows and get BSOD under stress testing it is either one of two most of the times, low Vtt or low V-core. Once again I have found that Vtt is 3 out of 5 times the culprit. If you make it pass booting but get BSOD as you enter Windows then it is most probably lack of v-core

    - What do you do in case there's no CMOS reset button? Pull the battery out? All boards have CMOS reset options, either in the form of a push button or a jumper, consult your board manual to see what applies to your particular motherboard, If all else fals pulling the battery will certainly reset the CMOS and set bios to default settings.

    - Sometimes a certain set of settings works fine and resets fine, and is perfectly stable throughout tests, but then it might not post the next time you turn on the machine. Why? Albeit not very often I have come across what you are describing, what I have found is more often the board is not fully compatible with the RAM you using or the bios is unstable, in such a case try updating the bios or as a last resort RMA the board, as I said it does not happen much but it has a change to stock out its head now and then.
    Very good questions See above

  3. #63
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
    Very good questions See above
    Thanks for the responses. About the last point, I'm getting this strange "won't post despite good stability" issue right now on my box. It was working fine before I started OCing, but once I started then it would occasionally either:

    - start to boot, but then audibly restart before the post screen. Sometimes 1-3 times, then eventually it would post and work fine afterwards.

    - not post at all, which is what I ran into.

    The reason why I don't think the RAM is the issue is because this no-post issue was never there when the system was at stock values, so I'm trying to determine what exactly was fubarred.

  4. #64
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Posts
    7,508
    What CPU , RAM and board are you using? When I say RAM is not compatible it is really at OC state, at stock pretty much everything should run fine 99% of the time.

  5. #65
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
    What CPU , RAM and board are you using? When I say RAM is not compatible it is really at OC state, at stock pretty much everything should run fine 99% of the time.
    I'm using:

    2 x G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

    Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz

    GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2 LGA 1156 Intel P55 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

    What's ironic is that I picked those sticks specifically because they were supposedly compatible with that board.

  6. #66
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Posts
    7,508
    What was your OC when you started getting issues and what voltages were you applying?
    Not that the UD2 is a bad board but it has limitations to OC.

  7. #67
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
    What was your OC when you started getting issues and what voltages were you applying?
    Not that the UD2 is a bad board but it has limitations to OC.
    Actually I lied. I just reset the settings through the jumper and it still takes 2-3 attempts to boot.. That's weird. Shouldn't be the lack of power either, it's a 750W PSU.

  8. #68
    Member wickedout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    687
    Very nicely written. Great read and good understanding for many of us. Thanks again.
    CPU: Core i7 3770K @ 4.7 GHz
    Mobo: Gigabyte z77x-UDH5
    GPU: HIS IceQ X 7970
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133
    PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III Series 750W
    Cooling: NZXT Havik 140
    Case: Fractal Design Define R4 W/Window Arctic White
    SDD: Crucial M4 128 GB
    HDD:WD Caviar Black 1TB (Storage)
    OS: Windows 7 Professional

  9. #69
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Posts
    7,508
    Quote Originally Posted by DreadCthulhu View Post
    Actually I lied. I just reset the settings through the jumper and it still takes 2-3 attempts to boot.. That's weird. Shouldn't be the lack of power either, it's a 750W PSU.
    I would venture to say your board is FUBAR, RMA it or return for exchange.

  10. #70
    Member

    psionic98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    4th Floor office, East Coast
    Posts
    2,384
    1 - on initial post---bad factory setting.. resetting cmos helps usually or its a dead board
    2 - yes pull battery for 30seconds and replace
    3 - not sure, can post this in another thread on its own
    EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
    2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
    HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
    Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
    / Enermax 720 Modular
    HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
    HEAT
    i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
    / AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
    Recommended Power Supply Listing

  11. #71
    Registered jamsde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Bella Vista, AR
    Posts
    97

    Thumbs up Amazing guide, thanks!

    Wow what a very well written and informative guide, thank you so much for posting it! I just finished building an i920 system for gaming and will be using your guide to tune the overclocking. Thanks again! I'll post my results


    Jon

  12. #72
    Senior Member
    MIAHALLEN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    PNW
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by wickedout View Post
    Very nicely written. Great read and good understanding for many of us. Thanks again.
    Quote Originally Posted by jamsde View Post
    Wow what a very well written and informative guide, thank you so much for posting it! I just finished building an i920 system for gaming and will be using your guide to tune the overclocking. Thanks again! I'll post my results


    Jon
    Thanks for the positive comments guys....I'm glad we could help

    Please post your specific system related questions in a new thread. This thread should be for comments or questions about the guide only, thanks

  13. #73
    Senior Solid State Aficionado dominick32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,494
    MIAH, just took a gander at this on the homepage. Excellent review bro!

    Dom
    Next Level Hardware
    Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
    ...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
    crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

    Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
    Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

    This should help. :) Circa 2010

  14. #74

  15. #75
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5
    Hello ive been following this guide and i just have a question regarding vcore.
    Im using p55m-ud2 mobo + i3 btw. When im trying to tweak my vcore how do i increase it in increments of 0.025V? in the bios the only available options are 0.5V+, 0.550V+, etc. am i missing something here?

  16. #76
    Senior Solid State Aficionado dominick32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,494
    Quote Originally Posted by urasofty View Post
    Hello ive been following this guide and i just have a question regarding vcore.
    Im using p55m-ud2 mobo + i3 btw. When im trying to tweak my vcore how do i increase it in increments of 0.025V? in the bios the only available options are 0.5V+, 0.550V+, etc. am i missing something here?
    Dont worry my friend. This is just a general guideline more along the lines of "raise vcore how you feel comfortable doing it". If your motherboard only allows certain intervals than use the smallest interval offered.

    However, I think you may be wrong with your numbers. A bump of .50 is not possibly the smallest option on a mobo seeing that normal VID is between .98 and 1.3625 on Intel processors, so bumping up vcore .5 would essentially burn out your chip with too much heat and volts in one simple bump. lol So, I am assuming you mean .055v? Please make this correction before we proceed.

    Dom
    Next Level Hardware
    Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
    ...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
    crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

    Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
    Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

    This should help. :) Circa 2010

  17. #77
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by dominick32 View Post
    Dont worry my friend. This is just a general guideline more along the lines of "raise vcore how you feel comfortable doing it". If your motherboard only allows certain intervals than use the smallest interval offered.

    However, I think you may be wrong with your numbers. A bump of .50 is not possibly the smallest option on a mobo seeing that normal VID is between .98 and 1.3625 on Intel processors, so bumping up vcore .5 would essentially burn out your chip with too much heat and volts in one simple bump. lol So, I am assuming you mean .055v? Please make this correction before we proceed.

    Dom
    Sorry, I'm an idiot >_<. While looking at vcore in bios i assumed that every bump is added to the listedl cpu voltage (i.e. 1.103V + 0.50). The minimum number given was 0.50 which obviously means changing the voltage to 0.50 not actually bumping it by 0.50. Stupid mistake ! =[

  18. #78
    Northern Senior
    baditude_df's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, AB. CAN.
    Posts
    3,559
    What a fantastic Guide! It's really well laid out and an easy read.
    Thank you MIAH and all who contributed!

    But what's missing from this picture?
    Core i7 (Bloomfield i7 920, 940, 960, 965/975)
    :looks down at poor lonely 950:
    | Asus Gryphon Z97 | i7-4770k @ 3.70GHz |NH-U14S| ICD7 |Intel530 120G SSD
    | Saphire HD6870 1GB | Fractal Designs NewtonR3 600w|
    | Win7Ux64 | 16G Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 @ 7-8-8-24 & 1.5v

  19. #79

  20. #80
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    5
    After a couple weeks of using stock cpu speed i decided to try my hand at ocing but have run into some problems. Here is the build - core i3, p55m-ud2, arctic cooler f7 rev 2, 4gb kingston 1333 ddr3- 1.50V stock
    Right now my oc is sitting at
    3.65 ghz
    multiplier x22
    bclock 166
    vcore on cpu-z @ max load 1.072V
    @ bios 1.09v
    vtt - 1.20V or 1.10v (stock
    ram volts - 1.50V (should this ever be increased)

    I've pretty much followed your guide (ram timings, lowest multiplier,etc). I've found leaving the vtt stock while increasing vcore slightly to be just as successful as increasing the vtt and vcore.

    Anyways in an attempt to oc a little higher I've experimented by slowly increasing vcore, and bclock to 169,170,175 and it would boot then continue to restart eventually loading default settings if i do not go into the bios. The highest vcore i had was 1.25v @ 172. I'm not sure what the problem is, what are some numbers i should be testing out?
    i have not yet increased the ram voltage because i am not even sure if this should even be increased in the first place.
    Last edited by urasofty; 03-24-10 at 02:35 PM.

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •