• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Solid AM3 Motherboard

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pbcranium202

First let me say I have NO AMD experience. I've built myself one rig (Intel) and I've helped friends select parts and build other Intel rigs. I have NEVER built using AMD or selected parts for AMD.

I am upgrading my wifes computer. Hers was bought off the rack so to speak about 3 years ago, and its been having various problems here and there so I'm trying to upgrade her CPU/MoBo/RAM. She does nothing more than casual internet browsing, WOW, and maybe starting to do some basic work with Photoshop (she's looking into some amateur photography, if it gets more serious later I'd look to build her a whole new rig). I want something that will be solid for awhile looking at those needs so as to not have to upgrade again before we do look at dumping the whole machine.

I am going to get her the PhenomIIx4 945 Deneb:

I will not look to overclock it. I know the CPU will be good enough for her needs for a good long time. My question is Mobo's. I've used ASUS and Gigabyte. But thats because between myself and my friends the desire to OC has always been there. And I do love my Gigabyte board. BUT, I have no need to OC this chip. I do not want a board that is designed for the stresses of OCing. I want a solid performing but not pricey board. I also know nothing about chipsets (why does AMD have 5000000000000000000 of them?).

Would this board be adequate, too much, not enough for what I'm looking for? She does have a discrete GPU so onboard video is not required.

This is the board I was thinking about: