Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Newb question

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173

    Newb question

    I've gone through the FAQ sections and can't figure out why I'm only getting 2521 PPD out of an i7(w3520 OC @4.2 with HT on). I am using the -SRM 8 and -verbosity 9 flags. My GPU is getting 4000ppd.

    Thanks in advance

    Windows 7, 64 bit with 6 gig 1600mhz DDR3

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    All flags are lower case and it's -smp 8.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    The typos that I made were on this forum, not in the program. Would have been an easy fix. My cpu usage seems to peak around 60%. In the advanced settings, desired CPU usage is set to 100. My stock clock Q6600 on Vista 32 has been running at 100% right away.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    I uninstalled and tried again - looks to be working now. I hated to lose a days worth of folding...

    Edit:
    Looks like I make more mistakes at 1am. My CPU is still only running at 66% My guess would be there are other processes taking priority somewhere - any other guesses?
    Last edited by Sommelier; 03-04-10 at 07:50 AM.

  5. #5
    KGH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    820
    we need more infos
    screenshots and fahlog files please.
    Heatware: KGH
    Folding User Stats

  6. #6
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Posts
    6,453
    I am guessing you got an A1 WU. It doesn't handle them well. When it runs good its an A3 WU. Is that right? You can check your log.

    I stopped running the Windows client and switched to Linux in the VMware Player 3.0. That's where you'll get your highest production.(and avoid the time sucking A1's)
    -Bigadv A2's only available right now in Linux native or VM and OSx. See Chasr's Bigadv checklist in the sticky section for more info.

    Going by what Chasr has said it can't use 8 cores on the A1.

    and to the OC Forums!


    If they run out of A1's then you could stick with Windows.

    In the thread below more info.

    Quote Originally Posted by ChasR View Post
    I'm not sure I understand your set up, but here's what I know. a1 WUs are hard coded to run 4 processes. They can run no less or more. On a quad, they don't use 100% of the cpu due to inefficiency, but usually average around 80% of each core. -bigadv requires 8 physical or logical cores, which you don't have, at least as you describe the machine. To get a3 WUs you must have -advmethods set and for -bigadv WUs you can't have the -advmethods flag set, but that's moot on your machine anyway. WHich OS are you running?

    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=636412
    Last edited by dfonda; 03-04-10 at 02:11 PM.
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
    #2 Ubuntu 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
    Phones:Nexus 5(Love It) N4,N7, iphone5
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    Last Steam App Update..."Allow App to Magically start itself and login by itself" is on list of permissions!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    I am now running at 100% on an A3 WU - Project 6025. I found that 4000ppd on my system was slow dues to the 65% CPU load. I'm now at 100% load and HFM says I'm at 129.9ppd. What gives? I just clicked the "download projects from Stanford" as I saw in another thread. Min time/frame 00:31:53 - 520.4ppd; Avg 00:53:32 - 129.9ppd. It appears that each % is taking longer than the last. Is there something wrong with my rig or does HFM have the ppd wrong?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    Look at Task Manager and see if anything is stealing cpu cycles (windows Media player 11 is bad about using an entire core). You should be getting close to 3:00/frame, 18,000 ppd, if running correctly.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    Nothing taking cpu except my GPU client - ATI 5850, stock clocks and taking 11% or so and folding at 4k ppd. I just turned it off, just in case, now FahCore_a3.exe *32 is taking 99% of the CPU. FAH629.exe is taking 0%. With the A1 WU, IIRC, I had 4 instances of the FahCore running. Can I assume A3 cores only use one instance?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    I just changed my shortcut to start in a new empty directory. It gave me project 6012 this time and each % time(tpf?) is down to under 3 minutes. ppd is up to 17570. I started the GPU client and the A3 stopped being so quick. I haven't seen an A3 frame since I started the GPU client. GPU is still up at 4k. Anybody else having problems with an ATI GPU and A3 WU?

    edit/update: Turned off the GPU and restarted the A3 and all is well again with the A3 WU, just no ppd out of the gpu...
    Last edited by Sommelier; 03-05-10 at 01:35 PM.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    You can do one of two things.
    Add these environment variables:
    CAL_PRE_FLUSH = 1
    CAL_NO_FLUSH = 1
    BROOK_YIELD = 2
    FLUSH_INTERVAL = 128

    THat should reduce cpu usage to below 5%. Remove the affinity locks from both clients.

    Otherwise run the smp client with -smp 7 and the affinity lock removed from the SMP2 client and leave the GPU client locked.

    THe a3 core spawns threads which aren't shown by Task Manager while the a1 and a2 cores spawn processes which are.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    I did the enviro variables and I am at 21k ppd for the 5850 and cpu. I also have a 5670 with 1 gig DDR5. I haven't managed to get it to work as far as I can tell. Will running it take enough away from the CPU to not make it worth it?

    Thanks ChasR, in one day you've taken me from 4k to 21k ppd! Now to get the rest of my systems up...

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    You may find with the 5670 that you add 3000 ppd with the card and lose 2000 ppd on the SMP client. Not too good on the ppd/watt scale to net 1000 ppd at the wattage of the card. I don't have any ATi cards folding any more so I can't really tell you exactly what will happen.
    Last edited by ChasR; 03-06-10 at 03:42 PM.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    I just noticed I'm down to 11.2k ppd in HFM for the CPU and main GPU. TPF is 3:26 for SMP client and 3:09 for GPU client - working on P6012 and p5736 respectively. I did watch an hd movie (bluray) on this machine last night. I did notice it slowed down while playing. I have rebooted since. Not sure if there is anything you can recommend...

    edit:
    If I had the machine off for a few hours, is that the problem? Does it calculate ppd based on the full time, not just the time the machine is on? Benchmarks:

    Min. Time / Frame : 00:02:54 - 18,015.0 PPD
    Avg. Time / Frame : 00:03:27 - 13,883.6 PPD
    Cur. Time / Frame : 00:03:26 - 8,907.3 PPD
    R3F. Time / Frame : 00:03:25 - 8,950.7 PPD
    All Time / Frame : 00:03:29 - 8,779.4 PPD
    Eff. Time / Frame : 00:10:50 - 2,822.9 PPD
    Last edited by Sommelier; 03-06-10 at 02:29 PM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    Turning it off will greatly reduce production and HFM reports that close to correctly. THe WU on the gpu is also going to have an effect on SMP production.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    ChasR, you have been very gentle with your words. I get the feeling you have helped a lot of newbs like me and really believe in this cause.

    I didn't do a very good job of asking my question and I was under the impression that ppd was more like an instant speed, like that of a speedometer on a car. i.e. you might go 50 mph at some point in the day, it doesn't mean that you travel 1200 miles during that day.

    Any advice on any changes to the enviromental variables to optimize?

  17. #17
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    935
    It depends what you set HFM to read as (under preferences and options or something like that). If you set it to effective rate, it reads more of an accurate PPD for your folding habits. If you set it to last frame/last 3 frames, it reads as a speedometer would. I recommend best effort, as that most accurately predicts your real PPD which can be viewed at http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.8ghz, Corsair H80 cooler
    Asus M5A97 Vanilla
    2x4gig G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3-1866 @ DDR3-1600
    eVGA GTX670 2gb
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 8.1 Pro)
    Antec Three Hundred Case
    Antec TruePower New 750W Power Supply

    Dell Precision M4500- i5-540m, 8GB DDR3, 128GB Samsung 470 SSD, 240GB Crucial M500 mSATA SSD, BD-ROM/DVD-RW, Quadro FX 880m 1GB

    Heatware

  18. #18
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Posts
    6,453
    Quote Originally Posted by Sommelier View Post
    ChasR, you have been very gentle with your words. I get the feeling you have helped a lot of newbs like me and really believe in this cause
    Chasr=Gentle

    This is a first^hehehe I can't stop giggling!!

    Chasr you old TeddyBear....
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
    #2 Ubuntu 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
    Phones:Nexus 5(Love It) N4,N7, iphone5
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    Last Steam App Update..."Allow App to Magically start itself and login by itself" is on list of permissions!

  19. #19
    Member dylskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2,894
    Quote Originally Posted by dfonda View Post
    Chasr=Gentle

    This is a first^hehehe I can't stop giggling!!

    Chasr you old TeddyBear....
    Now I can't stop giggling..........
    i7 920 Classified X58 760
    eVGA GTX 680 4GB
    Gentle Typhoon 1850s
    12GB 6x2GB Corsair Dominator 1600
    500GB 840 EVO
    120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD - 1TB External HDD
    Silverstone OP1000 PSU
    2X X-Star DP2710 LED 2560x1440
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Heatware 126-0-0

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    ChasR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    7,368
    Quit laughing guys, I'm trying to reform my image.

    Som,
    Harlam has the bonus work unit calc taking into account when the WU was downloaded and projecting when it will be completed, based on the selection you make in HFM configuration. If you stop the client, that time is factored in to make the projection. So HFM puts up fairly accurate numbers on the bonus work production no matter how you set the calculation. Personally I use the 3 frame calc.

    You made 18,000+ ppd on the SMP client, so you have it fairly well optimized. I haven't tried this personally, but some folks with ATi cards report higher ppd running with -smp N-1 (-smp 7 in your case). The gpu affinity lock is left on and the smp affinity lock is turned off. By dedicating a logical core to the gpu, the impact on the SMP client is reduced. In my opinion, you shouldn't have to do this if priority and ATi environment variables are set correctly and the affinity lock is removed from the GPU client.

    If you really want to max ppd, you'll have to get an nVidia gpu, or wait and hope the new gpu client improves ATi performance (probably get Open CL into the client next year). All the nVidia cards from the 240 class up have the advantages of lower cpu utilization (improves SMP performance) and higher ppd than the fastest ATi cards.

    All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


    Folding User Stats

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •