Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered JMass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    19

    Small FFT stable, Blend Unstable ... Memory Suspect

    I had a previous post in the mobo subforum with
    regards to having high Vmch at a certain overclock and I decided to just
    start from scratch for the most part. I pass 20+ hours of Small FFTs on
    Prime95 and fail Blend test in about 11min with a rounding error. I
    suspect memory. No temperatures have exceeded 44C on any core during
    testing.

    I have run Memtest and Windows Memory Analyzer program and revealed no
    errors. I have run, MW:2 and WoW with no problems for a few days now
    while I attempt to tweak settings. The only issue is the rounding error
    in Prime95.

    ...and before you read the settings, yes I know my vcore is wicked low,
    and increasing it has not yet yielded positive results. I am always open
    to suggestions though.

    Below are my data: Memset, CPU-Z, and BIOS settings...
    (hardware is in my sig)

    Code:
    AI Tweaker
    Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
    CPU Ratio Setting: 8.0
    FSB Strap to North Bridge: Auto
    FSB Frequency: 400
    PCIE Frequency: 100
    DRAM Frequency: DDR3-1601
    DRAM Command Rate: 1N
    DRAM CMD Skew on Channel A: Normal 
    DRAM CMD Skew on Channel B: Normal
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    
    CAS# Latency: 7
    RAS# to CAS# Latency: 7
    RAS# to PRE Time: 7
    RAS# ACT Time: 20
    RAS# to RAS# Delay: Auto
    REF Cycle Time: Auto
    WRITE Recovery Time: Auto
    READ to PRE Time: Auto
    
    DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
    DRAM Dynamic Write Control: Disabled
    Ai Clock Twister: Moderate
    Ai Transaction Booster: Enabled Boost lvl: 1
    
    Voltage Settings
    CPU Voltage: 1.1875
    CPU GTL Voltage Reference: Auto
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.5
    FSB Termination Voltage: 1.10
    DRAM Voltage: 1.90
    NB Voltage: 1.25
    NB GTL Voltage Reference: Auto
    SB Voltage: 1.05
    Clock Over-Charging Voltage: Auto
    
    Load-Line Calibration: Enabled
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    
    Advanced > CPU Configuration
    CPU Ratio Setting: 8.0
    C1E Support: Disabled
    CPU TM Function: Enabled
    Vanderpool Technology: Disabled
    Execute Disable Bit: Enabled
    Max CPUID Value Limit: Disabled
    VID: 1.2375

    I've tried a number of things including changing the Strap settings and
    increasing the Vcore to 1.29, as well as raising the Vmch to roughly
    1.31, disabling LLC. Vdroop is around .03 or so, nothing crazy.


    (opening the link in a new page will give better resolution)
    Last edited by JMass; 02-23-10 at 12:19 AM.
    CPU/Mobo:-----Q9400 3.2Ghz (1.24v) / Asus P5E3 Pro
    DIMMs: ---------Mushkin 4Gb 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 (1.90v)
    Cooling/Case:--Xigmatek s1283 / Antec 902
    PSU/HDD(s) :--Corsair 750TX / 640G WD ScorpioB

    GPU:--------------XFX Radeon HD 5770

  2. #2
    SamSaveMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,186
    Some rams do not run at its specs very well. Try 787-20 and re-run Blend to see what happens. You could try to bump Dram voltage a notch like 1.92v

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    You should have just continued the thread you started in the Intel MB forum. I recommended settings for you to try when you were at 438MHz x 8, but you never responded to my specific settings suggestions. Only that you were able to bring down the vNB to 1.37V, and be Small FFT's stable in Prime for 8+ hrs. With a VID of 1.2375V, the Core Voltage as shown by CPU-Z needs to be at least equal to the VID while running Prime, so bump the Vcore to approx. 1.25 - 1.3V for the time being, and change these additional settings...

    Code:
    AI Tweaker
    Ai Overclock Tuner: Manual
    CPU Ratio Setting: 8.0
    FSB Strap to North Bridge: 333
    FSB Frequency: 400
    PCIE Frequency: 100
    DRAM Frequency: DDR3-1601
    DRAM Command Rate: 2N
    DRAM CMD Skew on Channel A: Normal 
    DRAM CMD Skew on Channel B: Normal
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    
    CAS# Latency: 7
    RAS# to CAS# Latency: 7
    RAS# to PRE Time: 7
    RAS# ACT Time: 20
    RAS# to RAS# Delay: Auto
    REF Cycle Time: Auto
    WRITE Recovery Time: Auto
    READ to PRE Time: Auto
    
    DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
    DRAM Dynamic Write Control: Disabled
    Ai Clock Twister: Auto
    Ai Transaction Booster: Auto
    
    Voltage Settings
    CPU Voltage: 1.25 - 1.30
    CPU GTL Voltage Reference: 0.63x
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.50
    FSB Termination Voltage: 1.14
    DRAM Voltage: 1.90
    NB Voltage: 1.40 - 1.45
    NB GTL Voltage Reference: 0.67x
    SB Voltage: 1.05
    Clock Over-Charging Voltage: Auto
    
    Load-Line Calibration: Enabled
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    
    Advanced > CPU Configuration
    CPU Ratio Setting: 8.0
    C1E Support: Disabled
    CPU TM Function: Enabled
    Vanderpool Technology: Disabled
    Execute Disable Bit: Enabled
    Max CPUID Value Limit: Disabled

  4. #4
    Registered JMass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Redduc, I bumped up the Vmch and VTT and ran for a few hours, then bumped the Vcore up to it's VID, the combination of the three seemed to have increased stability on the Blend test.
    Was a pipe dream trying to get the Vcore to run at 1.20
    Temps looked good for the 3 hour run before errors at a max 46C

    I'll do some more tweaking tonight and run it again and see if I can get a 24hr Blend stable config.
    CPU/Mobo:-----Q9400 3.2Ghz (1.24v) / Asus P5E3 Pro
    DIMMs: ---------Mushkin 4Gb 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 (1.90v)
    Cooling/Case:--Xigmatek s1283 / Antec 902
    PSU/HDD(s) :--Corsair 750TX / 640G WD ScorpioB

    GPU:--------------XFX Radeon HD 5770

  5. #5
    Registered JMass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    19
    Switching to 2N doesn't seem to make a difference in stability. The ram is rated to run at 1N anyway. I have been running the blend tests lately and I will have two cores (same die it would seem) fail the test after about 2 hours, but the 2 on the other die will run for 12+ hours.

    This is an obvious indication of a lack of Vcore, ya? So, I bumped it up to run at about 1.292 under load (LLC enabled,1.3065v in BIOS) but I get very random lock ups in which a grey or brown screen appears with vertical lines in it.

    The only changes I have made above are;

    VTT: 1.24
    Vmch: 1.31 (anything above 1.39 causes me to fail post for some reason)

    I dont have heat issues at all, I run no hotter than 44C under load on Prime and DIMMs are cool to the touch.

    I have recently added a PCIe wireless network adapter to compensate for my current router situation. I haven't been able to find anything that this might affect. Also, I was having some issues with my mouse 'jumping' around. At the same time my network card would pick up a signal, but all web based activites would return, server not found.

    So, I up'd the Southbridge Voltage which didnt seem to help on its own, but with a higher Vmch (1.35-1.37) the mouse and network adapter issue ceased.

    However, I still get the odd screen lock ups mentioned above. Not sure where to start honestly.
    CPU/Mobo:-----Q9400 3.2Ghz (1.24v) / Asus P5E3 Pro
    DIMMs: ---------Mushkin 4Gb 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 (1.90v)
    Cooling/Case:--Xigmatek s1283 / Antec 902
    PSU/HDD(s) :--Corsair 750TX / 640G WD ScorpioB

    GPU:--------------XFX Radeon HD 5770

  6. #6
    Registered JMass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    19
    Oh, I'd would also like to know where I can find information on where to start with assigning my own ram subtimings w/o letting the BIOS set it at Auto.
    How does one know what all the subtimings should be set at?

    I have no expertise to base this assumption on, but I feel as if alot of my stability issues I have had at higher FSBs have been RAM related.

    In addition, my system really doesn't like running on any other Strap setting than Auto. 200 is unstable, 333 is moderately stable, and 400 is unstable.
    CPU/Mobo:-----Q9400 3.2Ghz (1.24v) / Asus P5E3 Pro
    DIMMs: ---------Mushkin 4Gb 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 (1.90v)
    Cooling/Case:--Xigmatek s1283 / Antec 902
    PSU/HDD(s) :--Corsair 750TX / 640G WD ScorpioB

    GPU:--------------XFX Radeon HD 5770

  7. #7
    Registered JMass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    19
    Vcore: 1.24
    Vmch: 1.31
    VTT: 1.20
    Strap: 333

    1601 7-7-7-20-1N

    intel burn test stable using 2900 of 3100 available memory for 20 passes, max temp 55C.

    Oddly, fails Prime Blend on 1 core during the first iterations and the rest of the cores are good for 8+ hours.

    What's the deal there?
    CPU/Mobo:-----Q9400 3.2Ghz (1.24v) / Asus P5E3 Pro
    DIMMs: ---------Mushkin 4Gb 1600MHz 7-7-7-20 (1.90v)
    Cooling/Case:--Xigmatek s1283 / Antec 902
    PSU/HDD(s) :--Corsair 750TX / 640G WD ScorpioB

    GPU:--------------XFX Radeon HD 5770

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    Try setting both GTL Vref's to Auto, and bump the VTT from 1.2 / 1.24V to about 1.3V. Also change the Command Rate back to to 2N / 2T.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •