Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    ON, CA
    Posts
    1,274

    Is there any way to configure power management...

    ...to turn off the spinners (say after idle for 30min) but not the ssd's (never turn off) in a computer using Win7 x64?
    Last edited by Psykoikonov; 05-23-10 at 10:06 AM.

  2. #2
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    spinners = fans I assume?

    you dont want to stop the fans but not shut to PC down..
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  3. #3
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,443
    SPinners = Mechanical HDD's. But I dont see the point in doing so.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    ON, CA
    Posts
    1,274
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    SPinners = Mechanical HDD's. But I dont see the point in doing so.
    From my understanding for GC to work the SSD's need to remain at idle for extended periods of time, so I was looking for a way to let the mechanicals sleep while doing so. I checked powercfg ? with no luck also dug in the registry a bit found a couple things that might do it but didn't want to much about. Otherwise I'll just set them to power down after 30min and once a week or so disable the power down for GC to work. No sense making my mechanicals spin 24/7.

  5. #5
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,443
    If you want GC to run, enable your sleep states or put it in the bios/logon screen.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    ON, CA
    Posts
    1,274
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    If you want GC to run, enable your sleep states or put it in the bios/logon screen.

  7. #7
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,443
    Pain I know... sorry I cant answer your question directly. But just know that a HDD and SSD have nothing to do with each other as far as TRIM and GC really...If your HDD's are spun up GC/TRIM will still run on an SSD.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •