Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358

    Computer *always* tries and displays " Boot from CD : " messsage no matter what

    It's an old nForce2 motherboard Shuttle AN35N Ultra v1.1. Basically, it always displays and tries to
    Boot from CD :

    NVIDIA Boot Agent ...

    option at boot regardless of boot order you choose in BIOS, even if you remove CD from Boot order.

    It actually hangs complaining there is no system disk unless.... unless you put a Windows installation CD which has "press any key to boot from CD...." when you insert it...


    now if you do not press any key it actually bounces off to actually boot on already installed Windows. But if there is no Boot CD in there to "bounce off of", it will complain there is no system disk, etc, and will not boot.


    I tried to Fix a corrupt Boot.ini, I tried to Fix a corrupt partition boot sector, I tried Fix a corrupt master boot record, nothing, still displays
    Boot from CD :



    EDIT: SOLVED!


    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    Negative. Tried all of that. That's what made this so interesting. But you are not going to believe this:

    It was the IDE cable (!)

    I had to do it twice to confirm. It was the IDE cable. As soon as I used a different IDE cable - it went through.
    Last edited by c627627; 11-12-10 at 04:03 PM.

  2. #2
    Member King107s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,602
    Thats wierd...

    Have you tried clearing the CMOS and flashing the BIOS?
    CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.9 GHz on H2O
    MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
    RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
    VC Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1050/1500 (3DMark11 P10551)
    SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
    PSU Corsair AX1200
    Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
    Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue

  3. #3

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358
    Clearing CMOS did not help. Even Flashing CMOS did not help.

    It's not the BIOS, I have a feeling it has something to do with the boot sectors of the hard drive. I will try to nuke the drive's Master Boot Record and reimage everything back to it.

  4. #4
    Member King107s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,602
    I have a feeling that youre going to have to write zeros to the entire drive and reinstall fresh to get rid of that... Hopefully not though, good luck
    CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.9 GHz on H2O
    MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
    RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
    VC Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1050/1500 (3DMark11 P10551)
    SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
    PSU Corsair AX1200
    Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
    Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue

  5. #5

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358
    Why the entire drive? The problem is present at boot up.

  6. #6
    Member King107s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,602
    I've just never had luck with the boot sector... you're probably more expirenced with that sort of thing though, let me know how it turns out.
    CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.9 GHz on H2O
    MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
    RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
    VC Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1050/1500 (3DMark11 P10551)
    SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
    PSU Corsair AX1200
    Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
    Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue

  7. #7
    Special Member ★ madhatter256's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CFL
    Posts
    2,256
    Yeah, zero out the drive, not entirely, because the MBR/track 0 gets written first. I'd run killdisk and let it get to 1% and then shut it off.

  8. #8
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    1. What OS?
    2. Is the drive recognized in bios as primary master?
    3. Under primary master, is the drive set to auto and is the access mode auto also?
    4. How is the drive identified in the boot order? (hdd-0, hdd-1, etc)
    5. If PATA, have you checked the jumper to see if its set for primary or secondary?
    6. Is there more than one hard drive plugged into the system?
    7. Is there an option during boot to press a key to select a temporary boot device? F12 maybe?
    Last edited by I.M.O.G.; 11-12-10 at 01:37 PM.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  9. #9

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358
    Windows XP. Yes, recognized as primary master, Auto, boot order accounted for, PATA, jumpers accounted for, all other drives are disconnected while this is going on, as for other boot options:

    Remember as long as any CD with windows install is in the drive (Windows XP installation, or even Norton Ghost boot CD, since it is based on Windows), as long as any CD is in there with Windows boot on it, since the boot massage is

    Boot CD :
    It goes to CD first, then since you have to press any key to actually boot off of CD and you don't then it bounces off right into the hard drive booting of Windows, it all works!


    But if there is no Windows boot CD, it stops, complaining there is no system disk.
    Remember all boot orders, devices were enabled/disabled to test that part of it.

    I just ran killdisk for 5% and am testing it now all nuked like that.

  10. #10
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    139
    What is the boot order?

  11. #11
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    How is the HDD identified in your boot order? hdd-0, hdd-1, hdd-2, etc?
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,364
    Boot windows disc, run recovery, get the console, run fixmbr.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  13. #13

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358
    I did that with no luck. fixmbr and all related commands were run, no change.

    The reason I wasn't specific was because I tried setting every hdd-x as first boot drive in Bios. It is the one and only primary drive connected correctly.

    I am diskkilling it now and will retest to see, then I will place a drive from another nForce2 system in to see if it will pass through. This will tell us if it really is the original drive itself that is causing the problem.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,364
    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
    I did that with no luck.

    The reason wasn't specific was because I tried setting every hdd-x as first boot drive in Bios. It is the one and only primary drive connected correctly.

    I am diskkilling it now and will retest to see, then I will place a drive from another nForce2 system in to see if it will pass through. This will tell us if it really is the original drive itself that is causing the problem.
    Wow, yeah, that is wierd. But it's definitely an issue with the boot sector on the drive. The disc actually loads it's own boot loader whether you press any key or not. The disc automatically boots like it or not, the press any key is just a "do you want me to do MY thing" option. So the issue is 100% on the boot loader. Try installing grub on the drive and setting it to boot windows that way! Though, not sure if that'll work or not. I think grub may still depend on the windows bootloader.
    Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance

  15. #15

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358
    It is definitely the hard drive. Put in another drive of same size, same number of partitions, and it went right through!


    Here's what we have with the problem drive:
    1. Drive was killed using killdisk.
    2. Partitioned using O&O Partition Manager then when that didn't work and since this is a 120GB drive on nForce2, I used the old Partition Manager 8.05 - still same problem.

    3. Can it be the image used? When I Ghosted, I made sure I unchecked anything that had to do with mbr or disk signature.


    I think my only choice now is to try a different drive image (the same as the image the drive which went through used) to address that suspect.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Posts
    5,356
    Quote Originally Posted by GT240 View Post
    What is the boot order?
    Looks like wrong boot sequence settings.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  17. #17

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358
    Negative. Tried all of that. That's what made this so interesting. But you are not going to believe this:

    It was the IDE cable (!)

    I had to do it twice to confirm. It was the IDE cable. As soon as I used a different IDE cable - it went through. Wow.

  18. #18
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    Anything odd about the IDE cable?

    One connector rather than normal primary master? Were you connecting it in a weird way or anything?

    Sweet fix though, thanks for the update.
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  19. #19

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    11,358
    Quote Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
    Anything odd about the IDE cable?
    Y-heah there's something odd about the IDE cable:


    Attached Images Attached Images  

  20. #20
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    LOL!
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •