Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8

    swapping out video cards in oc'd system

    I am about to buy a custom-built i7 930 X58 mobo system from CyberPowerPC or Digital Storm. The company will overclock the CPU by "20%" before shipping the system to me. The video card will not be overclocked.
    They don't offer the video card I need (GeForce GTX 285). Should I be able to swap out their video card with a GTX 285 without messing up the overclocking of the CPU AND without needing to make any changes in the overclock setup or any special setup regarding the GTX 285? Neither the original video card nor the new GTX 285 will be overclocked.
    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Member tinymouse2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    2,330
    Why not ATI? Much better value for money.

    Other than that you won't have any problem at all.
    The GPU isn't affected by a CPU overclock and vice versa.
    Sound setup:
    Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
    Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
    Sound Card: Asus D2X


    Computer:
    q9550 @ 3.8GHz
    GTX460 @ stock

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks.
    The main purpose of the system is to use Adobe Premiere Pro CS5, which only supports a handful of CUDA video cards for special GPU acceleration (which makes a huge difference). ATI doesn't use CUDA. The GTX 285 is the cheapest supported card but will work wonders.
    So no matter what video card the system comes with and no matter how they OC the CPU, I can swap out video cards without needing to change anything? Same deal for potentially adding a sound card later?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Posts
    5,734
    What is the video card that is going to come with the computer?
    If it's nvidia, it wouldn't be to difficult. It should recognize the card and reset the drivers.
    If it's an ATI, then the process is a little more detailed. You'll have to un-install the drivers/software, then imo run a drivercleaner/drivesweeper to eliminate the rest of the ati stuff.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  5. #5
    Member JonEapples's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Vacaville, California
    Posts
    255
    As long as the the CPU is overclocked in the BIOS and not through software, you should be fine.
    Intel Core i5-750 @4.0GHz
    Gigabyte P55A-UD3
    Corsair 2x4GB DDR3 2000
    EVGA GTX 580
    Corsair TX750W
    Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
    Cooler Master Stacker STC-T01
    Samsung T260 LCD

    My Heat

  6. #6
    Badbonji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    3,524
    I thought CUDA was supported by the 8800 series also? What PSU is included in the system? The only thing that might make the pc unstable is if it is not sufficient for graphics card upgrade. You might need Driver cleaner to get rid of old drivers if it came with a ATI card also.
    i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | GTX 980 | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
    i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | HD5450 | M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
    MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz

  7. #7
    Premium Member #28
    ScottinIndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Western Arkansas
    Posts
    1,776
    IIRC Cyberpower uses alot of Raidmax and Apevia cases, You really want to be careful and make sure the power supplies are not Raidmax or Apevia, Simply put, They are not good and I would not trust them to run any system let alone a high end system.
    ****************************************

    Phenom II 1045T, Gigabyte MA790XT,CM 212 EVO, Corsair Vengence 1600 2x4 gigs,EVGA SC GTX 660,Patriot Torqx 64 gig SSD,Seagate 320 Hd, Corsair 520HX,S.B Extreme Music, Antec 300 Illusion case. Windows 7 64bit HP 23" IPS Panel

    ****************************************

  8. #8
    Member tinymouse2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    2,330
    If you want Cuda go for a 250 or a 260 and invest in a much nicer PSU like Scottin said.

    Also I thought this was an overclocked bundle not a whole computer sorry. Should be as easy as un-installing the old drives and installing the Nvidia ones if it comes with an ATI card or just installing new drivers if an Nvidia card.
    Sound setup:
    Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
    Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
    Sound Card: Asus D2X


    Computer:
    q9550 @ 3.8GHz
    GTX460 @ stock

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •