Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    179

    Housing your SSD

    I am currently using two of these:

    SYBA CL-HD-MRDU25S Mobile Rack for 2.5" SATA

    Google if you need a better description


    to hold my 2 x Mushkin Callistos and 2 x 80GB Intels.

    I am just wondering what everyone else uses...........

    Does anyone see issues with using the mobile rack? Or a better question is, do you see an issue in terms of performance/connectivity using this rather than directly connecting power and data cables?
    Last edited by Burner127; 10-13-10 at 12:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,546
    bad link for me.....

    I dont use anything. They mount just fine to my cages in the first place.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    bad link for me.....

    I dont use anything. They mount just fine to my cages in the first place.

    you think it is better to have them directly connected to data/power cables than to a mobile rack?

  4. #4
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    I have a review to finish on a Syba product.

    Surprisingly not too shabby
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  5. #5
    Premium Member #21


    Jmtyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas/Fort-Worth
    Posts
    2,968
    My SSDs, along with my other 2.5" drives, are sitting under a small ESD bag, and then sitting on whatever available spot is open within the case. It's good enough as long as the boxes aren't mobile.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by Adragontattoo View Post
    I have a review to finish on a Syba product.

    Surprisingly not too shabby
    Not sure how this relates to my question, but OK!! Hehe.

  7. #7
    Premium Member #21


    Jmtyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas/Fort-Worth
    Posts
    2,968
    Could be a product that houses an SSD perhaps?

  8. #8
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,546
    Quote Originally Posted by Burner127 View Post
    you think it is better to have them directly connected to data/power cables than to a mobile rack?
    I dont think its better or worse. Its not that type of situation really. Its a preference as performance, depending on the the connection from teh rack to the system, would be the same.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  9. #9
    Member fabulouscoops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,657
    I use this one from Silverstone. for $8 it works nicely.

    SILVERSTONE SDP08 3.5 to 2 X 2.5-Inch Bay Converter
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ef=oss_product
    i5 2500K@4.5; Asus P8P67 deluxe; 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600; Mushkin 120 GB SSD; 2T WD caviar, 500 GB WD caviar; HD7950
    E8500 @3.6 GHz; Asus P5Q Pro Turbo; 4 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066;
    i5 2550; P8P67 deluxe, 8 GB OCZ DDR2 800; 60 Agility SSD; 2x500 GB RAID 0; 250 GB Caviar; HD6950
    E4400 @3 GHz, Abit AB9 pro, Gigabyte 7300 GT silent; 2GB Supertalent PC5400; 3x36 Raptors RAID 0:5

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    2,832
    Screw your SSD in. Even if its in a 3.5" or 5.25" bay, you can put two screws into one side which is MORE THAN ENOUGH to hold a small/light SSD.
    Asus P8P67
    Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
    GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
    EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
    OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
    HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
    Heat

  11. #11
    xoke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,201
    I had a spot in my case...if I didn't, zip ties or duct tape.
    Jiggy X58A-UD7 - Intel i7 920 D0 +4.9ghz - Kingston Hyper-X DDr3 2333 - 2x MSI GTX 480
    Jiggy 890FXA-UD5 - AMD 1090t BE +6.0ghz - Mushkin Ridgeback DDr3 2000 - 2x Biostar HD 4890 R.I.P.
    Antec TPQ 1200w - Sunbeam Tech Bench - WD Raptors - Koolance v2 - 2x K|ngp|n Tek-9 v6 Slim - ShamWow

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •