• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PROJECT LOG Qubit’s Mini Data Centre Project for 2011

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

qubit

Registered
And by mini, I mean a full-on Active Directory implementation with Exchange Server, at home. Welcome to my project!

Why am I doing this? I work in IT support (desktop and Helpdesk) and our organization uses Active Directory. I got sent on a Windows 2003 server course a while ago that explained the basics of AD and I got interested in it, so I want to learn more. Therefore, what better way than to be your own enterprise admin at home? I’ve got various books on this now, see the full book list, below.

The Mission

To run Server 2008 Datacentre running these roles in an AD environment:

• Exchange Server 2010
  • WSUS (Windows Server Update Services)
  • Data backup, including backups of the server installation in case of failure
  • Learn about Active Directory, Group Policy and managing servers in general (this is geeky heaven, I tell you)
  • Implement roaming profiles: see identical desktop on all computers with minimal configuration plus profile backup
  • Eventually upgrade to Server 2008 R2 Datacentre
  • Implement anything else on the way that seems worthwhile
  • The server hardware will reside in the same room that I sleep in (studio flat) so will have to be very quiet if it’s to be left on 24/7 like I intend to. Using quiet fans and hard drives is a must and I have these.

Current Status

I have previously subbed to Microsoft TechNet, so I have downloaded all the high-end software that comes with that subscription, including multiple keys for a genuine and permanent Windows Server 2008 (or R2) Datacentre installation.