Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2004

    AMD Phenom II X4 965 vs AMD Phenom II X6 1055T

    So the question is simple, which one is better for gaming

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103727

    or

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-851-_-Product

    Nothing out there uses 4 core now yet alone 6 core. With the motherboard I am getting I could easily update to 6core in the future if needed. Which would you get to overclock and game.

  2. #2
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis MO
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    Actually a lot of things use 4 cores, and more. Anything that is coded in multi-threaded applications (which is a lot) will scale up to the maximum cores enabled by Vista (mostly).

    It comes down to this: What exactly are you doing with this computer? Are you doing a lot of programming, video editing, media editing, etc? Or are you gaming?
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    create your own rules to find the answer
    be proud of the pink stars
    Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.



  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    I will be doing alot of gaming but chances of coding and photo editing in the future when I go back to school

  4. #4
    I once overclocked an Intel
    in a nightmare and
    it was HORRIBLE Senior



    OCF's Plaything
    Dolk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis MO
    Author Profile Benching Profile
    965 if your short on cash

    1055T if you have it, and want future support
    (╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
    currently has .2738428927348 internets
    create your own rules to find the answer
    be proud of the pink stars
    Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.



  5. #5
    Member Pvt.Dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR
    dolks got the right idea but remember when gaming its all about clock speed after you get past 2 cores the higher the better for gaming.
    Main Rig
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

    Server
    CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5

  6. #6
    Member ytpconquer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Davis, CA
    how well do the 1055s OC compared to the 965BE? Considering the 1055T is not a BE does that tend to make other components more of a factor in higher clocks?
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
    Intel i5-2500K @ 4.5Ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212+
    4x2 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
    EVGA 660Ti FTW
    WD Caviar Black 640GB, 1TB
    Antec HCG-900 900W
    Antec 900 Two


    Heatware

  7. #7
    You might consider the AM3 Regar at 3.1G and 2x 1M cache.
    Those big caches help for gaming and dual cores are still great for encoding.
    Later get one of the 32nm Beasts!
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-844-_-Product
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  8. #8
    Member col_sanders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA-PA
    Heatware Profile
    Cant go wrong there if you trying to save cash. I got an Athlon II x2 245 regor running 3.9 GHz with ease (then put it back to stock since I was giving it to my mom for email and surfing). But newer games coming out are actually supporting multi-core processors and you would definitely benefit from a quad or hex core chip (DiRT2, GRiD, arma2, metro2033 and others)
    ---Main/Folding/BOINC/Folding/Server---
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T CPU: Xeon E5450 CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 CPU: 2x Opty275
    MB: ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB: eVGA nforce 790i SLI FTW MB: MSI K9N6PGM2-V2 MB:HP Proliant DL385
    GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 460 + 1x EVGA GTX295 GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 260 GFX: Onboard

    Heat

  9. #9
    e6600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    i honestly never liked the 965 all too much.. it just doesnt warrant a good enough oc over the 955 to justify the price difference

    the 1055t is a really nice cpu for the money

  10. #10
    Member Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Deadford OR
    a for instance for games..

    as of 5/18/2010 WoW supports up to 8 cores
    http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...cId=1778017311

    link shows you how to modify configuration incase auto detect fails on # of cores are in the system. i had to manually change it on both my windsor and my tri.

    and considering the age of wow (even though its constantly updated) theres probably alot more with multi threading than you think

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •