Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 151
  1. #1
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile

    Sandy Bridge 2600K/2500k batch# and overclock thread

    Thought I would start one up here for the OCForums.

    I picked up a 2600K batch #L039B467. I'm still trying to sort out the new BIOS o.c. and voltage settings. I have my chip running with defaults(?) HT stable at 4.4GHz which seems to have vcore go up to ~ 1.3v load. It is kind of weird I haven't been able to find my board's vtt voltage setting yet... (Biostar TP67XE). I think I may have to bump vcore to get 4.5GHz+ but it is still early on with the testing of this chip. Cooling is a TRUE Black with push/pull.

    Last edited by PolRoger; 01-13-11 at 07:10 PM.
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  2. #2
    Member Castiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    East Coast
    I'm hoping this thread will help me decide what board to order
    Core I7 2600K - 4.6Ghz 1.320v
    Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme
    Corsair 4GB Dominators - 8-9-8-24, DDR3 2090 1.58v
    Sapphire HD 5870's 1100c/1300m
    XFX 850W Black Edition

  3. #3
    5up3r m0d3r4t0r
    Overclockers.com Editor

    MattNo5ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    AL
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Make sure you install the BIOS with the internal PLL overvoltage fix, seems to really help in the OCing department

    I've been thinking about getting the TP67XE...
    i7 4770K | ASRock Z87M OC Formula | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | ASUS Xonar Essence STX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic X750
    Pentium G3258 | ASUS Z87I-Deluxe | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 1.35v | 5x2TB RAIDZ | Corsair CX430

    My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (101-0-0)

    Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build


  4. #4
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Yeah, I'm sure I'll test out a few SB boards before socket 2011? comes out but I like Biostar for a lower cost board. I hope it clocks well but in the end it mostly comes down to the chip.
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  5. #5
    Member Castiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    East Coast
    I've kinda narrowed it down to the UD4 and the TP64XE
    Core I7 2600K - 4.6Ghz 1.320v
    Asus ROG Maximus IV Extreme
    Corsair 4GB Dominators - 8-9-8-24, DDR3 2090 1.58v
    Sapphire HD 5870's 1100c/1300m
    XFX 850W Black Edition

  6. #6
    I'm looking at either the UD3P or P8P67. The gigabyte board has looks on it's side (for once).
    Intel Build__________/ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
    i5 750@200x20(4.00GHz)
    Gigabyte P55-UD3R
    4GB G.skill Ripjaw 1600
    Gigabyte GTX 470 SoC edition
    OCZ Vertex 2 60gb
    Coolermaster Hyper 212+
    Antec Earthwatts 750w PSU
    Antec Nine Hundred Two
    Cpuz Validation

  7. #7
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Castiel View Post
    I've kinda narrowed it down to the UD4 and the TP64XE
    The UD4 or the UD3P may be a better choice to start with because there are going to be many more users out there with the the different Gigabyte models and it will be easier to compare and get settings on the various forums for Gigabyte boards. Biostar has a disadvantage when trying to find others to post and share BIOS settings etc. They also don't seem to update their BIOS as frequently as some of the bigger outfits.
    Last edited by PolRoger; 01-10-11 at 04:04 PM.
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  8. #8
    Senior Moment Senior Member
    dejo's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Tyler, Texas
    got my p8p67pro and 2600k to 5100, but have to give a bump of .3 volts to get it stable. if your temps get to 90 the chip will throttle the multi to keep the temps in that range. I have a cheap cooler on mine for now as I am just testing. and for those questioning it is an l039b214 batch
    if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

    Asrock z77 ex6
    2600k @4.8ghz
    Samsung 2x4gb rams
    OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
    EVGA GTX480
    Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
    Arc Midi case

  9. #9
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Dynamic VID...

    I wanted to post up some shots of my chip running "spec voltage" showing how vcore changes when increasing the overclock. Powersavings/Cstate/EIST disable in BIOS while all other voltages set to default spec. LLC disabled.

    Vcore/idle rises from 1.332v to 1.356v... if you disable speedstep/turbo my chips stock 3.4GHz idle vcore is ~1.260v. I think 4.4Ghz might be this particular chip's max stable o.c at "spec" voltage.

    4.0 load:


    4.0 idle:


    4.2 load:


    4.2 idle:


    4.4 load:


    4.4 idle:
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  10. #10
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    The VID changes because of load changes in the system. It happens all the time even if you have LLC enabled on some boards. Heck my board will start low and actually up the voltage with LLC enabled.

    Its nothing new with SB.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  11. #11
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    This combo (voltages) is not behaving like any of my bloomfield rigs LLC enable or disabled it is doing something different.
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  12. #12
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Behaving just like my CPU does with mine LLC disabled. Enabled its the reverse since I get more juice going to the CPU under load and idle voltage is lower.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  13. #13
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    It may be something tied to this particular board's BIOS vcore settings for "spec voltage" it also has "offset" and "fixed". With my Bloomfield rigs and the powers savings features disable (C1E/EIST) once you set the vcore in BIOS to one setting idle vcore doesn't go up or down when you then change the multi or bclk. Only load vcore goes down with vdroop enabled and sometimes up with LLC enabled.

    The vcore setting was the same for all three clocks but idle vcore in cpuz was different for the three SB turbo multis (40,42,44).

    I'll know more with further testing and perhaps when I can get a chance to try out a different motherboard.
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  14. #14
    Why would you try a different board it won't help with overclocking and you defiantly won't save any money doing that.

    The CPU does it all for overclocking. If the mother board works that's all you need for sandybridge.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  15. #15
    Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Guys, sorry to intrude by I have to ask for a little help.
    Here is latest RealTemp with multi fixed (I hope) and a brand new option of showing Vcore (at last!)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin
    I added Sandy Bridge volt monitoring to RealTemp. Yea!!!!!!!!
    There should be a new option in the Settings window for this.
    Some feedback/screenshots it would be nice for Kevin.

    Thanks in advance guys.
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  16. #16
    Member PolRoger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    Guys, sorry to intrude by I have to ask for a little help.
    Here is latest RealTemp with multi fixed (I hope) and a brand new option of showing Vcore (at last!)


    Some feedback/screenshots it would be nice for Kevin.

    Thanks in advance guys.
    Thanks for the update! Dynamic VID seems to be reporting correctly. On idle the mutli in RealTemp bounces around quickly 22/24.5/41.5/27/28.5 etc.

    Load:

    Idle:
    Last edited by PolRoger; 01-12-11 at 08:16 AM.
    Haswell/IB/SB on a Dimastech Bench table.

  17. #17
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    Guys, sorry to intrude by I have to ask for a little help.
    Here is latest RealTemp with multi fixed (I hope) and a brand new option of showing Vcore (at last!)


    Some feedback/screenshots it would be nice for Kevin.

    Thanks in advance guys.
    Sweet new CPU-Z!
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  18. #18
    Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Only for Sandy Bridge is that Vcore.
    Thanks to Intel because at last they write Vcore in MSR so no need to hunt countless of chipsets/sensors.

    PolRoger thanks A LOT for your screens.
    Bouncing multi in idle is a sign about Windows Power scheme fighting against BIOS settings. How do you set up Minimum processor state in Power options? If it's default 5% put it at 100% and you should be fine.
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  19. #19
    The Real Temp Programmer
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PolRoger: Thanks for posting your tests.

    MSR 0x198 used to contain the VID voltage in the Core 2 design. Intel got rid of that information in this register when they switched to Nehalem Core i7. With Sandy Bridge, this information has been returned to this register.

    Edit: My best guess it that the number that RealTemp and Core Temp reports is a VID request voltage and the voltage reported by CPU-Z is actual core voltage.

    Here's what the Intel docs say.



    RealTemp uses the Intel approved method as outlined in their November 2008 Turbo White Paper and accurately tracks the average multiplier. With the previous processors, CPU-Z decided to report a consistent multiplier at idle for validation purposes. This didn't always accurately report what the CPU was doing internally but I can understand his reason for doing this. I'm not sure if Intel encouraged this decision or not or how he has decided to report Sandy Bridge.

    Anyway, RealTemp tells it like it is. If it shows a wandering multiplier at idle it's because various C-States are being used. I'm not sure if it is possible to get a nice steady multiplier in Sandy Bridge when the CPU is idle. Turbo boost depends on individual cores being able to enter the deeper sleep states like C3/C6. If you disable all of the necessary C-States, it might prevent turbo boost from working properly. Sandy Bridge CPUs depend on turbo boost to obtain multipliers like 45.

    The reason RealTemp 3.60 was showing a zero multiplier is because you likely have one or more monitoring programs on your computer that are misusing the shared system performance timers. AIDA64 / Everest was causing problems by resetting and stopping and starting the shared timers so with RealTemp 3.65, I switched to a different set of timers that hopefully are not being abused like this so the reported data should be very accurate. This is also very likely the same reason why Core Temp is not reporting the multiplier correctly. Other monitoring programs are not treating the shared timers within the CPU as a shared resource.

    Does RealTemp 3.65 allow you to overclock and adjust your multiplier from within Windows? You need to turn on at least one temperature icon and then have a look at the system tray menu that pops up. You should be able to find an option for this. I'm just checking to see if it works.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 01-12-11 at 11:55 AM.

  20. #20
    Member Techboy10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Questions for PolRoger.

    In your first screenshot post (#9) you said you disabled Powersavings/Cstate/EIST in the BIOS. Doesn't disabling EIST also disable Turbo, and therefor overclocking?

    Also, how did you get your overclocked CPU to idle @ 4.0/4.2/4.4 GHz etc. because (unless my understanding of SB overclocking is wrong) in order to overclock you need EIST and Turbo enabled, which would throttle back the CPU (to around 1.6 GHz) when idle right?
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600k 4.5GHz @ 1.28v
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro B3
    RAM: G.Skill 8GB (2x4GB) Sniper DDR3 1600
    GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
    HDDs: WD Caviar Black 1TB + Seagate 300GB
    PSU: Corsair HX650 650W modular
    Case: Lancool PC-K62
    Cooler: Thermalright MUX-120 Black edition

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •