Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    Missing 80 gigs on hard drive

    Just had windows vista 64bit installed windows 7 64bit started from fresh wiped out all my files and I had like over 150 gigs missing so I looked into it and I found out deleteing ur windowsold helped so I deleted that and now im missing 80 gigs my new windows folder takes up like 18 gigs I think so i know windows 7 takes up memory but 80 gigs worth? I am missing memory how can I get it back I already did a disk clean up and defrag and that really didnt even give me anything new. Is there somthing im missing or can do???

  2. #2
    Member tinymouse2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Well what HDD do you have? Have you ticked "show all hidden files and folders"?
    Sound setup:
    Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
    Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
    Sound Card: Asus D2X


    Computer:
    q9550 @ 3.8GHz
    GTX460 @ stock

  3. #3
    Honestly Im not sure what HDD i have I have probably looked it up and forgot about it. Yeah I did the show all hidden files and folder but that still wasnt even 80 gigs I think it was just an extra 2 gigs if that If i remember right. I dont know why it didnt give me a fresh install I clicked custom install and it said it will remove all my old files and programs this is quite frusterating. 80 gigs is alot of memory to not have.

  4. #4
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Download a program called WINDIRSTAT, it will help you find out where your space went...

    This is a direct download link for you.

  5. #5
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    It sounds like shadow copy making its backup.

    Right click your hard drive and click "Properties". Go to the "Previous Versions" tab and see if there is any listed.

    You can disabled it by right clicking "Computer", clicking "Properties", clicking "Advanced System Settings" and going to the "System Protection" tab.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  6. #6
    Member TheCheat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    If your using the HD spec as a reference for amount of space you're expecting, then you need to read up a bit on what happens when you format the hard drive. There is a difference between non formatted space and formatted space.

    If this is not the case, take a snippet of your main HD and post it on here. We can help you and narrow it down from there.
    Corsair 600T - i5 2500 - Asus Maximus V Gene - 8GB Ram - EVGA 560 Ti 448cores - 240GB Mushkin SSD - 1 TB WD HD - Seasonic X750 GOLD - Blu-ray - Dell 2407FPW + Dell U2412M
    Dell XPS 16 - i7 720 - 8GB Ram - AMD 5730 1GB - WD 500GB HD - Blu-ray

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeteck View Post
    Download a program called WINDIRSTAT, it will help you find out where your space went...

    This is a direct download link for you.
    So i can use this program to see where my space is going then delete those files right?

  8. #8
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Quote Originally Posted by yzfspecvr6 View Post
    So i can use this program to see where my space is going then delete those files right?

    Well, yes... But be careful.... If its an application, it must be uninstalled...

  9. #9
    Member Mpegger's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by TheCheat View Post
    If your using the HD spec as a reference for amount of space you're expecting, then you need to read up a bit on what happens when you format the hard drive. There is a difference between non formatted space and formatted space.

    If this is not the case, take a snippet of your main HD and post it on here. We can help you and narrow it down from there.

    There is no difference between a formatted or unformatted drive. The "difference" you see is the misrepresentation of the volume size by the OS because its (the OS) is using the incorrect suffix to state the size. However, if the OS did infact use the correct suffix, then the volume stated would be correct.

    Example:

    WD 640GB HDD contains 640,132,575,232 bytes (more then 640GB by 132MB).

    Windows misrepresents the total size as 596GB.

    GB=1000^3

    It should actually state 596GiB.

    GiB=1024^3

    640GB = 640,000,000,000 bytes

    596GiB = 639,950,127,104 bytes

    596GB = 596,000,000,000 bytes

    596GB =/= (596GiB = 600GB)




    Since your using Windows, simply goto "Windows Explorer", right click on the actual drive itself (for example ( C: )) and choose "Properties". The screen that opens up will give you the correct total space in bytes just above the pie chart. You can simply use the first group of number(s) before the comma and add 'GB' to that to see what your actual total drive space is (which would match whats stated on the HDD itself).

    Now if your actually "missing" HDD space because of other issues (hidden partition? incorrectly partitioned? system backups?), what the others have stated are things that can help you look into it.
    Main: NZXT Switch 810 | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | i7 4790K| 32GiB | 780Ti
    ESXi Server: Lackrack Enterprise Edition | Dell R710 | 2 x Xeon X5570 | 96GiB | 14(28)TB ZFS-Raid10

    -----------------------------
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

    (Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
    Heatware

  10. #10
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    on a calculator do this; <drive size> x .932 = <formatted size>

    1500 = 1.398 gig
    1000 = 932 gig
    750 = 699 gig
    640 = 596.48 gig
    500 = 466 gig
    400 = 372.8 gig
    320 = 298.24 gig
    250 = 233 gig
    160 = 149.12 gig

  11. #11
    Member Mpegger's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeteck View Post
    on a calculator do this; <drive size> x .932 = <formatted size>
    Stating it this way would still make it sound as if there is actual storage space lost when formatting. I think a more correctly termed formula would be:

    <decimal size> x .932 = <binary size>

    Decimal being 1000^x; KB, MB, GB, TB, etc.

    Binary being 1024^x; KiB, MiB, GiB, TiB, etc.
    Main: NZXT Switch 810 | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | i7 4790K| 32GiB | 780Ti
    ESXi Server: Lackrack Enterprise Edition | Dell R710 | 2 x Xeon X5570 | 96GiB | 14(28)TB ZFS-Raid10

    -----------------------------
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

    (Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
    Heatware

  12. #12
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Offtopic guys, pull it back on track please.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  13. #13
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Quote Originally Posted by Mpegger View Post
    Stating it this way would still make it sound as if there is actual storage space lost when formatting. I think a more correctly termed formula would be:

    <decimal size> x .932 = <binary size>

    Decimal being 1000^x; KB, MB, GB, TB, etc.

    Binary being 1024^x; KiB, MiB, GiB, TiB, etc.

    Which ever, the answer is still the same...

  14. #14
    Member threeme2189's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Drowning my sorrow and misery in apple juice
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    Offtopic guys, pull it back on track please.
    Why exactly are they offtopic?

    The above poster states that he/she has "lost" 80 GB of HD space in one way or another.

    I too read the thread title and immediately thought that he/she has misinterpreted the whole 1024 bits vs 1000 bits in a byte thing that makes it seem like our drives are never the size that's written on the box.
    My Rig:
    HOT Athlon XP 2600 T-Bred :: GA-7M400M Gigabyte Mobo
    Asus 9600XT OC from 500/300@580/360 stock! :: 512 MB 333Mhz Spektek Ram
    Crappy 80 Gig HDD :: Sony CD Burner/dvd drive + CD drive

    If You'll Excuse Me, I Have A Beam Of Light To Catch.

  15. #15
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    whats the size of the hd you have.

    and have you turned off system restore to get rid of all the unnecessary restore points?
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  16. #16
    Member MasterCraft's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wonderland
    Quote Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
    whats the size of the hd you have.

    and have you turned off system restore to get rid of all the unnecessary restore points?


    So I'm having the same problem, let me elaborate through pics and see if this is his problem as well. This was all done on a fresh install of windows 7.


    I have a 500g Seagate model "STS3500320AS"




    as you can see the drive reports 375GB free of 465GB. a difference of 90GB.

    However when I index the C drive for total used space...




    It reports only 20.6GB space used. in other words, where is the other 69.4GB

    This isn't a 1024 vs 1000 issue. I think the OP is in the same boat, hopefully this makes it a bit more clear.
    Last edited by MasterCraft; 05-06-10 at 02:39 PM. Reason: Fixed links to pics.
    CPU = Intel Core I7 4790K @ 4.5Ghz - 100x45 1.25vcore
    MB = MSI Z97 Gaming 7
    RAM = Corsair Vengeance v1.43 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
    VGA = SLI 2x PNY GeForce GTX 760's
    HD = Crucial 256GB primary and raid 5 storage array
    PSU = CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W

  17. #17
    Member MasterCraft's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wonderland
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    It sounds like shadow copy making its backup.

    Right click your hard drive and click "Properties". Go to the "Previous Versions" tab and see if there is any listed.

    You can disabled it by right clicking "Computer", clicking "Properties", clicking "Advanced System Settings" and going to the "System Protection" tab.


    I didn't even see this post, Bravo.


    This was my issue.
    CPU = Intel Core I7 4790K @ 4.5Ghz - 100x45 1.25vcore
    MB = MSI Z97 Gaming 7
    RAM = Corsair Vengeance v1.43 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
    VGA = SLI 2x PNY GeForce GTX 760's
    HD = Crucial 256GB primary and raid 5 storage array
    PSU = CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W

  18. #18
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by MasterCraft View Post
    So I'm having the same problem, let me elaborate through pics and see if this is his problem as well. This was all done on a fresh install of windows 7.


    I have a 500g Seagate model "STS3500320AS"




    as you can see the drive reports 375GB free of 465GB. a difference of 90GB.

    However when I index the C drive for total used space...




    It reports only 20.6GB space used. in other words, where is the other 69.4GB

    This isn't a 1024 vs 1000 issue. I think the OP is in the same boat, hopefully this makes it a bit more clear.
    As I said:

    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    It sounds like shadow copy making its backup.

    Right click your hard drive and click "Properties". Go to the "Previous Versions" tab and see if there is any listed.

    You can disabled it by right clicking "Computer", clicking "Properties", clicking "Advanced System Settings" and going to the "System Protection" tab.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  19. #19
    Member MasterCraft's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wonderland
    See above.
    CPU = Intel Core I7 4790K @ 4.5Ghz - 100x45 1.25vcore
    MB = MSI Z97 Gaming 7
    RAM = Corsair Vengeance v1.43 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
    VGA = SLI 2x PNY GeForce GTX 760's
    HD = Crucial 256GB primary and raid 5 storage array
    PSU = CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W

  20. #20
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Aww, you beat me to it, no problem. Now I just wish the original poster would read my comment.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •