• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

M4a785-m boot problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Weazle23

I bought this barebones kit from tigerdirect. When i it i first got i put everything together started it up and installed windows 7 64 bit. Worked fine for about an hour then started giving me random bsod. Now it won't even boot. It goes to the repair windows screen and if i hit start windows normally it just reboots. My specs are AMD Phenom X4 985, 2 Centon 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz, RAYGO ATX MID-TOWER W/ 450W PSU, and WD Caviar Green 1.5TB 64MB/SATA-3G. Im a complete noob to the overclocking options on this board. Ive tried just using one ram at a time with same results. And pulling battery to clear cmos. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
:welcome: to OCF!

I guess I'm missing something here - what have you done to overclock it?

This is a new build so the first thing you should do is run it through some paces. Reset the CMOS so everything is stock then run OCCT for 30 minutes to make sure all is well and to get a baseline on your load core temp. When you find your load core temp let us know what it is. It's possible you're already having heat problems.

Also, not sure what you were trying to type but there is no 985 CPU. You might want to check that and see what you're running for sure. ;)

Sorry about that its a phenom 9850 cpu. I left the bios stock. It booted and ran fine for the first hour then started the random bsod. Now it wont boot past the windows failed to start screen. I will try the occt test.

it installed fine without any problems. actually i did do something to the bios. when i first started it up it said press 4 to unlock all cores.