Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member rumbl3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,449

    Phenom 2 6 core 95 watt cpus?

    Well on my mobo, I happen to just check and see there is a bios update and it support p2 6 core 95watt verisons. Are there out yet? Don't see any on the egg of course.
    Phenom 2 955 Quad Oc'ed 3.8 Ghz
    Biostar A780L3G 760G NB 2.4 Ghz
    2 x 4gb GSkill DDR3 1333
    GTX480 EVGA Undervolted & Oc'ed
    SeaSonic S12II Bronze 620W
    OCZ Vertex 2 55gb/OCZ Agility2 120gb/500gb WD Green
    Razer Death Adder 3.5g/Roccat Avro slim gaming keyboard
    My Heatware

  2. #2
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    There are 95W 1055T's out there*, "HDT55TWFK6DGR" (OEM = no heatsink), but you'll probably have to look for "HDT55TWFGRBOX" since that's the retail box version.

    *I haven't seen them in the US but it seems like I ran across one on a European site. Can't say for sure, though ...

  3. #3
    Member rumbl3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,449
    Yeah i found them forsale 200+ depending. Few sites that google brought up one with 1600+ reviews 5 stars or whatever.

    So hell maybe i'll take the plunge and just snag a 6 core lol coming up here shortly. But just not sure if it's worth it when i could probably do everythingwith a quad for almost a 100 cheaper.

    But would be nice to hav eit lol.
    Phenom 2 955 Quad Oc'ed 3.8 Ghz
    Biostar A780L3G 760G NB 2.4 Ghz
    2 x 4gb GSkill DDR3 1333
    GTX480 EVGA Undervolted & Oc'ed
    SeaSonic S12II Bronze 620W
    OCZ Vertex 2 55gb/OCZ Agility2 120gb/500gb WD Green
    Razer Death Adder 3.5g/Roccat Avro slim gaming keyboard
    My Heatware

  4. #4
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Anywhere but there
    Posts
    15,734
    Just to be sure you got the 95W version and not the 125W version of that CPU look for the 'W' after 55T ...

  5. #5
    Registered hatchet_warrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    46
    The 95w never came to the US in a retail form. That's why they're so expensive. The theory is that the OC headroom is higher, but IMHO why do you need an X6 over 4.1ghz? e-peen?
    ~AMD PhenomII X4 955 BE @ 3.8ghz ~~ Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P~~Zalman CNPS9500~~2x2GB Mushkin Redline (1066 5-5-5-18 @ 2.1v)~~XFX 5770~~Corsair HX650W~~X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Champion~~
    ~2x WD Caviar 250GB / 1x WD Caviar Black 750GB / 2x WD Caviar Green 500GB~~ 2x Lite-on DVD-RW~

  6. #6
    Member rumbl3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,449
    Quote Originally Posted by hatchet_warrior View Post
    The 95w never came to the US in a retail form. That's why they're so expensive. The theory is that the OC headroom is higher, but IMHO why do you need an X6 over 4.1ghz? e-peen?
    Yeah i want one but even i'm debating if i really need it lol. I want it so i can say i have it lol.

    But in the end im truely debating really in the end i love tf2 and im just looking to play and record video at the same time without sacraficing graphics which im guessing i could do with a quad and a 2nd hd? maybe even a tri-core.
    Phenom 2 955 Quad Oc'ed 3.8 Ghz
    Biostar A780L3G 760G NB 2.4 Ghz
    2 x 4gb GSkill DDR3 1333
    GTX480 EVGA Undervolted & Oc'ed
    SeaSonic S12II Bronze 620W
    OCZ Vertex 2 55gb/OCZ Agility2 120gb/500gb WD Green
    Razer Death Adder 3.5g/Roccat Avro slim gaming keyboard
    My Heatware

  7. #7
    Member Marshmallow64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,380
    Why wouldn't you want a x6 over 4.1 ghz =)
    :: Gaming Desktop ::
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz 1.4v | MOBO: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 570 (732/1464/1900) | RAM: 4 GB G-Skill DDR3 1600
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 120 GB | HD1: WD Black 640 GB | HD2: WD Black 2 TB
    SC: Xfi Titanium Fatal1ty | PSU: Corsair HX 620 W
    KB: Saitek Eclipse | MOUSE: Logitech MX 518
    CASE: Antec 1200 | OS: Windows 7 x64
    :: Laptop ::
    MOD: Macbook Pro 13 2011 | CPU: Intel Core i5 @ 2.3 Ghz
    RAM: 4 GB DDR3 1333 | OS: OS X Lion 10.7.2

  8. #8
    AlabamaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    A Labyrinth
    Posts
    6,176
    You can run the 125 watter in a 95W board but you will want to under-volt it to keep it from killing the board. I would only do this if I were planning to get a better board but needed the chip now. Like Ice and others said, you can look for the 95 as a same alternative. The main issue will be if the board can detect the chips configuration, thus your BIOS update stated in the OP.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •