• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Upgrading, Q6600 or 9800gx2

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sephis

My rig is showing its age a bit, and I would like to give it an upgrade to pump out a little more RAC. It has a e6600 @3GHz or so, and a vid card that doesn't support CUDA.

There is a q6600 (should clock at least as fast as the duallie, right?) and a bfg 9800gx2 in the classifieds that I have been eying. Now, I don't really care about gaming or desktop performance. The duallie is plenty fast for surfing and listening to pandora, and the only games I play are TF2 and age of empires. Neither of those require powerhouse computers.

My question is, which of these will give me the biggest seti boost. It might be obvious to some, but I've never used the GPU crunching before, so I have no idea.

Edit: I would love to get both, but I don't think my 520W corsair could push them.

Last edited:
Sephis, that Corsair should be able to push both. That is a quality psu and since you are building this as a 24/7 cruncher, I am assuming that you won't push for a max overclock on either cpu or vid card, but rather a good steady overclock that doesn't push the parts to the very limits. After all, you need stability more than the last ounce of speed. And seeing that you are just running your old E6600 at 3 GHz, I am assuming that you operate that way. My old E6600 I used to have would run much faster than that, but would run at 3.0 without even having to bump up vcore. And every Q6600 I have ever messed with would run at 3.0 with stock vcore too. That's an easy overclock; set the fsb to 333 and set the correct memory speed and reboot.