Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. #21
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    79
    Does your PSU have enough juice for the card is it dying? and i dont think ive seen your specs posted here yet
    Case: Haf 932
    MB : Asus P6T
    CPU I7 920 D0 2.66 @ 3.5Ghz (21x167) at 1.2v
    Cooling: Noctua Nh d14
    RAM: Corsair Dominator 1600 6GB
    GPU: 2x XFX 5770's
    PSU: Corsair Hx1000w
    SSD: 1 64 Gb G.Skill Falcon (OS/Programs)
    HDD: 2x 500gb WD Black Raid0 (Games/Storage). 2 TB WD Green (Storage)
    OS: Win 7 ultimate

  2. #22
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12
    my specs are now up. no the card has plenty of juice. I have a crosair 750w psu! I already tried the uninstall of the drivers. I think it sucks to be the one who discovers that there is a compatibility issue with the board and the card. as I looked for the answer I found this problem in other forums. they also had no solution to their problem. oh and yes I once had my rig overclocked to 3.0ghz but since I updated the bios to my mobo for this card I have not got the overclocking right with this new bios

  3. #23
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,791
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Are you certain you have both power plugs plugged into the card? I know its a PCIe 1+ board but there shouldnt be any reason it wont work... But wow is that an old(er) board with an ancient chipset. Have you tried updating the chipset drivers?

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  4. #24
    Member bda1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,129
    Heatware Profile
    Get yourself a nice P45 MB for about $80 or so. I'll bet your issues will go away.
    i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
    Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
    Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
    Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
    BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
    FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
    Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

  5. #25
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Are you certain you have both power plugs plugged into the card? I know its a PCIe 1+ board but there shouldnt be any reason it wont work... But wow is that an old(er) board with an ancient chipset. Have you tried updating the chipset drivers?
    yes, and yes. I found that almost every one in the Asus forums with this mobo and the HD5870 are having similar problems. I think its time to update my mobo. any suggestions, thanks for the first (p45). I want to keep my Q6600, but I am willing to get a new i7 if i like the setup. I am tired of the hassle. time for a change. oh and I am keeping the HD 5870 as well.

  6. #26
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,791
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    You can get away with $100 mobo and your current setup (well maybe sell current ram and get 2x2gb sticks) for another year. To get into i7 you are looking at $425+ for mobo/cpu/ram...

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  7. #27
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12
    I could aford the i7 setup but I think I will just go with a solid 100 dollar board to make the wife happy. I feel much more relaxed now that I got a direction for this problem. I apreciate all the help guys/gals. I can't wait to get my new mobo. I will research all I can before I decide on a mobo that will work with my HD5870. My p5n-e sli did give me lots of problems early on as well when I first got it. It was tough to overclock on this board. Well thanks again everyone. Keep making hints on what I should get as a mobo.

  8. #28
    Younglin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, CANADA!
    Posts
    852

  9. #29
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12
    I got my new mobo!! I decided to go with this one http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...pf_rd_i=507846
    its the GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45. I installed it and it runs great with the original XFX RADEON HD 5870!!!!!. my old p5n-e sli is now retired(siting in a box till I build a spare pc). I cant wait to over clock my Q6600 past 3.0ghz! I could not get past it with the old mobo. thanks to all of you for your help. when I bought the new p45 i was givin free ram its Extreme Performance Gaming Series DDR2 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC2-8500 Enhanced Latency DIMM Kit!! it came with a free street fighter IV download!!! here is a link http://www.amazon.com/Extreme-Perfor...7308705&sr=1-5
    I did not get them from amazon, the link is just for info. I buy my stuff in a local mom and pop computer store. I want to update to windows 7 before I oc my cpu and gpu. I cant wait to test some games out!! excited!!

  10. #30
    Member jakeface1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    126
    Nice! I have the same you will be very happy with that mobo. Now I just need my 5870
    Mobo: Asus X79 Deluxe
    CPU: i7-4930k @ 4.6 Ghz
    Cooling: XSPC Rasa/RS360 Rad/MCR320-QP-K
    GPU: PowerColor AX7990
    PSU: EVGA Supernova 1300w
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw Z 16 gigs DDR3 1866
    HDD: 2 x OCZ Agility 4 256gig
    Case: MountianMods Custom
    Monitor: 2 - Dell sp2309w, Crossover 1440p
    Keyboard, Mouse: Rosewill blacks, Logitech G500
    Headset: Audio Technica a700

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •