Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 140 of 173
  1. #121
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Intel have a short supply of CPU's? That would be a first.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  2. #122
    Quote Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
    Better stock up on CPU's Intel for all the RMA's you'll be getting from the enthusiasts out there
    I think most people in this form will buy a new Intel CPU if they kill it. I have not in the past, however i think maybe i will this time when i push for 5+GHZ and if it does not make it i will kill it LOL Jk.

    They way i look at it with multi overcloking it won't be the boards fault it's all intels fault if it won't make it to 5 Ghz stable.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  3. #123
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Well if Intel does not want me to OC their chips then they should not have brought out the unlocked ones...and restrict the mobo people to the voltages they warn us about...it is like telling me not to race a Porsche pass the speed limit

  4. #124
    One thing intel could do now that you have to buy k unlocked cpu's is have no warranty, that would suck, like they do with my motocross bike it has no warranty and cost $8199+
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  5. #125
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    One thing intel could do now that you have to buy k unlocked cpu's is have no warranty, that would suck, like they do with my motocross bike it has no warranty and cost $8199+
    They might get away with that in the states, but not the UK. All goods here, by law, are sold with an implied warranty.

    http://www.which.co.uk/consumer-righ...t/your-rights/
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  6. #126
    Member

    Dooms101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    under a heatsink
    Wow so if you can't change the BCLK what's the fun in OC'ing these? I don't see sitting comfortably in Windows just moving some sliders around to be fun at all... Maybe Intel got sick of RMA's over the years from OC'd chips and decided that they would implement it in a 'safe' way. Although it probably has more to do with the architecture of the chips. Also... how will RAM and other BCLK based devices be fine-tuned? I am not very excited about SB anymore, maybe I am just looking at it wrong.
    [Dell Latitude E6530]............................[i7-3540M 3Ghz, 16GB, 750GB, 1080p LED]
    [Hackintosh].......................[i3-3225 3.3Ghz, 8GB DDR3, 250GB SSD, GTX650 1GB]
    Area51 Case Mod- - - - - - - - ODD Window Mod - - - - - - - -NZXT Phantom Triple Rad

  7. #127
    Senior Member
    DaveHCYJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    You can adjust the RAM independently. While my parts are still in the mail, I'm rather looking forward to this new method of OCing. I always had bad luck in the past with either the RAM holding back the CPU or the other way around. It always seemed like I could choose some ratio for the RAM but I would either be stuck with it not quite stable or the next lower ratio would leave too much performance on the table. In some of the reviews I've read the boards had options to adjust the CPU in 100mhz incraments via the multiplier and adjust the RAM independently in 50mhz incraments.

    True its "easier" and that takes the fun out of it for some people, but you can still have fun seeing how far you can push things.

  8. #128
    Water Cooled Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor
    hokiealumnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    The boards I've tried had to implement changes in BIOS, so you'd be changing numbers in BIOS, not sliders in Windows. Well, you could change in Windows, but it restarts the system, so you may as well in BIOS.

    Tweaking for RAM comes via multipliers and timings. It's not as finely-tuned as prior generations, but the difference a few MHz makes is negligible unless you're benchmarking....and if you're benchmarking for short periods, bclk adjustment is just fine. It's for 24/7 use you should steer clear. At least that's how I'm approaching it.

    It has little to do with RMAs and much more to do with architecture. Most functions a northbridge used to serve are on the CPU die. Adjusting that just isn't something that is doable because it changes too many things. If anything, Intel is semi-endorsing overclocking by continuing the K-series.

    Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team!
    New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.
    I.M.O.G. - "Night benching is the answer. Start sleeping every other day. Other than an occassional narcoleptic episode, its been wor"
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build

  9. #129
    Member PhysX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    Quote Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
    The boards I've tried had to implement changes in BIOS, so you'd be changing numbers in BIOS, not sliders in Windows. Well, you could change in Windows, but it restarts the system, so you may as well in BIOS.

    Tweaking for RAM comes via multipliers and timings. It's not as finely-tuned as prior generations, but the difference a few MHz makes is negligible unless you're benchmarking....and if you're benchmarking for short periods, bclk adjustment is just fine. It's for 24/7 use you should steer clear. At least that's how I'm approaching it.

    It has little to do with RMAs and much more to do with architecture. Most functions a northbridge used to serve are on the CPU die. Adjusting that just isn't something that is doable because it changes too many things. If anything, Intel is semi-endorsing overclocking by continuing the K-series.
    What voltage were you running ? I am a few Mhz short of where you were at 50XXMhz. I just cant seem to get it. Seen you on Hw bot.
    ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200

  10. #130
    Water Cooled Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor
    hokiealumnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    It took just over 1.5Vcore to reach 5GHz benchable. It would not pass WP1024 there either. Seems like some of these are all over the map. Miah's sample did 5.1GHz at 1.45V stable, but I have a feeling that's one of the more golden chips out there. Mine is probably average. There are worse samples floating around too.

    Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team!
    New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.
    I.M.O.G. - "Night benching is the answer. Start sleeping every other day. Other than an occassional narcoleptic episode, its been wor"
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build

  11. #131
    Member PhysX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    Ok thanks, just wanted to get a rough idea of where I was standing.
    ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200

  12. #132
    Member Tokae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London Canada
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Man anything over 4 ghz on stock air is awesome! I can't wait to see what 2011 has to offer though!
    Gaming / Streaming Rig:
    CPU: i7 980x @ 4.2
    Cooler: NH-12U
    RAM: GSkill 1600Mhz 12GB
    Mobo: Asus R3E
    GPU: MSI R9 290x
    Storage: OS: Adata 128GB SSD Data: 4 x 1TB in RAID5
    Case:800D
    PSU: Revolution 85+ 1020w

  13. #133
    Water Cooled Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor
    hokiealumnus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Just for clarification, that is not the stock air cooler. Anyone buying one of these with the expectation that cooler is going to come with it should not be. That is an upgraded Intel cooler that's looks similar to the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro as far as size/weight/performance goes.

    Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team!
    New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.
    I.M.O.G. - "Night benching is the answer. Start sleeping every other day. Other than an occassional narcoleptic episode, its been wor"
    \m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build

  14. #134
    Member lordkosc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northampton,Pa
    Heatware Profile
    If I hit 4.5 on air I will be a very happy camper.

    / ordered a cooler master 212+ to cool mine.
    CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
    MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
    SSD's ------------------ 2x 512GB Crucial MX100 (OS/Programs and Games)
    Game Backup HDD ----- 3TB WD Green
    Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
    Video Cards ------------- Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
    Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
    Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 8 x64

    3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
    AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.

  15. #135
    Member PhysX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    Quote Originally Posted by lordkosc View Post
    If I hit 4.5 on air I will be a very happy camper.

    / ordered a cooler master 212+ to cool mine.
    Excellent choice, thats what i am running and it has served me well, from 775, 1156 stright through to 1155
    ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200

  16. #136
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by lordkosc View Post
    If I hit 4.5 on air I will be a very happy camper.

    / ordered a cooler master 212+ to cool mine.
    I think even average SB chips will be able to do 4.5GHz (daily with decent air) and load vcore in the 1.325v to 1.35v range. I suspect better SB chips will do it with even less vcore or run even higher clocks within that same voltage range.
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  17. #137
    Senior Member
    DaveHCYJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    I would hope these will be able to do 4.5GHz for daily use, otherwise what is the point of getting a K series chip? The non K 2600 is unlocked up to 4.2GHz...

  18. #138
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveHCYJ View Post
    I would hope these will be able to do 4.5GHz for daily use, otherwise what is the point of getting a K series chip? The non K 2600 is unlocked up to 4.2GHz...
    Do you have a link that i can read about this, also is it the base multiplier not turbo.

    Quote Originally Posted by PhysX View Post
    Excellent choice, thats what i am running and it has served me well, from 775, 1156 stright through to 1155
    What temps do you incur when running prime95 with 1155 cooler master 212+.
    Last edited by wingman99; 01-11-11 at 08:04 PM.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  19. #139
    Senior Member
    DaveHCYJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    Do you have a link that i can read about this, also is it the base multiplier not turbo.
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/t...-2100-tested/2

    Chart in the middle of the page has the max multiplier. Its the turbo multiplier, not the base multiplier. All OCing in sandybridge is done via turbo rather than the base clocks.

    The i3's turbo multiplier is completely locked.
    i5 and i7 you can bump the turbo multiplier up to 4 notches higher than its stock speed.
    The K series chips can all go up to a multiplier of 57.

  20. #140
    Member lordkosc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northampton,Pa
    Heatware Profile
    so pretty much non-K chips are maxed out at a 400mhz overclock?
    CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
    MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
    SSD's ------------------ 2x 512GB Crucial MX100 (OS/Programs and Games)
    Game Backup HDD ----- 3TB WD Green
    Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
    Video Cards ------------- Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
    Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
    Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 8 x64

    3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
    AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •