• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Trying to install Thermalright True

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

iskatefast

Registered
So last night I took everthing apart to install my new Thermalright True rev.c and I found a little problem. I removed the stock cooler and the cpu seems to be glued to the cooler???? This is my first build , so I don't know if this is normal, but I have no clue how to get the stock cooler and the cpu apart..???

Is the computer pre built or did you build it yourself? When pulling it out, did it give you much resistance? If it did you might have damamgrd the socket by yanking it out.

they're not glued, that is thermal paste, it improves heat transfer (and you need some more to replace the stuff that's on there, metal doesn't mount to metal). You can get it off pretty easy with a rag and some isoproply (or any alcohol really, I've used an axe spray deodorant sampler before...just make sure it's rubbing alcohol, not ethyl). The stock stuff should come off if you just pull on it a little.

should looks something like this once you pull it off. http://www.leekaelin.co.uk/downloads/Forum Pics/TechSpot/Dell_vostro420_cpu_holes.JPG

Like has been said, it's the Thermal Interface material that is bonding the old heatsink to the processor. Give it a little side to side twisting motion and it should loosen up the grip it has on the proc. And ethyl alcohol will work to clean it too, but is a waste of good drinking alcohol.:rofl: