Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi

    Stdrt.exe Virus. Can't get rid of it.

    I don't know where i got this one either, but i've had it before, and i completely forgot how i got rid of it. It's just a program that uses 13% of the CPU constantly, and downloads basically nothing non-stop. It downloaded 20GB in a little over 4 hours, and it's driving my bandwidth meter through the roof.

    It's claiming that it's Windows Media Center, but, i don't even have that on my computer (Removed it to save space on the SSD).

    Has anyone had this, and know how to get rid of it? AVG won't find it, Malwarebytes won't, Windows Defender won't... nothing i can think of will
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  2. #2
    Member King107s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Heatware Profile
    Have you tried spybot search and destroy run as admin in safemode? Do you have a regular, up to date antivirus program installed and running?

    Have you checked this out yet?
    http://greatis.com/blog/how-to-remov...-stdrt-exe.htm
    Seems to have some good info on what files and registry entries to remove and looks like they have an app as well. Safe mode time

    Found this on http://www.virus-com.com/viruscom/viruscom_83208.html
    stdrt.exe remove instruction

    1. Temporarily Disable System Restore, Reboot computer in SafeMode;

    2. Locate stdrt.exe virus files and uninstall stdrt.exe files program. Follow the screen step-by-step screen instructions to complete uninstallation of stdrt.exe.

    3. Delete/Modify any values added to the registry related with stdrt.exe,Exit registry editor and restart the computer;

    4.Clean/delete all stdrt.exeinfected file(s):stdrt.exe and related,or rename stdrt.exe virus files;

    5.Please delete all your IE temp files with stdrt.exe manually,run a whole scan with antivirus program

    raidh0st.exe
    raidhosst.exe
    ytd4.exe
    svcgoost.exe
    STReLjaSTVo.exe
    svchos t.exe
    svchos t.exe
    tdll.dll
    vistaxpupgrade.exe
    etdlcyin.dll
    fdrpage.dll
    fgtdipod.sys
    fnts~1netdde.exe
    fwsgtdgu.dll
    hcrtdceq.dll
    hikbentd.dll
    hthatd.dll
    idplist.dll
    infsvchost.exe
    instbeta.exe
    ipxrtdde.dll
    isafeaddrhelper.dll
    kbdru32.dll
    hotndrtfq.exe
    hsiqdrbmb.exe
    istojjouk.dll
    svcoost.exe
    fvgqtdong.dll
    jsthsqw.dll
    wstdecodq.exe
    _voidoitdgxlgpj.dll
    alilandrybypatio2.exe
    triuni_ver_cguninst.ex��
    windowstime.exe
    ctast.dll
    odre.exe
    trustdoctor.exe
    asksearchasst.exe
    drl.exe
    uwtdapog.sys
    Last edited by King107s; 06-16-10 at 10:38 AM.
    CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz on H2O
    MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
    RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
    VC Cross Fire 2x Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1000/1500
    SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
    PSU Corsair AX1200
    Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
    Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue

  3. #3

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Install http://www.malwarebytes.org/

    Keep pressing F8 to boot into Safe Mode of the infected PC, then install Malwarebytes and run a full scan.
    Reboot normally (not into Safe Mode), update Malwarebytes, then run it again.


    Maybe try using Avira Antivir http://www.free-av.com/en/download/1...antivirus.html because it has been known to have better definitions and more importantly more zero day definitions than most if not all other antivirus programs.

  4. #4
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    Yeah, i've tried AVG, Malwarebytes, SP, and everything i can possibly think of.

    Let me try that real quick. If it wasn't for that fact that it's downloading so much "nothing" i'd just leave it alone, but it is, and that's going to cost me money after a while.
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    oh my god, I have this virus too. It's playing crazy music and taking up 20% resource. oh, god help me. please. it is not windows media center

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    I have encountered this process also. I have Win7 Ult x64 I noticed when I had UAC off one time, Windows Media Center popped up in Volume control and was muted and it used up around 500MB of my RAM. With UAC on it only uses about 12MB. Also WMC Doesn't show up either. I have Webroot Antivirus on here and I have Webroot and Panda on another hard drive with Win XP. Both haven't found anything so I don't know. Maybe try running from XP and use Malwarebytes. I'll post back with my resolve.

  7. #7
    Member King107s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Heatware Profile
    LOL Read my post... it just might help you.
    CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz on H2O
    MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
    RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
    VC Cross Fire 2x Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1000/1500
    SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
    PSU Corsair AX1200
    Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
    Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue

  8. #8
    Member decoste007xt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Backup, reformat, reinstall! Takes me 35minutes, but i keep backups of all my files on 2 , 2TB externals =)
    To the Max!!!

    i7 920 4.23 ghz
    EVGA FTW 3 SLI/Crossfire
    x2 5770 Crossfire (900/1350)
    3x2GB G.Skill Trident Ram 2020MHz 8-8-8-22
    x2 500GB WD Blue HD
    x1 60GB OCZ Vertex 2
    Coolmaster V8 CPU Cooler
    850W Silverstone Strider Modular PSU
    Corsair D800 Case! (*DROOLS*)

  9. #9
    orion456's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Use msconfig in a command box and see if you have windows media sharing service listed under non-microsoft services; "unknown" services. Try turning that service off and reboot. Some are reporting this service uses up to 20% of bandwidth continually.
    P4 -Opteron 6274, 2.6ghz, 32gb, CoolerMaster 212+
    -- W3570 @ 3.8 P6TD on Swiftech H20-220
    -- QX9650 P5K-E on Swiftech H20-220 water, ATI 3870, G.Skill PC 8500.



    The only thing for sure, is that nothing is for sure!

  10. #10
    Trashcan Man Member
    KonaKona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Where computers go to die
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    If you want to hunt it down manually you can go get process explorer. You should be able to find the location of the .exe file and delete/rename it to keep it from running.
    Member of the MOAR VOLTS™ club.

  11. #11
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    Quote Originally Posted by decoste007xt View Post
    Backup, reformat, reinstall! Takes me 35minutes, but i keep backups of all my files on 2 , 2TB externals =)
    My user profile and everything is stored on my 1TB internal drive now. I just wiped the SSD, reinstalled Windows, and then pointed it to my old user profile, and it's working great now
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Guthrie
    where did the virus comr from...any ideah?
    asus crosshair formula 3 w/ek full board silver/acetal water block
    pc&p silencer 750
    x4-965 w/ek hf supreme full copper water block
    mcp655vario/rx480rad/swifty microres x2each
    xfx 6970
    2x4gig muskin 787 24 1600
    mushkin callisto 60gig ssd
    wd velociraptor 300
    wd 1tb
    seagate 1tb
    sum dvd burner
    case NZXT zero

  13. #13
    Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name CompuTamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brandon Mississippi
    No clue. I've had it before, but forgot how i removed it.

    I'm pretty sure that someone else who i've let use my computer got it for me. I never get my own viruses; if i do, there's not enough of an OS left over to even bother trying to fix.
    Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
    Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
    Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
    8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
    60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
    Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
    BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
    XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
    Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
    Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
    Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
    Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

  14. #14
    Member King107s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Heatware Profile
    Probably someone like my wife who will click 'YES' to any window that pops up.... I was standing next to her using one of my laptops and a notification/warning window popped up and she just clicked yes and moved on without even reading it. I said "what was that? What did it Say?" Shes replies "I don't know... I just clicked it" Ughhhhh!
    CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz on H2O
    MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
    RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
    VC Cross Fire 2x Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1000/1500
    SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
    PSU Corsair AX1200
    Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
    Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue

  15. #15
    That is one nasty virus indeed. I had it on my office Win7 install and don't know how it got there. Never run IE save to download Firefox the one time.

    The only thing I can think of as to how it got on that computer was that I did not update Flash right away when there was the known exploit for it and it might have gotten in via that.
    Desktop: AMD A8-5500, ECS A75F2-A2, Geil PC3-12800 8G, Powercolor 5670, Intel 520 SSD, Seagate 500G, Corsair CX430, Corsair 200R.
    Server/HTPC: Biostar NM70I-847 w/Intel Celeron 847, Rosewill RS-MI-01.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Quote Originally Posted by CompuTamer View Post
    Yeah, i've tried AVG, Malwarebytes, SP, and everything i can possibly think of.

    Let me try that real quick. If it wasn't for that fact that it's downloading so much "nothing" i'd just leave it alone, but it is, and that's going to cost me money after a while.



    I'm pretty sure you haven't tried this one -> ComboFix.

    Try downloading the latest version and run it. This will reboot your PC at least once or twice and after that you're good. You don't need to download the recovery console if it asked for it, just say No to that and it will continue with the batch jobs.

    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com...a/ComboFix.exe


    I only use this one if malwarebytes cannot resolve the issue and it seems like you have the same scenario.


    Hope this one helps.

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    it seems to only load when i start Xfire, has anyone else noticed this?

    cheers

  18. #18
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Quote Originally Posted by decoste007xt View Post
    Backup, reformat, reinstall!
    QFT.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  19. #19
    Use processhacker (way better than processx RIP) and try autoruns too as it can delete all kinds of stuff from starting up.
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/processhacker/
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb963902.aspx
    The trick is in locating it after it's running so that it can be deleted. If it's hidden in xfire I'd try and reinstall that. Sounds like you need to be more careful who you 'play' with. just kidding
    OS: Win7 Pro x64
    Monitors: LG 225P56HQ-P & Vizio M492i-B2
    Case: CoolerMaster Silencio 352 (micro/mini)
    Mobo: Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+ mini
    Cpu: AMD A10-7850K @4.5Ghz, Radeon R7, Coolermaster Nepton 120XL
    Power: Rosewill Photon-550 & a CyberPower 850AVR ups
    Mem: G.Skill TridentX ddr3 2400 2x8gb
    Hd's: Samsung 840 evo 120gb msata (os), 2x2tb & a 320gb sata's
    Sound: Audioengine; A5+ spkrs, S8 sub, D1 dac
    Dvd: Memorex ext. usb 8x slim multi
    Keyboard: Max Nighthawk X8 cherry mx brown blue backlit
    [/SIZE]

  20. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    stdrt.exe defeated

    As you may have experienced, the directories in Windows\Temp, containing stdrt, keep coming back at boot time.

    Using TaskInfo immediately after boot, I found that regw2.exe, in the system32 directory, starts stdrt at boot time. Then regw2.exe shuts down. Delete these two modules and all references in the registry. Worked for me!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •