• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SSD RAID 0 Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

prime81

Ok I took the leap and bought two OCZ Agility 60gb drives and plan to put them in RAID 0. My question is what operating system should I go with. I have XP x64 Pro, Vista ult 64bit, and win 7 ult 64bit. The other question is does it really matter which one I go with if its in RAID 0, I know for Trim support i have to run win7 but in RAID 0 i dont think trim is even available but I could be wrong, I'm a noob with SSD knowledge.

With my drives in raid-0 running win7 x64, Trim (GC) is automatically enabled.

Your best bet would be to use Win7 as it's not as bloated as Vista and a heckuva lot better than XP. Besides you don't need to install the Raid drivers (floppy method).

Ok I took the leap and bought two OCZ Agility 60gb drives and plan to put them in RAID 0. My question is what operating system should I go with. I have XP x64 Pro, Vista ult 64bit, and win 7 ult 64bit. The other question is does it really matter which one I go with if its in RAID 0, I know for Trim support i have to run win7 but in RAID 0 i dont think trim is even available but I could be wrong, I'm a noob with SSD knowledge.

your running raid-0 so it wont matter which os you go with. i would say win7 since out of the box the raid array can have the OS installed to. with XP you would need to install the raid drivers via floppy or have them slip-streamed in. since you are going to run raid, you MUST align the drive's partition to ensure you get the most out of the drives.

Trim= Single Drives
GC = Raided drives and OS's that dont support Trim