Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Marcos, Texas

    MSI 870A-G54 vcore grayed out

    I just built a new system with a Phenom II X2 555 BE and an MSI 870A-G54. The extra cores unlocked successfully and even make it into Windows at 3.8 GHz and stock voltage, but the system crashes as soon as Prime95 starts running. The problem is, all the voltage settings in the BIOS are grayed out and set to auto. I can't for the life of me figure out how to change them! The only way to get a different voltage is to enable the OC Genie, but it sets the voltages to ridiculous levels and still won't let me change them as I please. Anyone know what the deal is? I already updated the bios to no avail.

  2. #2
    Member Awptex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Canada, sk ,regina
    Can you change the voltages in windows?
    CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 @ 4017MHz | MB: Asus M4A88TD-V EVO USB3 |
    GFX: EVGA GTX 470 SC | Ram: Corsair Dominator XMS3 4X1 1800Mhz 7-7-7-20 |
    PSU: Cooler Master 1250W | Cooling: CNPS Performa |
    Display1: Asus VE248 | Display2: Asus AL1916W |
    SSD: 60GB OCZ Vertex 2 | HDD1: 500GB WD | HDD2: 500GB WD | Case: Antec Gaming Twelve Hundred |
    Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow | Mouse: Razer DeathAdder |
    Sound Card: X-FI Titanium Pro | Headset: Siberia V2 |
    Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit

  3. #3
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Could you change the vcore before you unlocked the cores, i.e., was that bios item active then? If so, undo the unlock and try changing the vcore before unlocking them again.
    CPU: i7 4790k@4.7 ghz/1.285 vcore and Ring Ratio set to 43x
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X UD3H
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 but running it at 1866 CL9
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1 tb spinner

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Marcos, Texas
    Thanks for the replies, but I made a dumb, dumb mistake. I used the +/- keys that are above the letters on the keyboard to try to change the voltages, rather than the +/- keys on the num pad. At least if anyone else makes the same silly mistake they can search it!

  5. #5
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    If that's the dumbest thing you've done lately you're doing okay. Glad you got it figured out.
    CPU: i7 4790k@4.7 ghz/1.285 vcore and Ring Ratio set to 43x
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X UD3H
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 but running it at 1866 CL9
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 1x1 tb spinner

    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •