Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile

    INF Error Video Driver Not found System determined OS in use is not a 64bit OS

    OS: Windows 2000 32-Bit
    Motherboard: Athlon XP nForce2 chipset Shuttle AN35N Ultra v1.1


    *Nothing* is installed except for Windows 2000 with Service Pack 4 and DirectX 9.0c. Nothing was changed or touched.

    ATI Radeon X1300 AGP will not install.


    Earliest Catalyst for the card is 5.12 and it and versions after it give out the following Severe error pop-up when running the Standard Catalyst Setup: INF Error Video Driver Not found


    More recent drivers, including the last Catalyst 10.2 for this video card displays the following error: System has determined that the operating system in use is not a 64bit OS and as this Setup is intended for 64bit systems only, Setup will now exit.

    Of course the driver is 32-Bit Catalyst.

    VisonTek is the brand of ATI Radeon X1300. The driver on its web site also gives out the "not a 64bit OS" error.


    [SOLVED, HERE'S HOW:]

    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    Good suggestions, I tried changing DevicePath string in registry and I tried dumping drivers into %SystemRoot%\inf however no luck. Maybe I should have rebooted but here is what worked: the man himself redduc900 gave me two words which resolved this problem: Hardware Wizard.

    Now the Hardware Wizard doesn't work by itself:

    First I installed this shareware: http://www.drivermagician.com/download.htm and backed up the driver from the initial install drive image.

    Then I reimaged the full installation and and ran the restore driver feature of that shareware program. It then asked to reboot the system, something I did not do using your suggestions of temporarily changing registry and %SystemRoot%\inf


    Now, the driver install still does not work, manual driver install still does not work, however, now that the Driver Magician software "restored" the drivers [I think it just copied them wherever, I don't know what else] this worked:



    Windows 2000 Control Panel > System > Hardware TAB > Hardware Wizard > Next > Add/Troubleshoot a device > Next > SELECT Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

    *** Do not select Video Controller. Select Video Controller (VGA Compatible) there's two of them, only the (VGA Compatible) one works as described here ***

    > Next > Finish > Next > SELECT Display a list of the known drivers... > Next > Display adapters > Next > Have Disk... > Browse... to any driver location, not necessarily the driver location Driver Magician backed up.

    And it worked. pfew.
    Last edited by c627627; 10-22-10 at 03:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Likes Popcorn petteyg359's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    There are no Windows 2000 drivers since X850, last time I checked. Might I ask why you're using an undead operating system?
    ASRock 990FX Extreme9 - FX-8350 - 32GiB 1600 Crucial low-profile 1.35v - 7970 3GiB - 8.1 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - AX760
    Dell XPS 15 L502x - i7 2760QM - 16GiB 1600 - GT 540M 2GiB - 7 Pro x64 / Gentoo amd64 - Agility 4 512GB

    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006
    Folding User Stats

  3. #3

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by petteyg359 View Post
    There are no Windows 2000 drivers since X850, last time I checked. Might I ask why you're using an undead operating system?
    Why are you making me take screen shots of Catalyst 5.12 Release Notes?


    Some people use older Windows operating systems for testing purposes, some for word processing or business machines that require no upgrades for limited and specific functions they perform. Some people use multi-boots and image one operating system partition from another. There are many other reasons which most average single OS users can't think of...
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  4. #4
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Have you tried to update the driver manually?
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  5. #5

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Now that there is a good suggestion.

    and it worked too.


    I am going to reimage back and give it one more shot with the Windows 2000 + all apps install. I tried all this with it with no luck, so I nuked the Win2K partition, installed from scratch + DX 9.0c + chipset with no luck with Setup.exe but forgot to try manual.

    Thanks for reminding me to always try all the basics no matter what.

  6. #6

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    So now I know that it works if installed manually. I reinstalled the old image and when I do the same thing I did on the initial install, it lists nothing.

    The image had nVidia Display driver which I uninstalled and rebooted.


    Manual install of ATI Catalyst results in an empty list, there are no card models to choose from.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #7
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Has to be something funky in your image causing it. I'm guessing you don't want to go from square one but it looks like it might be tough to sort out otherwise
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  8. #8

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    I tried uninstalling using ATI's & nVidia's clean up programs to clean up any old driver info, no luck. I tried all versions of Catalysts for the card, no luck.


    Is there any way to install the driver on the initial image first.... then somehow transfer info from Windows system directories to the new image or something along those lines?

  9. #9
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Can't see how that could possibly work but I've been wrong before. Maybe it's not the drivers fault at all but something else that's running in the background when you're installing it?
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  10. #10

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    All right. Safe Mode should take care of that concern...

    Safe Mode shows under Other Devices: Video Controller and Video Controller (VGA Compatible).


    Have Disk... again results in an empty list.


    The reason I was asking about transferring driver info into Windows system folders is because when you go to Display a list of known drivers for the device, it does list manufacturers, ATI included, but the drivers are for older cards back from Windows 2000 days.

    Is there any way to insert driver info into the Windows system known drivers for the device list?

  11. #11
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    OK I see what you're getting at....should be possible but not sure how
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  12. #12

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Does anyone know if you can install a standard VGA driver that would at least allow 800x600 instead of the 640x480 thing that's going on without any driver installed... It won't even switch to 800x600.


    I have a couple of programs that claim: "Backing up your Windows driver files means they will be available to you the next time you need to reinstall the driver or the whole operating system" and "Fast and user-friendly free tool for drivers backup, restoration and removal..."

  13. #13
    Member TempliNocturnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Where angels carry savage weapons
    I'm a bit uncertain on what exactly you're trying to accomplish, but it is fairly easy to add driver to a Windows install (I'm assuming you're trying to deploy images).

    I'm not quite sure what the registry key is in Win2k, but on XP up to Win7, if you go to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion and modify the DevicePath string, you can use a comma (or a semi-colon; forgot which one) to add another folder. Create a folder somewhere and add the inf and other system files for the driver you want. You could also just dump the drivers into the default %SystemRoot%\inf directory.

  14. #14

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Good suggestions, I tried changing DevicePath string in registry and I tried dumping drivers into %SystemRoot%\inf however no luck. Maybe I should have rebooted but here is what worked: the man himself redduc900 gave me two words which resolved this problem: Hardware Wizard.

    Now the Hardware Wizard doesn't work by itself:

    First I installed this shareware: http://www.drivermagician.com/download.htm and backed up the driver from the initial install drive image.

    Then I reimaged the full installation and and ran the restore driver feature of that shareware program. It then asked to reboot the system, something I did not do using your suggestions of temporarily changing registry and %SystemRoot%\inf


    Now, the driver install still does not work, manual driver install still does not work, however, now that the Driver Magician software "restored" the drivers [I think it just copied them wherever, I don't know what else] this worked:



    Windows 2000 Control Panel > System > Hardware TAB > Hardware Wizard > Next > Add/Troubleshoot a device > Next > SELECT Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

    *** Do not select Video Controller. Select Video Controller (VGA Compatible) there's two of them, only the (VGA Compatible) one works as described here ***

    > Next > Finish > Next > SELECT Display a list of the known drivers... > Next > Display adapters > Next > Have Disk... > Browse... to any driver location, not necessarily the driver location Driver Magician backed up.

    And it worked. pfew.

  15. #15
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    Does anyone know if you can install a standard VGA driver that would at least allow 800x600 instead of the 640x480 thing that's going on without any driver installed... It won't even switch to 800x600.

    The generic driver is trash. Prepare for a browser crash when surfing. Worthless, even for a 1998 video card.
    And I never heard of a problem like yours, unless you actually downloaded the 64-bit version by accident.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  16. #16

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    Negative. They were 32-Bit. I have found a dozen threads like this but this is the first time
    INF Error Video Driver Not found
    which later turned into
    System determined OS in use is not a 64bit OS
    has been solved as far as I know. Thank you redduc900.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •