Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90

    need ram suggestions

    ok well my set up is in my sig and i am looking for new ram doesn't matter the company but i am looking to keep it under say 125
    ddr3

    let me know what i should get or look for

    thanks guys
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  2. #2
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,748
    Why are you looking for new ram?

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    Im BSODing with my old set, they are dead sticks i memtested and my pc is not able to store data in my ram (both sticks). I messed with my timings and i kept getting the same error. talked to OCZ and the said they would swap for new ones but i cant have my computer down for the time it takes to send out the ram and then wait for new sticks to get back. So there in lies the problem
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  4. #4
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,748
    If its a holdover pair, just get the cheapest you can find that will get you by... some 1333 9-9-9-24 will be fine.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    you dont think just upgrading from what i have will be better? i prefer to upgrade. Christmas is coming and i have the money so i was just looking for some other options versus just swapping out my old pair. There has to be something better than the sticks i have for the price range id like to stay in
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  6. #6
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,748
    Well, what speed and timings are your ram in sig?

    You can try this list of DDR3 1600 CL7 and see if they tickle your fancy.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    my timings are 7-7-7-16 1066. ill check out the list now 1066
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    any particular brands i should be leaning towards or away from on that list. heard good things about g skill and i hear (and have experienced) that OCZ sends alot of dead sticks
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  9. #9
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,748
    You cant get much if any better really. Though 16 is an awfully low Tras. Sure its not around 20 or so?

    To me I guess, there isnt a point in getting more unless you are maxing out your current 4gb.

    May want to get a more modern PSU, or better GPU. If you sell your old GPU you can get more money towards an even better card.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    its 16

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...kim1132X509988

    would these ram be worth me sending back then?
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  11. #11
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,748
    Damn... 1066 DDR3. Yeah, grab some of that DDR3 1600 CL and go from there.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-522-_-Product

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    never heard of patriot, any experience with the company? but timings are sweet and the price is right on.

    thanks for the help man really appreciate your time here
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  13. #13
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,748
    I had some DDR2 sticks of theirs in the past. They do what they say they will and likely a bit more.

    Ectually, those are 1.7v... forget those...

    I would snag these: Gskill Pi 6-8-6-24 DDR3 1600 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-351-_-Product

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    oh do i not want that high?

    edit: nvm

    And those were the exact sticks i was looking at sweet
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

  15. #15
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,748
    I know in intel land its 1.65 or less. AMD may handle the 1.7, not sure, but lower is always better. You may not notice much from the upgrade still, but I would do it anyway.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    90
    well my current sticks have been jacked up since the daqy i got them so i think i should notice a hefty difference.

    thanks again for the help man
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
    EnerMax liberty 500w
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
    720gb WD hdd

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •