Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member vdgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    691

    Overclocking XFX HD 5770 Crossfire

    My current clocks for my 5770 crossfire setup are 875/1300 @ stock volts, im using MSI Afterburner to overclock them. Currently using "synchronize setting for similar gpus" option, because i figure its best to have both gpus clocked the same. I would like some help with overclocking settings from someone whos done testing and OCing to HD5770. I would like to attain best performance while still being stable while gaming. Ive done FurMark stress testing on stock clocks and my current clocks in crossfire, temps never exceeded 80C and completely stable, so im ready to overclock. Any help is appreciated.
    Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
    CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
    Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
    GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610 SLI
    HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Case: Fractal Design Arc XL

  2. #2
    Member BigTerminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,252
    Well XFX cards tend not to do voltage control which would really unlock the potential of your cards. At stock volts the 5770 get to around 925-950mhz. Memory can easily go to 1350mhz.
    My Desktop:
    Intel Core i7 875k @ 4.2ghz 1.4v | Noctua NH-D14 with 3 Rosewill RFX 120 Fans
    MSI Big Bang Fuzion | 8gb G. Skill Sniper 1600mhz | GTX 760 Gigabyte Rev 2.0 1333/1850mhz
    Cooler Master HAF X With Window | Corsair TX 750 watt PSU | 2x500gb Samsung F3 RAID 0
    Asus Essence ST | 3D Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 9000

    My Laptop: Lenovo Y580
    Intel Core i7 3630qm @ 2.4ghz | 8gb DDR3 1600mhz | 120gb ADATA SSD | 1tb HDD
    Nvidia GTX 660m @ 1260/1400mhz | 15.6" 1080p
    Arctic MX-4 Thermal Paste | Rosewill Notebook Cooler | 3d Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 3400 Extreme 1100

  3. #3
    Great Scot! Member sandyduff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!
    Posts
    2,706
    Quote Originally Posted by BigTerminator View Post
    Well XFX cards tend not to do voltage control which would really unlock the potential of your cards. At stock volts the 5770 get to around 925-950mhz. Memory can easily go to 1350mhz.
    My XFX 5970 has voltage control...
    i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
    MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
    8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
    MSI 7990 Liquid Cooled
    850w Akasa Venom
    1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
    Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

    "we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead

  4. #4
    Member vdgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    691
    i can control voltage, how high is it safe to go? and how much do i need to be stable at 1000/1350 ? stock is 1.2V
    Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
    CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
    Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
    GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610 SLI
    HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Case: Fractal Design Arc XL

  5. #5
    Great Scot! Member sandyduff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!
    Posts
    2,706
    Quote Originally Posted by vdgamer View Post
    i can control voltage, how high is it safe to go? and how much do i need to be stable at 1000/1350 ? stock is 1.2V
    how much you need varies from card to card... just keep bumping it up 10MHz and check stability... if it's unstable, bump voltage... i think 1.3v is kinda the upper limit... remember to keep an eye on temps as you go...
    i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
    MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
    8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
    MSI 7990 Liquid Cooled
    850w Akasa Venom
    1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
    Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

    "we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead

  6. #6
    Member BigTerminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,252
    I need at least 1.3v to get to 1000mhz but cards differ. I've seen some only need 1.2v or 1.25v. Try 1.25v and if unstable keep bumping it up.
    My Desktop:
    Intel Core i7 875k @ 4.2ghz 1.4v | Noctua NH-D14 with 3 Rosewill RFX 120 Fans
    MSI Big Bang Fuzion | 8gb G. Skill Sniper 1600mhz | GTX 760 Gigabyte Rev 2.0 1333/1850mhz
    Cooler Master HAF X With Window | Corsair TX 750 watt PSU | 2x500gb Samsung F3 RAID 0
    Asus Essence ST | 3D Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 9000

    My Laptop: Lenovo Y580
    Intel Core i7 3630qm @ 2.4ghz | 8gb DDR3 1600mhz | 120gb ADATA SSD | 1tb HDD
    Nvidia GTX 660m @ 1260/1400mhz | 15.6" 1080p
    Arctic MX-4 Thermal Paste | Rosewill Notebook Cooler | 3d Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 3400 Extreme 1100

  7. #7
    Member vdgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    691
    Right now im at 960/1340 1.2v CF synchronized, when i turn on
    "EnableUnofficialOverclocking" in msi afterburner to be able to go past 960mhz screen blinks and freezes, and when i restart it does the same thing, i have to hook up my hdd to different pc and turn off "EnableUnofficialOverclocking" in .cfg file, and then i can boot okay. I tried to do same thing with single gpu and it worked fine, i need some help figuring this out in crossfire.
    Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
    CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
    Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
    GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610 SLI
    HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Case: Fractal Design Arc XL

  8. #8
    Registered funkgerm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    46
    I don't know if this helps or not, but I got my HIS HD 5770 up to 925/1325 without touching the voltage. I have heard of people getting their memory way past 1400 but I can't get past 1325 without flickering and artifacts.

  9. #9
    Member

    psionic98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    4th Floor office, East Coast
    Posts
    2,384
    I run my single 5770 @ 1.27ish area and get nearly 1k/1350..

    I haven't had much luck getting my memory stable past 1375 while still keeping above 960 on the core. I was able to get the memory to 1421, but my core was somewhere around 938..

    Pretty sure the safe zone for these voltage wise is like 1.35 before you need better cooling.. I have yet to have any issues with heat at my current settings of 995/1350 @1.275

    I can run pretty much every game with most settings maxed out including AA..never got black ops and some of the newest stuff though.. works fine for crysis (not totally max), bfbc2 etc
    EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
    2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
    HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
    Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
    / Enermax 720 Modular
    HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
    HEAT
    i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
    / AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
    Recommended Power Supply Listing

  10. #10
    Member vdgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    691
    i maxed out my overclock on stock volts no need to push my crossfire further for now i get 60flps in almost everything, raising voltage will probably shorten the life of gpu so i wont do that, until i need to.
    Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
    CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
    Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
    GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610 SLI
    HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Case: Fractal Design Arc XL

  11. #11
    Member vdgamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    691
    When i enable unofficial overclocking in MSI Afterburner, and change gpu clocks to anything than default the gpus run in 3D mode all the time at full clocks, anyone knows whats causing this? im stuck at 960 max because i can use unofficial overclock
    Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
    CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
    Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
    GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610 SLI
    HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Case: Fractal Design Arc XL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •